Maintaining friendship.

21 57
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

A friend, as some would say; is a soul in two bodies, a shoulder to lean on, a playmate and an adviser...

If you have the perfect friend; hold on tight to him/her, don't let go. Real friends are rare to find.

My mum and I were involved in a conversation yesterday, she spoke about not having friends and how my elder brother too can't even keep friends. It was then, I realized my elder brother and i, got that trait from her. While my twin brother got his; from my dad.

Of a truth, since my birth and still in view: "I've never seen any of my mum's friends. Classmates, church members..." None; have I seen.

My elder brother:

During my childhood years, hardly has there been anyone who comes home to visit my elder brother, I usually wonder why? He doesn't keep too much friends, and even the few ones he has, he can't really maintain that relationship.

My twin brother:

This boy is a keeper of friends, he knows so many people, my twin brother can keep friends so well. In school, he's kinda popular, he can call both the old and the young; on phone, he maintains good relationships with the mummies, daddies, course mates, church members, school mates, Facebook... You just name it.

These attributes of his; amongst all others have really made me realize that: "Being twins, doesn't mean we'll love doing the same thing."

I started schooling at the Prestigious Yaba College of Technology in the year "2019," my first semester in ND1, yielded no friends, I'll just come to class, do the needful, ask the governor of the class few questions and zoom off after lectures have ended for the day.

ND1 second semester, I finally interacted with few people.

It was in ND2 that I finally got to know my friends... The only friends I'm still with presently. Since then, I haven't been close with any other person apart from these three friends of mine. (Esther, Joyce and Vicky) I've tried so much, but I just can't make friends or maintain friendship.

Image source: Unsplash.

If you ask me to name five relationships I maintained from my secondary school years, you'll sit back and hear me bluffing. Of a truth, I can hardly call names. Even the three friends I'm with presently. I can't guarantee a continuous friendship after school life is over.

I've tried and tried, but I just can't maintain relationships with people.

  • It's so hard to pick up my phone and put a call through.

  • It's so hard to chat with someone I've not chatted with for eons.

  • It's hard to call the parents of children I had once taught in time past.

Me: Hello ma'am, Good day ma'am, this is Dorcas.

Her: Oh! Dorcas, good day, how are you?

Me: I'm good ma'am, just called to check on you and the children.

  • Oh yeah, is it that hard? No; right? So why can't I just do it?.

My brother would always tell me: "Dorcas try to keep relationships ooh, call people from time to time, call Mrs Osisami, call Mummy this, call Mummy that..."

And I'll be like: "what would I tell them?, I'm not calling jhoooo, don't worry."

It's so easy for my twin but so hard for me. I've always been calling myself a "loner" I just hope I don't truly end up being so alone.

In case I loose contact with you, or I just suddenly blackout from your phone screen and eyesight, please know that it's not intentional, just try to keep communicating with me please.

Try to reach out to me.

I can't even make friends, create or start conversations; even if I badly want to...

  • Is this normal?

  • Do I also have people here, that can't maintain relationships?

No matter what people say. It's really good to socialize and get to know people.

It's good to make and maintain friendship.

  • For referrals: You could be into a business, your friends or people you know are the ones that would refer you to others for them to come; patronizing you. I've heard so many testimonies from CEO's, as regards this.

  • For assistance.

  • For conversations

  • For connection.

Although the friends I'm seeing these days are not really impactful and helpful In any way, but finding a rare gem in a friend is the best asset you could ever wish to have.

There are friends and there are friends.

I just love writing about myself, (strength and weaknesses) I'm grateful for all your support. It's not taken for granted, I love you all.

Thanks for reading.

18
$ 4.13
$ 3.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 8
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

I like to see real friendship. Its can start new journey.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Friendship is what I really treasured the most but when I grew older it seems to hard for me to maintain the close bonds because a lot of close friends in the past haven't contacted me for a while now hays. I wanted to keep in touch with me but it's the total opposite of what they've felt for me. Anyways, I've always wanted to have a twin brother like yours hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can relate to what you've just said... Some friends, it's hard to keep in touch with them especially because they also don't put or make an effort to keep in touch with you.

Awww, lol, I'll take that as a compliment, thanks dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's absolutely nothing wrong with you. That's how you have been wired and that's why you are unique. I also have a relative who have similar xtic, sometimes people tend to judge and might call you a snub which ofcourse not true. Infact, people like you could b the sweetest person one can ever meet when they get to know you better.. We all can't be outspoken as the world would look like a market place which wouldn't be cool . Likewise, we all can't be introverts, else the world would seem boring. Everyone is special in their own way.... But try to check up on people who respect you and believe you all good. Maybe your quiet nature was what attracted them to you in the first place. No man or woman is an island you know.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awwwww, thanks alot dear Bilquees, these words pierced beautifully into my heart. I would stop feeling bad about myself and I'll heed to your advice. Thanks alot...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear. Who ever said anything about feeling bad about yourself 😆, you only have agaramophobia just as everyone has his or her own unique phobia. You are awesome sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best way to ave a peaceful environment is keeping our relationships with the people around us. Yes, we might struggle sometimes to maintain those because of some quarrels but at the end of the day, we still got each other's back. This is a nice article, good work.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Hap
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks alot, you're right... Thanks for stopping by here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have hard times to keep my relationship with some of my friends, but however I still have one friend in my list. I just didn't always chatted her, I'm lazy when it comes to chatting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! It seems we are sailing in the same boat... I'm also lazy when it comes to chatting, I do prefer physical conversation and phonecalls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a gift and a good thing to know how to check up on people you called friends cos a time will come when they will be there to support you when you feel alone. Call, text and visit them to show them you care about them, try and emulate that attitude from your twin dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm, deep, inspiring words... You're right dear, thanks alot for the words of advice... I'll try emulating him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am like your twin brother and I have had many friends since childhood. I am an introvert but somehow I don't have problems making connections with people. I still keep in touch with my primary school friends, high school friends, college friends, ex-colleagues, friends everywhere around the world LOL. However, my daughter is a lot like you. But whether we have many friends or just a handful, it is perfectly okay. We don't have to make friends with everyone. Just be friends with anyone we can connect with and feel comfortable to be around.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow!! This is such a good trait... I'm dazed.

Awwwwwn, this advice of yours is so comforting, I felt something was wrong with me, seeing that you have a daughter who is also like me as regards this and you are cool with it, is just comforting. Thanks alot for your words of advice... I really appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As introverts, we are easily feel intimidated by the world that seems to value extroversion. But our brains are wired differently than theirs and we are okay just the way we are :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having too many friends can be dangerous at times but that doesn't you should not choose the best who understands you better as a friend. Try to make a good friend who will help you positively

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, you're right... Everything has it's advantages and it's disadvantages... I'll do just that... Thanks for the words of advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe. New knowledge that you are a twin. Your brother is just like my younger sister, she's a people person. All the uncles and aunties and cousin and whatnot have her number. I do n't know how she does it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol 😂 Yeah I am...

Like really and seriously; I wonder how they do it... Maybe it's just nature for one to be social and for others to be antisocial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suppose you can say that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago