Dehydration.

8 45
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

It's Sunday and it's a new week, wishing you all; a blissful and productive week ahead.

This week is going to be really hectic for me,but if I manage my time properly; I should still be able to post and engage on people's beautiful articles. My first semester exams would fully kick off this week, I can only pray for grace. I deeply hope that it doesn't turn out like last semester's examination, where some people died during exam period, some fainted in the exam Hall, some people missed out on writing their papers due to one thing or the other and so many more I can't remember. I'm grateful to God for his mercy and Grace.

Special Appreciation: I should have done this earlier, I'm sorry I failed in that. I deeply want to express my gratitude to my sponsors. They are really awesome; thanks for trusting me and thanks a bunch for your support. @MichaelBCH @thelostadult95 @Tomi-Ajax they are really great people,you should check out their articles.

Dehydration.

Last week Sunday was medical Sunday; it was an awesome Sunday and all what was said was really enlightening and insightful, I should have written this article last week but I couldn't due to "part-time schooling" stress. All what I'm going to write today is purely what I was taught on Sunday, I would really be glad to see your contribution to this topic. We learn everyday.

What is dehydration?.

Dehydration, simply put; is when your intake of water is lesser than the water that goes out of your body system. Or better still, dehydration is when you're loosing more water than you're taking in.

In my country, bottled water has increased by times two of the initial amount, and soft drink has reduced in size but it's still the same amount to purchase a bottle water. Most times; when I'm inside the bus and I'm really thirsty, if I don't see an hawker who sells sachet water, I don't bother purchasing it; instead I usually opt for soft drink. Normally; my mentality is that I can get sachet water (half the price of bottled water) and it would even have more quantity than the bottled water itself. Whenever I see people purchasing bottled water, I keep wondering: "why can't they purchase soft drink instead? At least it tastes better than water."

The teaching on Dehydration, last week Sunday; completely changed my thinking faculty. I now understand perfectly well that "water has no substitute" once you're thirsty and you feel the need to drink water, get it and drink it, don't replace it with soft drink or any other all because they are all liquid substances.

Dehydration can affect anybody and it has different stages:

  • Mild dehydration.

  • Moderate dehydration.

  • Severe dehydration.

Features of dehydration.

  • Eyes: Sunken in eyes.

  • Tears: when a child cries but tears aren't coming out of the child's eyes.

  • Mouth and tongue appears dry.

  • Fast breathe.

  • Constipation.

  • Dizziness.

  • Skin looks dry.

He further spoke about severe dehydration and what he said here made me to wander back; enough to remember pulling my mum's skin and watching it slowly go back to normal. Immediately I learnt this, I phoned her to tell her to start drinking enough water. When we met; I stylishly pulled her skin again and it didn't go back slowly.

I was glad.

If you pull your skin and it goes back; slowly, it's severe dehydration.

Dehydration.
Source: Unsplash

We loose water from our body system when we sweat, urinate, cry, spit, breathe, talk... etc.

The main cause of dehydration is poor fluid intake. When we don't take enough water. I remember when I was still in the game of teaching, a parent always complained about her child.

What was the complaint about?.

Parent: Chizaram likes water, I don't know why? She drinks water too much and that's why she is always going to the toilet to urinate.

Me: I noticed it ma'am, every second; Chizaram is struggling with her bag, to take out her bottle and drink water. I can't even count the number of times she comes to me; telling me, she wants to drink water. When her water gets exhausted, you'll see her fighting with the water bottle, just to figure out if an invisible amount of water can pour out. And when nothing comes out. She comes back to me, telling me she her water is exhausted and she wants to drink water.

Chizaram.

I actually never understood then, but I understand it now. All of a sudden I'm glad she loves drinking water.

How to treat dehydration?

  • Drink water.

  • Drink enough water.

  • The quantity of water you take should increase; depending on the activity.

  • Just drink water.

Appreciation: Thanks to everyone: "my subscribers, sponsors, upvoters, likers and commenters." I love and appreciate you all."

12
$ 4.91
$ 4.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 3
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

This is an eye-opener, I have to step up my daily intake of water. Thank you Ellawrites.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're very much welcome dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not fond of soft drinks, i drink it very seldom but my problem is, i drink a little amount of water each day. Thank you for this additional reminder. I already started drinking atleast 8 glasses a day and this is an additional inspiration for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love this: "drinking soft drinks seldomly." Oh yes, water is very important. I'm glad you've started taking more of it recently. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am starting to develop the habit of replacing soft drinks with bottled water. It more of a psychological play of tricking my mind to accepting the water instead by feeling the plastic bottle and thinking "This is expensive water, I should enjoy every bit of it" sugar is terrible and we take too much of it, especially in form of soft drinks. Good luck in your exams, may you excel

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, yes! That's just it. I'm glad you've started doing that. You've really buttressed on the point. Sugar is terrible and truly we take too much of it. Thanks for stopping by. Amen!, Thanks for the good wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dehydration isn't good at all, it could negatively affect our body system. We have to drink water satisfactorily, especially in this dry season. Indeed, water is life! Your article is educative, thanks for it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It isn't good in any way. Thanks for stopping by, I sincerely appreciate your contribution.

Thanks... Kenth

$ 0.00
2 years ago