Hyperhidrosis.

15 44
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

This has been so embarrassing in different times and stages of my life. I never bothered to find out the meaning or the cause; all these days. But suddenly I picked an interest, I felt it should definitely have a name, so I surfed the internet. I guess that's what writing helps out with. "It helps you to read and learn more."

I wouldn't be so sure if this is actually what I have, but it seems like I have all the symptoms of hyperhidrosis. Since I've known myself, I've always been one; who sweats excessively. (Way...above normal) I sweat:

  • On my face: This one is quite normal.

  • My butt: The type of sweat that won't allow you get up with ease from a chair, only because you are scared that people; sitting around would see the once dried chair, damp with perspiration.

  • My legs: This is the most annoying part, it comes out like drops of water, and it comes anytime... Be it when I'm standing or sittng. I can remember vividly those days when I was younger, I'll be on the assembly ground when a teacher would Imag whisper into my ears, asking if I peed on my body. I'll respond by saying: "no" and she'll just keep staring in disbelief. What about the time when my teenage coordinator quietly asked me why I didn't go to pee in the bathroom, why I peed on my body... I had smiled and told her it was perspiration... She looked with disbelief and repeated the four syllabic words.

I basically stopped using cream because of the way I sweat excessively, (using creams, always worsened the situation, I only use cream during harmattan period) I basically don't like wearing much of shoes, because whenever I sweat, it drops. My feet ends up becoming soaked and thus makes me so uncomfortable when wearing shoes, the sweat from my feet also gives my shoes a kinda odour that makes me so embarrassed when I take it off in presence of people.

Image source: Unsplash.

What is hyperhidrosis?

Google defined it as an abnormal excessive sweating that's not necessarily related to heat or exercise. You may sweat so much that it soaks through your clothes or drips off your hands. Besides disrupting normal daily activities, this type of heavy sweating can cause social anxiety and embarrassment.

I remember when we were all told that the result for second semester exam was out and would be pasted, I was so scared all of a sudden. I'm not a math kind of person, and we did "statistics" I was scared of having a "carryover" in statistics. When I finally went to check, I had seen it already ooh, I had seen that my result was good, but I couldn't help myself from sweating, my dress was soaked and perspiration kept dripping from my hands and legs. I was finally soothed when I saw my friends. That day was really an embarrassing one for me.

Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty

Thanks alot for your support.

The common areas of sweating are:

  • Armpits: Funny enough, I don't really sweat on my armpit.

  • Face

  • Palms of the hands: This happens so well.

  • Soles of the feet: I sweat here on a regular.

Causes of sweating.

Sweating is normal, it occurs in our daily living, but a variety of causes can stimulate increased sweating.

  • High temperature

  • Elevated body or environmental temperatures are the primary cause of increased sweating.

  • Emotions and stress

  • Anger

  • Fear

  • Embarrassment

  • Anxiety: This was kinda what I felt when I was trying to check my results.

  • Emotional stress

  • Foods

I sweat, even when I'm having my bath, the worst part is that I don't even really like fan.

Let me stop here, there's a whole lot to learn about hyperhidrosis. A whole lot; that I failed to mention. You could surf through the internet to grasp and understand more about it.

Happy New month to we all, today is April 1st, 2022. The clock keeps ticking, hours are turning days, days are turning weeks, weeks are turning months... Soon we'll be shouting "Happy New Year."

Thanks to @Aimure, reading his article two days back, made me understand some features of read.cash. I completely had no idea of it before. If you noticed, the way I edited my write-up has changed a bit.

And lastly:

Thanks for reading.

9
$ 1.61
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @George_Dee
$ 0.08 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 7
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

Oh damn! 😂 I think I have it too, I use to sweat alot from my armpit, forehead, my back, cheat and body. It's so annoying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My goodness!! Really?? Now I can just imagine how embarrassing that would be. It has always been so embarrassing for me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is. I hate myself sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sweating is normal and can be excessive due to different reasons, I do that a lot when in a hot environment and sometimes get dizzy it becomes unbearable for me.

I do take my bath 2-4 times daily just to keep myself clean, allowing sweat to stay too long can make the body develop a permanent body odor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! 2-4 times daily! Now, that's a whole lot of body hygiene. Nice one Sir, I should start doing this too and yes, it really makes one's body develop permanent body odour

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me start by wishing you; Happy new month.

Some excessive sweat can be natural and some can be as a result of medical conditions. The most important thing is try to observe what your body likes and dislike.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for the well wishes. Happy New month to you too. Good to have you here. Uhhm... You're right, I'll start observing my body properly. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I had issues but yours is way worse. I sweat excessively on my palms and feet even in cold temperature but not all the time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! In cold temperature... I've also had a feel of that before. Most people usually wonder why I hardly ever feel cold... And nope, I'm pretty sure you're fine and have no issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably, your hypothalamus ( a thermostatic knob) located at inside the forebrain is unusually hyperactive, hence the excessive secretion of sweat from the pores. You'd be fine, you might want to see the doctor if it makes you feel uncomfortable

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm awed, you're so good in science, I am honestly learning alot from you... Does this mean that it's natural to sweat excessively? I think I should, it really does make me so uncomfortable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's natural my dear. I also sweat excessively from the face and under the arm. However it's recommended for you to see a doctor to ascertain and rule out any underlying condition. Be ready assured that there's no cause for panic 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for the words of assurance and your caring contribution. I'll definitely see a doctor to rule it out. Thanks once again Bilquees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eeyah, sorry about the type of health you have. Will I say you should be going around with that rotary mobile fan to save you a bit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol 😂😂

You ehn 😂 I doubt if that fan would help, I should probably move around with a standing fan... "But it's heavy and not portable" (sobs)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, your body is probably telling you that you are meant to live in the temperate regions, and not the tropics. Canada, The Scandinavian countries perhaps. I am glad my article was helpful, and you've started implementing it in your write ups

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Abi? You're right ooh, maybe Nigeria is not for me, lol 😂 Yes, it was so helpful. I'm grateful for it

$ 0.00
2 years ago