Last Song Syndrome: Current Song On Repeat

10 54
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Experiences, Story, Journey, ...

Is there a song you play on repeat these days? It doesn't matter if the song was old or recent, but it just magically captured your heart, and you won't mind listening to it over and over again.

Today, I will share to you this masterpiece I am inlove with nowadays, and how it impacted me.

I have been vocal about having music as one of the best things I've ever encountered in my life. It's something indispensable to me; I am not sure if I can manage to live a day without listening to it. Might sound a bit overboard, but who gets by everyday without hearing a song, right? I am sure, everyone, no matter the age, the nationality, or beliefs has their own kind of home in music. There is something magical about it, it breaks barriers and talks directly to the heart.

As far as I know, my very first article is about music, too. You may want to read this, just click this.

Now, let's get straight to the song. I will breakdown the lyrics and explain its beauty, to me.

Introduction to the Song

So the song is "Film Out" by BTS. Yes, my favorite Kpop group again. I will never get tired of bragging to the world just how beautiful BTS' discography is. You might wonder why people around the world love them and their music. It's because their music ain't just beats, some sick, nonsense lyrics, and some music video that shows inappropriate scenes that catches attention—their music touches the heart, and voices out how people really feel.

For an overview, Film Out is a song by BTS in Japanese language, an amazing Music Video of which is released last April 11, 2021. I put it here, you can watch it, and tell me your thoughts. BTS' youngest member, Jeon Jungkook participated in the song-making.

This song was used as the ending theme in the Japanese Movie, SIGNAL The Movie Cold Case Investigation Unit. I got the information here, you can read for more.

You can watch the trailer right here, and here a snippet of the song somewhere in it.

Lyrics

Now, let's talk.about the lyrics. The song starts like this:

[Verse 1: Jung Kook & Jimin]
You, in my imagination
Are so vivid, oh-oh
As if you are right there
But I reach out my hand
And you suddenly disappear

  • I can imagine a sad story between two people, or among a group of friends. Since I have not been into a romantic relationship yet, I relate to it in a friendship setup. You can think of anything, it depends on you. Amyway, I will use a two person story here.

  • This person may have been gone from the life of the main character. He is missing this person, and sees that someone in his memories. Through all the times when they are still together.

  • Upon waking up in that dream he doesn't want to end, he seemed to see her in his waking life, too. Is this real? She's... she's here, in front of me.

  • He reached out his hand in an attempt to reach out to her, but she vanishes in an instant.

[Chorus: Jung Kook & V]
From all the memories stored in my heart
I gather up the ones of you, link them together
Gazing at them projected across the room
I feel you with every burst of pain

  • A normal, but painful representation about pain of losing someone dear to him. A heartbreaking process he doesn't want to happen, but it does, naturally. Even he tries to just keep it inside, all the scenes just cross his mind.

  • Their laughters and getaways together, the moments she smiled and cried with him. All their 'firsts' and probably the 'lasts' just compiling along in what seemed like a memory card, and plays across the room through a projector.

  • The room is dark, and it makes the images clearer, brighter, more vivid. Really clear, that it hurts so much.

  • The memories are all beautiful ones, because we are together, but it hurts damn bad. Because they are all just memories now.

[Refrain: All]
Oh-oh
La-la-la, la-la-la
La-la-la, la-la-la
La-la-la, la-la-la
Oh-oh
La-la-la, la-la-la
La-la-la, la-la-la
La-la-la, la-la-la

  • Hear this part and witness yourself how the melody excuded real grief and longing.

  • I could imagine him singing this along with a guitar, or a piano, humming this while his eyes are tearing up.

[Verse 2: RM]
Decay too far gone absorbing no light or water
Sealing my wounded heart with a rootless, leafless vow
Two glasses placed side by side, their role
Never fulfilled, ah, just as thеy were
Since you last touchеd them

  • What's that decaying something? Maybe he talks about his heart. Sad, alone in a dark room that melancholy has brought him to. She was his light and water. Now his heart, represented by a flower, is withering. Alive, but barely breathing.

  • They must have lots of drinking sessions. Where they just drink some light liquor and talk about various things together. What their future could be, their personal dreams and aspirations. Where should we have a vacation next? Or, How did your day go today?

  • This night was different. And all the succeeding nights will be. For the glasses are full with wine, but someone's not gonna drink one of them anymore. He won't as well. He won't dare, as more sets of torturing flashbacks will just pour again like a raging rain. He won't dare touch his glass.

[Chorus: Jin & Jung Kook]
From all the memories stored in my heart
I gather up the ones of you, link them together
Gazing at them projected across the room
I feel you with every burst of pain

[Verse 3: SUGA, J-hope & Jung Kook]
Don't have to be right
Just wanted you to stay the way you are
Kind hearted, always smiling, but
If tears can be measured, it took this long but
I've barely made it by your side (Barely made it)
And found you (Ooh)

  • He has never seen her in the wrong light. Everything about her is beautiful and amazing to him. Because she is his everything.

  • Can we measure tears from the heart? We never see them, but if we could, if we just could, those tears would have filled a whole dam, or even an ocean.

  • He was with her in the last moments, and the time was cut short. He can always talk to her in that place, but he knows he can never expect a response, from now on.

[Chorus: V & Jimin]

From all the memories stored in my heart
I gather up the ones of you, link them together
Gazing at them projected across the room
I feel you with every burst of pain

I fall asleep with you vivid in my arms

[Post-Chorus: Jin & Jimin]
The words you whisper, the resonance
Wander aimlessly around the room
The fragrance I smell, the warmth I feel
As long as it lasts, as long as it lasts

  • Her voice haunts him in an ever so painful way. How could he forget her pleasant laughs, her soft words that comforted him all this time?Just everything his eyes glance at reminds him every single thing about her.

  • His nose has grown familiar to her scent, as how his soul has recognized every bit of her presence.

  • Now, winter and summer will just feel the same. Whatever season it may be, it will be forever cold for him. She was his sun, someone that embraced him with warmth no fire could ever fathom; and now, that sun was gone.

[Outro: Jin & V]
You, in my imagination
Are so vivid, oh
As if you are right there
But I reach out my hand
And you suddenly disappear


The song just ends like that. Just like how incredible the pain is of losing someone you love. For an uncertain period of time, your heart, your mind, just everything in your system, will continuously torture itself with those memories that once made you smile. Now, those moments just trigger a storm of emotions—sadness, longing, regrets, resentment, and despair.

We always wonder, what could have went wrong? Why him/her? Do I deserve this punishment?

Losing someone we love is probably the most heartbreaking experience we could ever encounter. The thing is, we all experience it in some point of our lives.

I remember shedding lots of tears when my grandmother died. It happened on the same day we celebrated my younger brother's seventh birthday.

Mom was cooking fried chicken as a simple food we can eat for the celebration, and at the same time she is calling out to grandma, who was showing signs of giving up, "Ma, wag naman ngayon.. Birthday ng apo mo.. " (Mom, not today, please. You see, your grandson is celebrating his birthday today.)

It was when we got home from school when we saw this scene. Mother was getting emotional as she was cooking.

All our excitement for what's supposed to be a happy day, turned to worry, and upcoming grief. And the latter happened not long after.

We cried. And it really hurts. I still feel a bit of it to this day. It is indeed true that our brain tends to remember bad memories more than good ones, I don't know; it must have some kind of purpose, right? I just don't fully understand.

Moving Forward

One thing we also have in common is moving forward. Well, we don't have a choice. If we can just bring those loved ones back to our arms, we definitely would.

Since, we can't, we just move on. And moving forward does not, and will never mean we forget. It is recognizing that excruciating pain is normal, and that the wound will eventually fade.

It will leave a scar, for the pain will always stay, but it would not be as painful than before. We know that they are in a better place now, and it gives us some kind of an assurance.


I'd still love to share my overflowing thoughts about this wonderful song, but i think it has gone too long. Maybe I will share some more in my next article.

Please tell me your thoughts about the theme of this song. How did you feel while reading this? Do you remember a similar experience? And how did you deal with it?

I know it's difficult to talk about this sensitive topic so I understand if you won't. I just can't help it, this BTS' song just touched my heart so well that it brought out some memories from the past.

The overall mood of the song brings out a sentimental feeling, it hit home, direct to the heart.

It's still amazing to me how a song can stir up various emotions in us, how it can somehow impact our lives by communicating to our inner selves.

And this song, is definitely one of those. Despite the sad tone, it still serves as my comfort in an anxiety filled night, in a tired day of work, or in a rainy day.

Thank you, BTS, for another heart touching song.


Thanks a lot for being here. I appreciate it so much. I would also love it if you would consider supporting me in my read.cash journey.

Come write and earn here if you haven't!

Recommended reads today, check out their latest posts, and consider giving them a follow, too. :)

Until next time!

8
$ 21.33
$ 21.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 3
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Experiences, Story, Journey, ...

Comments

My daughter really love the song of BTS titled Dynamite since she was 6 months old until now. Everytime she hears that song , she dances happily.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. And BTS just released another English song that is perfect for the summer! Ypu may want to check it now becuse it is another masterpiece anyone would want to dance to. The title is 'Butter'. I may want to write an article about it in the future. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once got LSS with the BTS song "Life Goes On", which is the first and last song that I try to listen of all BTS songs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you would love this song, too! It is a Japanese one. And if you would like, I can still recommend you their other Japanese songs tht were used in various Japanese movies. :)) If you just want. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, I'll try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The funny thing about LSS is that even when you are about to sleep it keeps playing at the back of your mind. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Yes! What's funnier is when I try to mumble lyrics, since it is a language I am not well-informed of. Especially this one I talked about, a Japanese song. Every Japanese will surely laugh when he/she hears me singing with absolutely nonsense lyrics. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is fantastic. It is nice to see your interpretation of the song. Songs can mean different to everybody. That's the beauty of it. Only the writer knows exactly what they meant. Good read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. When I ask someone about it, they will have a different interpretation. Thanks for your nice words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago