The dying wish from a wretched old man.

7 47
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

I got inspired to write this poem while reading Atomic Habits by James Clear, there was something he wrote that sank deep into my soul.

He wrote...

  • Mastery requires patience

  • Change can take years before it happens all at once.

  • In reality, the results of our efforts are often delayed. It is not until months or years later that we realize the true value of the previous work we've done.

I was so inspired by this because it was like he knew the state of mind I would be in when reading his book. I couldn't help but scribble words together to form a poem.

The dying wish from a wretched old man is one of my latest poems and spoken word poetry.

The dying wish from a wretched old man.

I opened a YouTube channel, some years ago. I had no intention of using it, I was navigating around YouTube that day and ended up creating a channel.

This year, I decided to take my poems to a different level, so I decided to use the channel for "Spoken Word Poetry."

Feel free to click on the link to subscribe to my channel, it'll be very much appreciated.

YouTube link.

The dying wish from a wretched old man is a poem I wrote to remind ME and to remind YOU that...

You have nothing to gain if you give up, but you stand a chance to gain everything if you stay strong.

The dying wish from a wretched old man is a tale of a man who lived a life of regrets, all because he gave up too easily.

Before I proceed.

I read @cescajove article sometime last week, an awesome article about a few of her favorite songs, she posted the video and audio to some of the songs, and I couldn't help but ask how she did it, she told me, and here I am today.

I'm glad I asked, I would probably still be swimming in the pool of "ignorance" if I hadn't asked. Thanks a lot, Cesca, I appreciate this.

Here's the spoken word version.

Here's the poem.

I had a dream

that would have become reality,

but success wasn't easy to find,

so I gave up on my search,

and watched in Idleness as years ran by.

Now I'm old and grey

but it's impossible to turn back the hands of time.

Please listen to the words of a wretched old man,

who has nothing else to offer,

learn from his woes,

and don't thread in his path.

Keep losing and winning

but never succumb to failure.

There would be disappointments...

Lots of it...

Change can take years,

but with patience to quell your fears;

you will one day get there.

Oh, I wish...

I wish I had one last chance to be a child.

I would have probably been a rich old man,

who would have impacted many lives,

But...

I gave up easily,

and...oh!

What other wish can a wretched old man give??

Than this?

don't...

...don't thread in my path.

The old man died wretchedly because he didn't fight till the very end, he gave up along the line and lived the rest of his life in regrets, he summarized his life story and crafted it into a poem to assure YOU and I, not to ever think of giving up.

To inform YOU and I that there would certainly be disappointments, lots of them.

  • You might presently not have the customers you hoped for, but just keep at it and don't even dream of giving up.

  • You might not get that audience, those clients, those gigs, or deals. But don't let that trigger you into giving up.

  • You might not have this...

  • You might not have that...

But, remember...

It'll all make sense one day and you'll realize that those previous works you did are not in vain.

Like James Clear wrote in his book:

The outside world only sees the most dramatic event rather than all that preceded it. But you know that it's the work that you did long ago - when it seemed that you weren't making any progress - that makes the jump today possible.

Never Succumb to Failure.

Till we meet again in my next article and yours.

Thanks for reading.

7
$ 0.18
$ 0.07 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.05 from @Cesca_Jove
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

Most of lyrics and poetry channels are educative these days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every true the outer world don't see the gradual growth of progress or decline but the most dramatic events.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already watched your video, me too have a yt channel but I never posted anything yet, keep up , more videos to come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This poem can open one's mind that we should take the risk or lose the chance. Giving up is not the answers to all the ups and downs of our life, but rather a motivations that will help us go through despite all the hardships in life. Look forward, and survive!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This poem is such poignant and insightful....those words were born out of experience and lessons life taught him...unfortunately he didn't stay too long and that's so sad.

My pleasure Ella...💖💖

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very touching and deep. The melancholy it exudes can drive one to tears. It feels like the old man has lived my life to the end according to his own path and is back advising me not to take the path.

What if we could have a situation where our older selves could come to advice us on what to do and what not to do? To even drag us along the path to fulfillment, instead of leaving us to the whims of trial and error.

I only hope we can find our path and way to a fulfilling life so we won't be living our last days in regret

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itachi from naruto once said

You don't die when you stop breathing, you die when you give up.

Frustration will always come and challenges, but one who give up has failed... I enjoyed reading this.. I dont know how others will see it though. And besides, Its like the words of the old man are from experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago