Attention!

23 54
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I am not a perfect Christian. No one is. I am not that ideal person that goes to the church, is attentive throughout the Sunday service, and consciously applies what I learn from the Bible. I do one, or some of those mentioned, and sometimes (or oftentimes) I fail to.

Image from Unsplash

This particular continuation of my "Bible Time" series is written in a bit different manner today, due to a reason I am not proud of. Earlier this morning, I was not that focused on the Pastor's preaching. I can't confidently share in a detailed way what was preached earlier because I am aware I was not on full-attention mode. Until now, I still feel kinda guilty. Like sis, you don't go to church merely just to chat with friends, nor just a date with your lover, or whatever. We all know the purpose so I think I won't have to go in details about it. It's self-explanatory.

I always feel guilty. As someone who has been a Born Again Christian for many years now, I am not new anymore to what's right and what's not. I know what are the deeds that go against God's will, and I am aware of how I should act to this title, being a follower of Christ.

For some reason, my younger brother and I were distracted because we were discreetly talking about random stuff from time to time, while, take note, the Pastor is currently speaking in front. We were in the back row, as where we've always been. And then there's my cellphone. We opened different apps within that short period of time, to check unecessary whatevers, I don't know.

I did not share this all openly because I am proud. I know what I did is wrong, and definitely should not happen again. I still managed to get some important parts and subtopics of today's message, but it won't change the fact that I was not focused. It's also an outright disrespect to whoever is speaking, and of course, to God.

So, saying all of these until now, may I gently remind all of us to always be attentive whenever we attend the church worship service. It's also for us, to understand and get to know our God more through the people he used as instruments to help us. It is also our sign of respect and a form of worship to our Lord. He did not even require us to attend gatherings every single day, just a day is enough, I believe we can give it to Him. And by that, I mean, not just being physically present in the church, but also spiritually, mentally, and emotionally present. Because what's the use of sitting for hours in that church if we're just thinking of other things, anyway? Might as well just stay at home. Which is not good, of course.

Actually, in some parts of the world, people don't have the freedom to share and receive God's word. Fellowships, and gatherings are even done in secret, for being caught would mean a grave punishment, or even death. I am blessed enough that I live in a country where dofferent major religious beliefs are respected, yet, I seem to take it for granted. This blog of mine is a reminder to me from now on.

Now, with the best that I can, let me still give a brief sharing of what is the message about for this Sunday.

2 Pet. 3:1-7

When Jesus Christ comes back, for sure, no one knows. It's like death—it's something that will surely come, but we just don't know when. While the best that we can do is to wait, it is also our chance to live everyday according to God's will. So when that time finally comes, we won't have any regrets, and we can be confident that we'll be listed into the Book of Life, and be with God in His kingdom.

Image A: 2 Peter 3:1-2

There will be people, however, (often non-believers, and sometimes, even believers already, yes) that will distract us from this, like how I shared in the earlier parts of this blog, just in a different context.

  • They prefer sin to salvation.

Image B: 2 Peter 3:3

Of course, naturally, a person wants absolute freedom than being restricted by rules, or guidelines to live life. What pleasures the flesh, matters more than the life that will follow after death. As weak humans, we are/were all like that. I myself was like that, too, until I discovered God's word. I still struggle to live as that ideal child of God, I admit, vut I know I am never the same as before.

  • They prefer question to confidence.

Image C: 2 Peter 3:4

Though others just don't care about our aspirations as Christians, some go out of their way and find fun in mocking us. Saying insulting things to us, to make us doubt what's said in the Bible. We experience it right now, like how it was reminded to the apostles in advance.

  • They prefer argument to anticipation.

There are also lots of debates and arguments unintentionally, and purposely brought up regarding this. This way of challenging the truth is indeed a genius way to confuse our faith. This person has a point, what assurance do I really have that Jesus will come back? Is this waiting really worth it? Am I really doing the right thing, or just pursuing nothing after all? Thoughts like these.

In the end, the choice solely depends on us. Whether to hold on to the promise, aspire to be a good child of God in words and in actions, and wait patiently and faithfully. Or to be on the other side, three instances of which are mentioned in the sub-topics above.

Image D: 2 Peter 3:5-7

We can always chose to do what we want. Because we are not robots, and we are gifted free will. One thing's for sure though, every action and choice have their corresponding consequences. Whatever decision we'll make, let's not forget that we own accountability to all of it.

I hope that through this sharing, I was able to impart something for you. Have a blessed work week again for tomorrow, and my God bless us with amazing thinga tomorrow.

Until Next Time!

Hello there! I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register HERE ❤️ and let me know so I could guide you through.

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username. Find me here:

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Image Sources for Bible verses (Image A to D) are screenshots from my Bilingual Bible App.

  • Plagiarism is a crime. Don't steal.this work. Peace!

11
$ 8.44
$ 7.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 8
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

For some reason, I stopped going to church yet again. So much lesson imparted here by you to us. So thank you for the sharing you gave. God bless us all. May we go on deeper reflection than before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for being honest. And for reading this one. Godspeeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one is perfect in every religion we as a human just try our best to be best human and I'm also not a perfect muslim in many case but i always pray for forgiveness and mercy that's all i can do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. We ask for forgiveness genuinely, and not do this again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we all have those moments... i was also sleepy yesterday during the preaching.. not proud but just being honest

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same.. Nakakantok minsan, di naman fault ng speaker. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. A very nice article indeed. Thank you for this 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, too, for reading. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two primary obstacles cause distractions: 1. our selfish, fallen nature; and 2. a failure to acknowledge the spiritual war going on. The former may be corrected, whereas the latter is of utmost important to be cognizant of.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like this insight of yours. Thanks a lot. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have imparted me and I really enjoyed it. The truth about me is whenever I go to church, I am always going there to be focused and not be distracted. This is why I don't take my phone along with me to church because I will always look for some unnecessary things while sermon is going on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your method will surely work. Thanks for letting me know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A nice word of exhortation. I'm also guilty of pressing phone in church. May God forgive us all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are forgiven, but of course we gotta not do it again. Thanks for reading! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this. A big reflection I had after.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My pleasure, Grecy. Godspeed. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel so blessed reading this and reflect myself in every line. 😊🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice to know, John. Thanks a lot for reading. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I went to church also earlier. It was cathartic. It's a special feeling that you can not explain. You just feel light and blessed 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We gain strength by worshipping God. When God is delighted, we are strengthened. As said , The joy of the Lord is my strength. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for these words, Mich. I didn't go to church today and was unable to hear the words of God from the bible that's why I'm thankful to you, for sharing this. ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries! May God bless us today. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago