Feeling Anxious? Read This.

50 69
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

There are two sides of me, and I have a wild guess that everyone maybe.. has these, too. My first side is the optimistic one. It always goes like "I can do this! They've been there, and they did that! Of course, why can't I, right?"

Image from Unsplash

The other one is the opposite. "What if I don't make it? What would they say? Did I make the right choice? What if I fail again?"

Of course, I don't like the second side I mentioned, which, unfortunately, is the more active side than the first, in my case nowadays.

Is anxiety a choice? There will be an in depth discussion about it in the later parts of this article, but let me share my thoughts on this.

I did not choose anxiety. If it's indeed a choice, then does it mean everyone who has it willingly selected it to be in their lives? I don't think so. No one likes anxiety, unless you know someone who does, let me know. I wanna talk to that person. If I could just shoo it away quickly, I would shoo it as I want. If only it would go away. Between anxiety and sadness, I wouod choose the latter. I think I could push through with some sadness for the day, and relieve it with my hobbies and stuff, then go on.

But anxiety robs me of sleep. Of peace, and even happiness itself. It consumes my will to carry on, and makes me cynical about everyone, including myself. I could go on talking about how anxiety is indeed damaging. And let me reiterate, I did not choose to be this way. It just happens, it just comes. I swear.

  • There are people who live in anxiety.

Well, I guess everyone does. Every single thing can be a cause of anxiety to a person. As petty as foods, or small appointments, even to heavier issues like interactions, experiences, a tragic past, or even the future which does not exist yet.

I believe that feelings of anxiety is normal. We are humans, and we are not always confident. We feel anxious from time to time. And what's not normal is extreme anxiety. It's when anxiety controls our lives, affects our emotions and well-being, or impacts how we view the world.

  • Anxiety is a Choice.

I'm sorry, what? I had to pause for a while to process this. Hearing this sentence from our speaker today had me in awe. I have given a bit of my thoughts about it in the beginning of this blog, and I am sure I felt this way: It seems like an invalidating statement.

Again, I did not choose anxiety. No one did, and I believe no one ever will. No one would just wake up one peaceful morning and say, "I choose anxiety today!" Not trying to sound sarcastic but there is some point to what I've said, right?

1 Peter 5:7 says that our Father Almighty genuinely cares about us, and there's no reason to hesitate talking to Him whenever we feel worried.

Italicized words are Filipino translation. This is a screenshot from my Bible App.

Our Father Almighty is God, and indeed more powerful than all our fears and anxiety combined. It is up to us to release unto Him what burdens and bothers us, and of course, abandon the roots of our anxiety. Oh so this is the concept of the second sub-topic, anxiety is a choice. Anxiety may stay or go, depending on how we deal with it. Will we let it consume us, or we will submit it to the Lord and let Him dissolve all of it? It's up to us.

It may work overnight, or instantly, or to others, it may take longer. It depends per person. We have different timelines in battling with anxiety, and it's okay. No one's pressuring us to just wake up ine day and say we are freed from it. Because truth is, it's not that easy. It's not magic. And to some, it may even be hailed impossible.

Personally, I want to live life anxiety-free. Maybe others have gotten into a stage of their lives where worries or anxiety-provoking things just don't affect them that badly anymore, and I aim to be like that. I am a work in progress in building this mindset, in confidently saying "My anxiety is big, but my God is bigger!" while also making it possible through actions at the same time.

Anxiety is a choice: This sub-topic honestly, is still a sentence that I find hard to swallow. I will do my best to embrace it fully, and work on my life to understand it better, and agree with this statement 100% one day.

Anxiety is an enemy we have to defeat.

Anxiety, obviously, will never add even an hour to our life span. Matthew 6:27 says that.

Again, italicized words are Filipino translation. This is also a screenshot from my Bible App.

In fact, anxiety even affects our life overall, whether physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual. Whenever I feel uncontrollable anxiety in me, I'll always try to remember this message from now on, so I could brush off anxiety away. Take a deep breath, mutter a short, sincere prayer, or longer times to pray, it depends on one's preferences.

Personally, I declare affirmations followed by "In Jesus' Name!" That's my own way of dealing with anxiety. I wonder is others do this, too. For example, I am competing in something I did not really want to, just there because I was guilt-tripped, pressured, and manipulated. In my mind, or through a soft whisper that only I can hear, I say, "I will get through this, in Jesus' Name! I won't get nervous, in Jesus' Name!" The affirmations differ according to every situation, but there should always be acknowledging of Jesus' name. That way, I can be sure that my prayers and declarations reach God. I will just do my best, and trust that God is already working to finish the rest.

Blessed Sunday!

This is another installment of my Bible Time Series every Sunday, where I share to you what I learned from our pastors' preaching. I hope I get to help you learn more about how to deal and battle anxiety, even if just alleviate it at least, if eliminating is close to impossible.

Is there something that's causing you an overwhelming anxiety these days? I hope we'll get through it and still stay faithful and endure it.

Until Next Time!

Hello there! I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register here:

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username. Find me here:

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

14
$ 8.72
$ 8.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I miss reading your articles. 😊 I think majority of us suffer from anxiety and we all have our ways of coping with it. But we should always remember that there is a God who can help us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

same here. If u can notice naging IA ako since nung December. lulubog lilitaw kumbaga. Haha. Baka minsan na lang din ako nakakabisita sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung December nabusy talaga ako kaya hindi ako nakaikot masyado. Pero before that parang tinamad din talaga ako mag-ikot kasi alam ko ang dami kong babasahin. Hahaha. But slowly nagsstart na ako ulit magsipag magbasa. Kaya lang minsan parang mas malaki pa yung binibigay ko sa ibang users compared sa binabigay sa akin ng ating matalik na kaibigan. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha, same . Minsan ang nagagawa ko nalang sa araw ay magspread ng upvotes, pero wala ako nasusulat 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun nga napansin ko. Kailangan meron ka ng nakadraft para may time to read other people's articles. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga. Sana magawa ko. Nitry ko yang strategy na yan eh, kaso di ko keri. 😂 Try ko ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan kasi nakikicooperate si brain. Minsan hindi. Ayan parang ngayon wala pa ako naddraft para bukas. Hirap maubusan ng bala. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

isn't it a coincidence? i have read a couple of articles about anxiety today..

we can defeat anxiety knowing that God is good and that He will take care of us!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anxiety is a timely topic indeed. Especially in this generation where mental health suffers more than physical one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true.. a lot are suffering from anxiety...even the not-so-young ones...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay true. especially't pandemic ngayon. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really depends on the coping mechanism a person has in his tank. That is why, strong support system is highly appreciated when dealing with anxiety. That way, it'll be much easier. ❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

OMG, thanks for visiting here. ♥️ I agree with you. One can't deal with it alone, yeah maybe he/she can, but it's gonna be a lot of work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Napadaan lang. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat! bibisita din ako pag di na busy. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ain't it funny to think that for a second you are so optimistic and the next second you develop doubts. Ahhhh the human mind is hard to comprehend, yet as they say, "we all are trying", what's important is we surround ourself with the right people and be reminded that our Main Man is up there guiding us. Padayon! 💯

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, our mind is confusinf sometimes haha! But I guess that's life. Padayon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to live in anxiousness until ive known God and His words. His assurance, protection, love and blessings has overwhelmed me. My God will take away all the worries and take over my problems🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, Jaytee! You did the right thing. Keep going, I know God has a beautiful plan for you. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. Fighting!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's somewhat unavoidable depending to one's environment. Been there, still there. Couldn't quite remember when it started but merely, no, completely struggle und dealing with it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully, you can overcome it gradually . We all struggle with this everyday, and I know we are doing our best to get rid of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! hope so, ellehcim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course we can. Let's keep living everyday..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not choose to be this way. It just happens, it just comes. I swear. - This so true. 😭

Anyway, thank you for this Elle. 💜 I've been feeling this way for days now. Maybe because I am overthinking a lot. About my future, what's happening around and so on. And the only thing I always do is call the Lord. Always talaga basta di na kaya, "Lord please." And I will talk to Him na. He's the only one who can wash away all these anxieties we are all feeling.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Ang hirap pag combined and introversion at over thinking ano? Minsan nakaka suffocate yung mga naiisip ko. Nakapikit yung mata ko, pero mabilis ang tibok ng puso ko. Pinipilit makatulog pero, tuloy sa pagkilos ang imahinasyon sa iba't ibang alalahanin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo. Yung di mo maiintindihan nararamdaman mo e. Ang gulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti at may nkakakrelate naman. Salamat hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome Elle. Dami makakarelate dahil sa mga nangyayari e.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have an anxiety and have been to several panic attacks too. Glad that the people around me understands the condition and don't let me hear negative things about it. There are just these people na kulang sa aruga ng magulang kaya hindi makaintindi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Sinasabi pa ng iba nagdadrama lang daw, o kaya thirsty for attention. 🙄 Though ganon naman talaga yung iba, mga papansin lang, meron pa din namang nakakaranas talaga. And they need help, not invalidation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makitid ang utak ng mga yan, Mich. Deadmahin mo nalang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Masmaganda kay Lord nlang idaing lahat, kasi Siya, may malasakit talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anxiety is inevitable. The devil brings doubts and fear into one's heart from time to time. But we can counter it with the word of God. With christ we can overcome all form of anxiety

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very well said. Thanks for reading and this amazing insight. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have it and I don't like it, everything about it. There is a reason why I have it, there is a history that I didn't choose to hsppen. My only armour is God when I'm feeling it, but it doesn't happen quickly. God give me wisdom and whisper to me to pray Serenity prayer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. Prayer, a sincere one, is a powerful weapon against fear and anxiety. Keep fighting your battle, Grecy. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It isn't People's fault when they Experience anxiety. Problems whatsoever may trigger anxiety and when most people find the defence mechanism easy, others do not and it may take much time to get away from it. But the only way I know which is effective is to dwell on the promises of God for us. Thanks for sharing this topic

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with your say on this. Thanks for reading as well. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anxiety is not good for us. We have to get rid of it asap for it might consume us and ruin our life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. We can't do it ourselves. We need God's help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be careful for nothing but with prayer and thanksgiving let your request me made known to God and the peace of God that surpasses all human understanding will guide our heart through Jesus. This about sums it up. No doubt, to be anxious depends on the direction we are looking at. In this world we would always have troubles but when we anchor our hope on God, it makes it easier to bear.

I really wish we can live in anxiety free world too because everyone deserves to be happy but God has given us the way out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. God always offers us His undying love that is bigger than all of our anxieties combined. It's up to us whether to reach out to Him, or succumb to our anxiety.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. God won't override our will. It's left to us to reach out to Him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anxiety comes and goes. And it's up to you to let it stay with you.. But it's not good though.. So better let it go..

Oh, that rhymes again 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

About to be a poem, Ate! 😂 Thanks for reading! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My last gf has an anxiety and I do feel bad for her for having it. Yes, anxiety is never a choice of someone. Who likes to have fear of the future? No one. But most people speak about it like they know what and everything about anxiety. Truth is, they just lack knowledge about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Interesting point of view. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this, John. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, welcome 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago