Turning 22 in 2 Months!

32 48
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Birthday, 22

And just like that, I'm turning 22 years old in just 2 months!

Where did the months even go? How did the days and weeks go so fast? What did I do all these years? Did I just waste so much time doing nothing?

They say time flies when you are having fun. But did I even have so much fun after I celebrated my 21st birthday? I think I did have fun but I can count in my fingers about how many times did I went out of my den, and hang out with my friends.

Birthdays are special to me. Each year, I would look forward to better days and months that I will spend here on Earth. I would set goals that I aim to achieve.

However, every time another year is added to my age, it's like another baggage is also added to the weight I am carrying on my shoulders. Expectations would arise from left and right, not just from my parents and other people, but mostly from myself. Doubt about my capabilities would also surround me and fear of the future and the unknown will haunt me down if I will ever get to achieve my goals in life.

I remember when I just entered the teenage life, at 13 years old, back in my Grade 7 days, I was so eager and excited to finally turn 18 years old because that's the legal age. I thought that when I finally reach that age, I would then be free to do whatever I want because, by that time, I will be in college already. I will have the freedom to drink some alcoholic beverages (but I only got to drink one this July of 2021), and have an official boyfriend that I will introduce to my parents. (Oh, those ignorant thoughts when I was younger that until now, I haven't found any worthy man. Char!)

I thought that just like what I have watched in movies, when I turn 18, I could live independently already, look for a part-time job while studying in college, and just rely on myself. After that, I thought once I had already turned in my 20s, I will then become an established person who is slowly fulfilling her dreams and goals in life. When I was 14, I thought I will have a better life in my 20s.

And just by thinking that I'm already in my early 20s while reminiscing those years where I dreamed to be in my legal age and 20s already, I can't help but ask and assess myself of what did I do all these years. Then I would also remember that I spent my entire life studying from Elementary up to College. And that I was also busy doing the hustle and grind to actually achieve some of my goals.

Surely, in my 21 years of existence, I have experienced a lot of trials, challenges, and difficulties already that tore my heart apart, broke me down, and made my soul crushed, but also made me into a better, stronger, and wiser person.

However, there will always be a childish side of me that I think will never mature, and I'd like to keep it that way. I don't want to get old and grumpy as the time and years pass by. Hahaha!

Others would say that being in your 20s is still young so it's okay to commit mistakes, and I agree with it. However, sometimes, I feel that it's already old enough to not afford committing mistakes.

As someone who has been following a certain schedule and has a lot of expectations that I need to achieve at a certain age, I can't help but blame myself for the heavy load of expectations and disappointments that I'm carrying. Perhaps, it's because this is just how I molded myself and who I really am.

"What is life to offer me when I grow old?"

This is a lyric from the song that my papa always sings and it always hits me every time I hear it.

I'm turning 22 in 2 months, and in these 2 months, I am not sure if I will get to achieve some of the goals I have set for myself this year. And as another year will be added to my age, I can't avoid the pressure that comes from within.

Life is neither a race nor a competition. It doesn't matter if at what age will you be able to fulfill the goals and dreams you have. What matters is you keep going and never back down. Be deaf and don't listen to the people, and even to that inner voice who keeps giving pressure on you. Just take your time.

17
$ 5.83
$ 5.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Birthday, 22

Comments

Happy birthday in advance ma'am 🎉🎉. Wag ma disappoint sa sarili if hindi nagawa lahat ng goals ngayong taon. Enjoy lang ang buhay lahat tayo nag kakamali

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Thank you po. True din. Enjoy at chill lang dapat. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is really flying fast talaga .. I hope that your journey before turning 22 is awesome and I'm hoping also that you will have a awesome journey .after you turned to 22.. Well happy birthday in advance and let the bch community celebrate with you hehe more bch to come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Time is flying. Nakaturbo pa yata. Hahahaha 🤣 Thank you. Sana maachieve ang goal before mag-22. Lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maachieve iyan ..basta don't stop and don't give up ..20 Bch na ba hehe. Go for the goals.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a person who is 36 in age, let me advise you, you still have a lotttttt of time to have fun... BUT, remember to make yourself priority... pleaseee..... I actually cannot stress this enough... you should work for YOU and YOUR happiness alone... sounds selfish, but it will b worth it when you attain your 30s

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not until Covid is gone. 🤣 But yeah. Thanks for the advise. Hihi I thought you were only in your late 20s tho. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amennnn to that sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its very nice that you learn this lesson in your early age before its too late as we knows it very well that moving towards senior age the so called burden usually increases and if from early age our shoulder won't be tough enough to bear the burden then we won't be able to achieve any prominent success in life, we'll remaining complain and complain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true tho. Challenges make our shoulders stronger. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!!

That's really a year that'd you have to make some decisions that'd determine your achievement in life, congrats

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very special event is coming up and it is time to celebrate it very well. You have set many goals, you are a girl who strives hard to maintain success, that's very good, I congratulate you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. You still have time to prepare some gifts. Joke. 🤣 Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance young lady just enjoy and have fun, habang bata ka pa samantalahin mong gawin yung mga bagay na gusto mong mangyare sa BUHAY mo dahil pag nag kapamilya ka na Ng sarili may mga bagay ka nang di magagawa gaya nung single ka pa, enjoy lang at huwag nagmamadali hinay hinay lang.😊❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you po. Wala pa naman akong balak magpamilya. Naghahanap pa ako ng jojowain eh. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

22 sounds so cool and fun and so happy you are a December born. December born are as cool as we October born too. Trust me, there are so many things you will enjoy in life... Just take it one year at a time. There is no true freedom but maturity is of the mind. We live and learn as we grow and go through life.

Let me be the first to say Happy Birthday in advance... Hopefully I am the first 😂🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! We are cool people then. 🤣 I agree with you tho. You're not the first but thanks still. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂🤣🤣. I look forward to that day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to know that hurdles you faced throughout all these years,has turned you to be wise and strongest being, and now it's good to know that you are turning 22 soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, life made me wiser. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you’ll be millionaire before turn 22. Best wishes for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I hope so too. 😹 Thanks. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks my my dear @eirolfeam is becoming a nig girl..lol.. I wish you a happy birthday in advance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! I'm already a big girl. 🤣 Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you're becoming a bigger girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, PVM. 😹💝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance happy birthday po. Ee shouldn't pressure ourselves just because we're growing. Take it slow

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's true. Thank you. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you in advance May your life be beautiful dear Have a wonderful day God bless you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. 😹💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago