Wandering In A Ghost Town

37 101
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

It's been almost 3 weeks of wandering in this place where I call a ghost town now. Everything seems so unfamiliar. No more familiar faces. No more laughing voices. Children are no longer playing. Adults have gone mad or lonely, or worse, they've gone crazy.

I am still stuck in this place I call a ghost town. I want to leave. No. I want to stay, because at some point, I have loved this place already. It has been my home for the last three weeks. But even if I want to stay, this place that opened its doors for me to build my own identify, seems like it doesn't want me to be here anymore.

I keep wandering. I keep searching for the people who were once there for me in the beginning of this journey. I know they are still there. They are still watching. They still want to see me grow, to become the person I want to be.

Five years ago, I was looking for this small town, where I can freely share my thoughts, my ideas, my stories, my opinions. For five years, I kept searching. I know I wasn't consistent, but deep down in my heart, I knew I was looking for this place. And just three weeks ago, I finally found it. This town let me to be myself. It let me walk freely along the streets, without being scared that someone will judge me if I come out and share this person hiding inside of me, who has been wanting to come out all these years.

Photo credit to Unsplash

She did come out. She was able to show what she has been wanting to show. And that was all made possible because this place that I call a ghost town now, let me. It let me without any restrictions and hesitations. I was happy. I felt loved. I felt appreciated. I felt the warmth and support of this small town to me.

For the last three weeks, I felt so excited to wake up every morning to greet all of these people I come across with in this small town. It was small, but the love and support of the people living in it are bigger than you can imagine. Everyone was busy building their own houses. I myself were also busy building mine.

Everyone in this small time was willing to lend their helping hands to every individual who needed it. In my twenty years of living, it was my first time to see a community so loving, so pure and genuine that I thought I was too late to become a part of it.

Photo credit to Unsplash.

But I became a part of it. I am lucky. No. I am blessed because even if I was only here for a short period of time, I met a lot of people whom I feel proud to say that they are my friends now. They are a part of my family that I don't want to lost if I leave this place. They made my stay in this place into a colorful adventure. My stay was full of cupcakes and rainbows. They made my stay full of amazing surprises. My stay might be short, but it was meaningful, and fulfilling.

There were celebrations of small victories, accomplishments and milestones. There were grand events for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. And there were parties exclusively made for the new members of this small community. These amazing people welcomed every person who wanted to be a part of this small town, and embraced them with open arms. And I am happy because I was able to experience these kind of events.

Not only did they celebrate happiness within this small town, but they also acknowledged the mistakes they did in the past. They embraced their flaws and imperfections. They might have learned their lessons through the hard way, but what matters is they learned and moved on. Not only did they celebrate successes, but they also acknowledged all of their problems and trials that they encountered along their way. They accepted the fact that failures were there to make them stronger in life. That is why I am proud to say that I belong and I live in this small town.

Photo credit to unsplash.

Sadly, a disaster wrecked this small town. It wasn't a tornado, or a typhoon that destroyed this colorful place. From being a colorful and happy town, it became dull and lonely. The way I see it, this place has been abandoned by its people.

It is not how it used to be. Just a week ago, it was crowded, and a lot of events are happening in this place. And I can't help but to wonder, where are the people in this community now? Are they gone? Did they transfer to a different place? Have they found their new home? Did they leave just like that without even saying goodbye to this place that accepted them and nurtured them?

But no. It's not really an abandoned town. The people who really love and treasure this place are still there. They are still sharing their stories to the people who are interested to listen to them. They are still watching with each other to grow and become the best version of themselves. They are still there being productive and motivated to make this town a better place for its people.

And just like them, I am also here. I am still here because this place promised me to keep me and never let me go. I am still here because this place gave me warm hugs and kisses, even if I didn't like them before. I am still here because I have a purpose to be here, and the thought of fulfilling that purpose is what keeps me going. I must admit, not being able to see the people I used to see makes me sad, but life must go on.

It doesn't feel the same anymore. I know, it will not go back to how it used to be. But I still have high hopes that this place will be a better place to live in. I have high hopes that one day, living in this small place doesn't feel like wandering in a ghost town anymore.

So if you are still there with me, if you are still holding on to the promise of a better community, let us all grab each other's hand and never let anyone left behind.

51
$ 4.19
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Yen
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Hindi na talaga katulad dati. Sumabay pa ang pag resume ng mga online orientation namin kaya busy at may inaatupag na kunting investment. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all may inaatupag na investment. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maliit lang naman friend at palakasan ng loob. Paying a naman siya 3 beses na ako nakatanggap payment. yong kita ko dito yong ininvest ko. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good to know. Hahaha! When I was new in the crypto world way back 2017, daming HYIP na sumusulpot dati eh. Yes, they pay, but after how many days, nawawala na sila bigla.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tama, kaya palakasan ng loob hahaha. wala kasing mangyayari kong hindi ka mag take ng risk. hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. The higher the risk, the higher the return. Good luck with your investment. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi kana tumataya sa mga ganun ngayon?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not anymore. I do trading nalang, that way, I get to calculate my loses and my gains.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi ako marunong mag trading eh. Hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buy low, sell high. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nood ako tutorial sa YouTube. saan maganda mag trading?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's a group of Filipino traders sa Facebook, and they're all trading on Binance. Try to join the group to learn more about trading. It's called Binance Filipino.

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've have just spoken the mind of many of not numerous writers here. If the system is such that your articles must be exceedingly good to get upvotes via the new system, the reaction that you're seeing is not unexpected as people will want to put in lots of efforts to post something good. However what happens if after all the efforts and no upvote or comment is received? I can tell you disenfranchised writers. It is only human for people to want to get some sort of appreciation for their efforts no matter how little. I hope the algorithm of the random rewarder may be modified to be a little bit more human like. My 2 cents.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Sadly, it will never happen. Because it is a robot who doesn't have any feelings. Haha! And I think this has been a part of their plan all along.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

People come and go and the feeling of being left behind is really sad but we need to move on and focus on the reason why we choose to stay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But the question is, is it still worth it to stay if you feel like you don't belong here anymore? Hmm.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As long as there is this feeling that holds you from leaving then maybe you still have this purpose. It may not be clear for now but for sure God will show and send you answers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so this is what you're talking about. I guess if this will continue to happen, a month from now, no more commenters, just publishers.. just like on publishox, because of free tips, readers aren't reading but just giving tips

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sadly, it will be like that. I was also on publish0x, but I never liked the community there, because there was no one to talk to. This is why I chose to be more active here because there are real users who are free to express their thoughts. Now, they're all gone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was a clever post...well done!

I'm sorry to hear about your experience on P0x...it has changed a lot recently, with many new users joining. I admit it was a bit impersonal for a long time, but I stuck with it, and there are good conversations taking place there. It's still focused on crypto-related topics, but I would like to support others.

Upvoted!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. It is focused on crypto topics. I did not even receive a single genuine comment, but its fine, so I already left. Maybe, I will do the same here too if no one will ever try to interact with me anymore. Hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too.. no one is reading, just after the tips

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have the feeling that they ignore me more than abandonment, I still read articles of which I once shared more than one comment, in fact I continue to comment on the articles that are interesting to me, but the comments are no longer in mine of my people, my readfriends as I call them. I will continue as before publishing daily and commenting on the work of others, thank God the bot has behaved well with me, but I still miss the interaction with other users.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I feel the same way. Or maybe, other users who used to be active on our comment section before are already discouraged to write comments as they know they will never benefit from it. I still read and comment on articles that I find interesting, too, even if the author doesn't respond to them. Haha! Sadly, there will be no more interactions on the comment section anymore. :( And sadly, the bot hasn't noticed me yet. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't worry friend, you will hear from the bot soon. Keep doing your good work here as always, I am one who enjoys reading your post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww. Thank you so much. I will try my best, and hopefully, the bot will visit my articles too. Hihi Thank you for your encouraging words. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Youยดre welcome ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yaayy.. tatanungin q sana qng nasaan ung actual photo, sasabihin q sana na matatapos din si kovid dahil for once naging ghost town din ang amin.

ang advantage ng pagbabasa, un nsa huli pala ang tunay na ghost town. nakovid na din etong komunidad na to, prang ayaw na nilang lumabas at bka lng masasayang ang effort.. namiss q din ung interaction

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! Akala ko nga din parang papuntang Covid na ung sinusulat ko kanina eh. Pero dedicated talaga to sa mga tao dito. Hahaha Kaya nga po eh. Nakakamiss makabasa ng iba ibang point of view galing sa mga users. Sadly, nawala na halos silang lahat. :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kaya nga ey... pag aq d mkakuha man lng ng $ hanggang mag expyr ang data q, give up na din aq๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Halla. Huwag naman po. Haha! Pero ganun din iniisip ko eh. Sabi ko hanggang nitong weekend lang. Kapag wala parin, tama na. Hahahaha Pero laban lang. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought it was a place but after reading the last paragraph , I knew it.

I will stay and hold on to the promise and let's help each other for better community. I love this.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I wanted to write it direct to the point po, but I missed writing something like this. Haha Indeed, let us all help hand in hand for a better community. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amg cool nga e. I've been imagining a different places and I ask myself if I am write until I read the end and boom. Ang galing. hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wow. Haha Thank you for appreciating it po. That means a lot :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago