Last minute.

19 54
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Dying minute

Dying minute as the term signifies, simply means doing something at the eleventh hour, doing something very late or extremely late. (Just like having all day to do the laundries without doing it till the sun sets, and boom! You realize you don't even have what to wear for an occasion that would take place on the next day, you quickly do a few laundry and start put the damp or moist dress under the ceiling fan for a quick and easy dry).

I realized something; getting first class isn't hard in anyway, it just entails consistency. You must be consistent in your grade points, right from 100 level; down to 400 or 500 level, depending on your course of study. It's just like read.cash, getting engagements on your article just shows you are engaging on others', you just need to read theirs and comment or upvote, for most of them to visit and read yours. It's a win win situation. Why did I state this? "you need to do some certain things to secure you a first-class seat."

First class in higher institution also entails consistency, continuous reading and resilience.

Buying all textbooks, attending all classes, doing all tests well and endeavoring to submit all assignments. It's actually no big deal especially when school is for you. I said that; simply because, there are some people that might just not make it through education, they are gifted with something else, probably a skill or something, but for the ones who feel that education is all it is. Bagging a first class degree isn't hard in any way, and even if you don't feel that way, it still isn't that hard to bag a first class degree.

Why am I writing about this?.

I thought about this, this morning while I was reading or need I say (cramming) for an exam I have later in the day, and decided to use it as an article. Most of the articles I write; if you've observed are always in someway related to me. (I just love writing about my feelings and through this, I learn from myself, I see my flaws and it makes me advice myself more and probably advice others'who walks in my shoes, just by reading through what I wrote about.) That's by the way; now back to the issue on ground.

Image source: Unsplash

Consistency.

I've come to realize that in literally everything: consistency is the key. No wonder they say: Practice leads to perfection.

In singing: be consistent.

In playing an instrument: be consistent.

In writing: be consistent and read more.

In drawing: be consistent.

In dancing: be consistent.

In reading: be consistent and you'll gain more knowledge from it.

In literally everything: just be consistent.

Back to the title of this article, I'm sorry I deviated a little bit, although it was still quite related in a way.

I don't know if it's just me, but the truth is that most people love doing things at the dying minute. Writing exams and test these past few years made me realize something: the questions they set are just not as hard as some of us figure them to be. They are questions that has been taught to us, questions that are familiar, they aren't strange questions, but guess what? Some of us would still end up saying it was very difficult. Why? Because, we failed to read.

I, for one, love doing things at the dying minute, I just don't know why. Not too good; I know, but it just happens. I'm working towards a change though.

Back in school, the lecturer tells us: "there would be test next week, prepare for it, it's twenty marks."

Me to myself: Aah, thank God I still have few days to revise, atleast five days in a weekday. I can shuffle out time to read.(envisaging myself answering questions in split seconds)

Day one: nothing.

Day two: nothing.

Day three: nothing.

Day four: nothing.

Day five: nothing.

Day six, which is the day for the test; very early in the morning: (Am seen with my notebook, trying to cram it all and lamenting on the fact that I'm just reading).

Not nice.

Sometimes when I'm writing a test, and I see some questions I have no idea on. The feeling that the question is actually simple, but I was the one who decided not to read; hits me deep inside. I'll be left wondering and lamenting on the "had I known" phrase.

It's wrong, it's very wrong. Apart from reading and bagging a first class degree. In our daily routine, some of us; not all, love doing things at the dying minute. "Myself" for an example.

I want to go out on a week's journey. Instead of me to prepare ahead, it's on the Dday. The morning to the day I plan to go out that you'll see me arranging and fixing up my clothes amongst others. I've gradually started changing though.

There are lots of advantages one gets from preparing ahead.

  • Freedom from tension: A person who has thoroughly been reading; even when there was no exam, won't be tensed at all, unlike those who reads when exam is a day or two days away.

  • Would always be prepared: A person who always prepares and plans ahead would and can never be caught off guard, it could be an impromptu test, it could be a sudden call to do something. Someone who hasn't been planning and preparing ahead would end up missing out on alot of things. (Carry-overs and the likes of it).

There are so many other reasons or advantages; like minimizing uncertainties, goals are easily achieved, planning helps in achieving economics and so much more.

To wrap it all up; planning and preparing ahead is very essential to live a stress free life.

Appreciation: Special thanks to my sponsors, readers, commenters, subscribers and likers. I love and appreciate you all.

20
$ 5.81
$ 5.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.07 from @King_Gozie
+ 12
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

Many of us are victims of this situation, i mean, the eleventh hour! I could remember how we would keep books aside and get involved in other things, but when text is now tomorrow, oohh my God! Come and see marathon reading! We would even take nescafe so that we wouldn't sleep off, but it use to affect our performance. Consistency is the key we all need to have. Being consistent at something is better than trying to finish compiled task over night.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lol 😂😂 Exactly!, You just explained it all. That eleventh hour of a thing is really something else. Consistency is really the key we all need to have. It's a must to have it for greater success. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The keyword remains consistency. In everything you want to do, if consistency joins it, it becomes much more easier and worthwhile

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Consistency is key... Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am somewhat proud to myself for being consistent about few things, it's only a matter of self-descipline.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Am proud of you too... It takes a determined mind to remain consistent. "Self-discipline" that's indeed true. Thanks for reading, I'm glad to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consistency makes things easier and planning them earlier without taking an action worth nothing so once we planned we should follow our Action.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! I love that second line: "and planning them earlier without taking an action worth nothing." Deep and true. Thanks for your contribution, I sincerely appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will not win in the battle if we fight without enough weapon. Same holds through when we take an examination without even reading our notes, we expectedly failed the test.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes! That's right, I love the way you related it to a battle. Now I see test as a battle, that if one fails to prepare for; one should plan to fail (prepare to loose the battle). Thanks alot for stopping by, I really appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You see those days miss for test, you're using it to rest your brain for the test day..first class in naija university is hard o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 😂 Nigerian Universities... Even though I still feel otherwise; I'm really not sure of the kind of lecturers or professors in all schools. Thanks for stopping by to read, I really appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know but recently I wanted to pass my projects amd activities quite late. Quite late but still on the timeframe of deadline. I like what you said about consistency.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow!, I hope you were able to pass it? Oh, thanks and thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I couldn't stop reading till the end. I love your write-up💖.

Bagging a first class is not hard. One has to start working towards it from year one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks alot for stopping by, I really appreciate.

Exactly, to me; it's no big deal.. the consistency needs to be there. Thanks for your contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just shows that consistency matters in whatever we are doing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes; it does indeed. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago