Make that move.

4 27
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Do it:

I remember back then when I never wrote an article for anyone else to read, I just kept writing and leaving it all, to be read by family and close friends, I felt my article would be plagiarized, so oh well, the sure deal was to just keep penning down my emotions, stories, articles... in a book, not for the world to see but for I alone and those around me.. I was waiting for the perfect time to publish the books and start making sales, I could remember my mum vividly telling me not to try posting any of my write-ups on any social media platform, that it was going to be plagiarized. I was always skeptical when it came to posting them all, I felt there would be no proof that I was the one who wrote them, since it was posted only on social media, not until last year when I met someone; a married lady to be precised, with her encouragements and all, I picked up my pen once more and kept on Penning down, but this time it wasn't just for myself and my family, but for everyone who cared to engage; to see. I've not reached the height I'm aspiring for, but I'm glad I've started doing it; I've started making the move.

There's this quote I saw on a friend's status a day back and it stated: when you're loaded, you'll be needed, but how would people know if you keep it to yourself?"

Now that was a deep question which made me take a drive back to how it was for me, before I started writing for people (not just family and close friends) to actually see.

I started this last year, writing poems and stories, I've not really made progress though but I can gladly sit back and smile that atleast I took that move.. and atleast now, people know I write...

Truth is of recent, I've started posting short videoclip of me singing and dancing and of a truth, even if I've not being getting the engagements and comments I crave for, I know that atleast few people; after watching, give feedbacks and even if they don't, atleast they saw the videoclip and it therefore makes them aware of the fact that I'm also a singer and a dancer, even though I'm not yet a proficient one.

  • I feel fulfilled to an extent because I know; to most big and glamorous endings; there was a small and unworthy start.

I know all these will be my success story in the future. This reminds me of a conversation I had with a friend of mine, a really good saxophonist...

What led me into having the conversation with him:

Truth is, of recent; I haven't been able to help myself against feeling depressed. Recently; I'd just get depressed and left out... I kept asking myself: "is this really worth all the efforts?, why are people just not ready to engage?, why are they not giving feedbacks?..."

That depression would just hit me deep down like the crashing of a speeding wheel. I had felt so depressed that day and as I swiped through people's status, I felt the need to ask him what his beginning was like. He answered and told me all it was; that I needed to know, he said and I quote: "it wasn't easy, my dad never supported me, I had no money to get a sax then, I was always playing trash back then, with people laughing me and all, but still amidst all these, I never gave up, I pressed on, pushed further, never relented, continued striving, exactly because I knew what I actually wanted... I Sold my phone just to get money to pay for my music classes." On and on, he kept narrating... I wish I could say more, I really did learn alot from his story.

Make that move:

  • To achieve your big dreams, don't just sit there doing nothing, waiting for manna to fall from above, don't just sit all day; crying and lamenting on even that change would happen... Take that move, make that move.

  • Be determined to succeed: Honestly; if we take a look at the success story of most rich people we know in the world today, we'd observe that, their main asset was the determination they had towards success. You must thrive. The determination you have towards what you love; even when it isn't yielding fruits, is what would determine how your success story would be like.

  • Most people who are rich now, started from small: Most of the great leaders we see and praise now, started small, be consistent, you need to keep up with it... don't just drop it and feel that, it's all over, those people laughing at you now would be your cheer leaders tomorrow when you become that great person, you've been destined to be.

Keep up with it, keep thriving, keep learning new things, keep practicing, keep writing, keep dancing, keep singing, keep up with that talent...

A quote I read; stated: Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.

  • Make sacrifices: Sacrifice your time, sacrifice that money to learn something new, "that saxophonist friend of mine; sacrificed his phone, just to attend music classes and today; even if he isn't yet in the place and position he wants to be in, atleast he's in a better position now, and it's through those sacrifices he made in time past, his saxophone training and his saxophone is what's paying him off now," knowledge they say is power, remember this quote; "when you're loaded, you'll be needed."

  • Show the world who you are: Let it keep ringing into their heads that this is what you do, this is what you're thriving to be dexterous at. Remember the story of how I once was, how I never wanted to write for everyone else to see, because I was scared of plagiarism, how I was planning to publish them all as hardcopies. Funny how technology is developing as the days go by. These days; one could even sort for books online. Back to the context, show the world who you are, let them know what you do and what you're good at.

  • Avoid procrastination: There was a seven days writing training I enrolled in, I picked something and held it so dear to my heart, what was this? "For writers: when that idea pops up, write it down, even if you aren't less busy, just find time from your busy schedule to write it down..."

This article you all are reading came in; as an idea, I'm presently feeling sleepy while typing, infact the main aim was to just type a little; a little that would make me remember what it was; that I wanted to write about. But I guess my mind had other plans, as it is now, my fingers are still so busy with my phone's keypad... I guess, I'd just finish up and edit it later on, probably add words during the process of editing and that would probably be done after my eyes has had its' full share of rest. But atleast I've typed down all my ideas and formed it into the article you're reading.

Not just for writing, but for any other skill or vocation, avoid procrastination... A quote says: "don't leave for tomorrow what could be done today."

This is a quick addition: I don't know if it's just me, but trust me; I've been in the brick of loosing myself and then amidst such depressive state, someone would just comment on my article, saying encouraging words to me. This feedback has magically kept me standing, number of times; I can't even recall.

This and many more are what's necessary to be successful in your skill or vocation, just make that move.

Any further suggestions, additions, subtractions to this or for this, please feel free to share in the comment section.

I don't feel fulfilled yet but I'm happy I've made some moves, far better than when I wrote only for myself, family and close friends.

Make that move.

Appreciation: Special thanks to everyone who reads my article, likes it and comments on it. A big shoutout to my sponsor; as well and those who upvote my articles. Thanks for all you do.

All images were gotten from unsplash

Remember to: Make that move.

9
$ 0.88
$ 0.75 from @Ipoperfect
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

I'm overwhelmed with this article... it's like this article is just for me. I'm trying hard to always avoid procrastinating things for myself. I seriously have lots of things to do right now but procrastination won't allow me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh dear, thanks for engaging. Remember there's no better time to do something than when the thought of it comes. Don't do things tomorrow when you can do them today. It's an habit most of us face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a nice article. I am happy that you were able to let go of how you feel. Sometimes it's nice to talk to random strangers about life. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks alot for reading through and sharing your opinion... Yeah, exactly; it's really nice to talk to random strangers about life...

$ 0.00
2 years ago