We value what is useful.

10 31
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Hurray!! My examination has finally come to a drastic end, I'm home now; through with it all and awaiting a good and pleasant result. As some people would say: "done and dusted." I'm fully back and online; ready to read your lovely articles, I've missed read.cash alot and I'm glad to finally have alot of time once again to write, read and make new friends.

Okay let's get down to business.

On my way home today; I saw a little boy trying to persuade a lady to buy his nose masks, but even after all his persuasion, the lady still didn't purchase it. It got me zooming into my thoughts, then I realized something; or need I say: a topic came into mind and that's what led me into writing this article.

We value what is useful.

Back in the year "2020," when the covid pandemic was really hitting hard into the world. Nose mask was placed on a compulsory term. There was social distancing, infact one couldn't go into anywhere without the use of nose or face mask. People really made money off it. Something that was selling for 0.05 before; suddenly started selling for 0.10, all because the demand for it was on the high side.

Drastically and gradually, the year came to an end. The pandemic wasn't as hot as before. The quest for social distancing gradually reduced and the demand for purchasing nose mask became minimal as the nosemask slowly became obsolete.

I could vividly remember how back then, you can hardly come out of your house without seeing atleast above ten people wearing the face masks. Our fashion designers didn't let us down as they kept sewing face masks in different lovely Ankara colors or styles.

Image source: Unsplash.

Now, where am I heading?.

After this little analysis, I realized that we only value what it useful. Face mask was highly useful; two years back and it was highly sought for and valued, but as the clock ticks by, it's gradually becoming obsolete (outdated), it's worn in places like banks and some schools. I don't know about other countries but I'm directing my thoughts to Nigeria alone.

Those in Nigeria would know the recent development of table water, how it increased, double the price it was sold years back, but guess what? People still buy it all the same and that's because "water has value" even if there's an hike in the price, it still has value all the same. One would say: "water is life."

There are some things we don't bother purchasing once the price for it becomes on the high side. Those things aren't really valued, but for things that are valued; no matter what the price turns out to be, our need or want for such commodity would still lead us into dipping our hands into our pockets to purchase them. That's because it's very useful to us.

Why am I saying all these?: It's just to buttress or shed more light on what I'm trying to portray.

If you don't have value, people won't need you.

Yes, read that again.

Different experiences; mine and from other's has made me come to a realization that: if you don't have value, you'll hardly be sought out for.

Now, there are different examples to cite here, but I'll make them limited. Let me share my personal story.

When I started my National diploma program, during my first year to be precise, I had two friends; who I was always with, we would sit together, eat together, go home together... These friends of mine always depended on me during test and exams, infact I could literally say: there was totally and absolutely nothing I can say I gained from hanging around with them. (Save the biscuits and food they got me; sometimes). Lol.

  • During test, they would never read; after all Dorcas is their friend and she'll definitely read and share her answers with them.

  • During exams too, it was the same line; playing out itself.

I got totally frustrated and started craving for another kind of friendship, that kind of friendship that:

  • We would read together,

  • Share ideas together,

  • Debate with each other,

  • Learn from each other...

I was literally tired of my initial friends so I decided within me to change my friendship circle and I did. I met another set of friends, I was actually the one who striked a conversation with them, I had been watching them from a distance before I finally walked up to them and that was because they had more value. I started following them instead. One of them was so good at typewriting, the other was very good at grasping fast and understanding, I was massively good at writing in shorthand. This way; we learnt from eachother, I wasn't the only one contributing, now; I was learning from them and they were also learning from me.

Image source: My gallery.

Don't quote me wrong, my initial friends are still useful in some other things but just not education inclined. I value this ones more; because they're useful to me educationally.

Someone (name withheld) said this to me, few days back:

Anonymous: The annoying thing here is that she doesn't even read at all, she just solely depends on me to download answers to her during exams, and when you're even trying to tell her, she keeps writing it slowly and saying: "ehn?" That's why the invigilator moved me away from my previous seat, it was because she caught me talking to her.

A quote says: When you are loaded; you'll be needed.

Most people; these days don't like hanging around with people that just take and takes, but never gives. In this sense; I mean: "people that are just interested in what they can gain from you, but have no value whatsoever to give to you." To be greatly sought for, you have to be loaded, you need to have value. People need to see your worth and know that you're alot of asset on its own.

In businesses: Employers need competent an skilled employees, not lazy ones. In some organizations: it's what you have to offer that would determine what you'll be offered. If you don't have enough to offer, your pay would either be low, or your presence won't even be needed in your absence. They won't refer or recommend you to others, when they see that you have no value whatsoever.

These days; some people are not using certificate or age anymore. They are using experience and what you can actually offer, how useful you can be to them.

But if you have value, you'll be highly useful, highly recommended, highly sought for.

In essence:

Try and add value to yourself, don't become obsolete. Obsolete things are hardly and rarely sought for. Learn more, read more, get to know more. Add more value to yourself and you'll be useful.

Appreciation: Thanks to everyone, my subscribers, commenters, sponsors, likers, readers and upvoters. I love and appreciate you all.

12
$ 2.81
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 6
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

That's true people only valued you, if they are benefiting from you and turn you away once you're already empty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly... That's how it works and that's why one should keep adding value to oneself. This way; everyone would always find one useful. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of value is always attached to valuable things, goods and products because they are of great benefit to one. Congrats to you, enjoy your holiday very well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly... Thanks for stopping by. Thanks alot and yes!, I will enjoy it to the fullest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First congratulations as you’ve finished your exam and hopefully good results comes out. 2020 was really the year of nose mask and till date I still think nose mask is useful not only for prevention of COVID-19 but also not to perceive bad environmental pollution and others. In many schools her are bad students who don’t read but always wants to pass.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks alot. Oh!, that's true. It prevents bad environmental pollution. Okay I guess nose mask isn't obsolete anymore. Thanks for your contribution. I really do appreciate.

Yes; they don't read but they want to pass (misplaced priorities).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand the feeling when one finishes exam. 😄 Congratulations though. I wish you success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, honestly; the feeling is so overwhelming. 😂 Thanks alot dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Face masks are still very important, but we have become nonchalant about COVID protocols. Good you changed your circle of friends when they aren't pushing you to be better, these little acts make big differences

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the looks of it, in Nigeria. It isn't really as important as how it was before, but still; yeah!, You're right; maybe we are just being nonchalant in abiding to the covid protocols, I didn't think or imagine it this way. I'm seeing it from a different point of view now. Thanks for stopping by, not just that; but for also sharing your point with us all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago