Pressured to Look for Work

33 49
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Work

I have been pressuring myself for days or even weeks now because I learned that some of my classmates in college are already looking for work and some are even already hired and working, while I, on the other hand, still has no clue on what I really want to do with my life.

I am already in my final semester in college and only just a few months from now, I'll be graduating already. Just like what I always say, I'm so excited to graduate because I will finally be free from the stress of college life, where I won't have to attend classes anymore and no need to review for upcoming exams, and finish requirements.

However, being free from the stress of college life also means that I'll be facing another stressful reality, and that is the "adulting" stage of life.

After graduating from college, we are expected to immediately look for a job because it is now the time to pay back the sacrifices of our parents. We have to work because there are bills that we need to pay and we have goals that we want to achieve. We also have to start thinking and preparing for the future as well so that we won't have anything to worry about anymore once we get old.

I myself have a lot of dreams that I want to become a reality. I want to travel around the Philippines and even to foreign countries. I want to have my own house located near the sea. I want to provide for my parents and give them a more comfortable life. And in order for them to be accomplished, I need money, tons of it. And to have money, I need to look for work that will give me reasonable compensation.

However, when I was still in my early years in college and even now, I told myself that I will give myself a year off to think and plan about my life. To decide on what really do I plan to pursue after graduating from college. I want to rest for a year first before I face this reality of life. That is why I don't want to think about applying for a job and working yet.

However, hearing my group mates always talking about their experiences of applying and the excitement they have when they are already hired just stresses me out. Some of my batch mates also started working already.

It's not that I am not happy for them because they are just seizing every opportunity they could get, and they're starting to conquer their dreams too. It's just that I'm quite pressured and I can't help but compare myself to them.

That is why I started to look for work already, even just an online job. Since I have previous experience of being a freelance writer and I've been blogging on this platform for almost 2 years now, I decided to apply to some of the writing jobs posted on a Facebook group related to freelance writing. I think it's a good start for me to look for writing positions since I have experience in this field.

However, after about a dozen of applications that I have sent to those job ads and some virtual interviews that I have attended, I'm still not yet hired for a full-time job. Luckily, my former client has already responded and she said she'll give me some projects in the coming days. At least, I have one client now who may give me possible gigs to work on.

For now, I'll just keep on hustling in the crypto-verse, especially blogging here on read.cash and on noise.cash. I'll try to make money out of crypto first until I could find a full-time job.

Well, this is just another article sharing my thoughts and dilemmas on being a graduating college student. If only I could be a student for life but the reality says otherwise.

Anyway, I just really want to live a chill and care-free life so who cares about what other people would say. If they'll be disappointed in me for being jobless in the future, then good for them because they have so much time in their hands minding about other people's life. I'll just live my life according to my own terms.

16
$ 4.36
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Work

Comments

Kaya huwag mo muna stress ang sarili mo sis kasi mas maraming strees ka pang haharapin once na nakahanap ka ng work. Enjoyin mo muna ang bawat sandali kasi kapag dumating kana sa point na nagwowork kana sure iba naman ang masasabi mo sis.😁😁 adulting is waving.πŸ‘‹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Laging may masasabi ano po. Pero mas okay na siguro ung stressed ka sa work pero may income kesa stressed ka nga pero wala namang pera. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko nga din alam kung may work ba ako after the graduation, kasi for sure yung expectations ng iba. Pero I will live my life sa ano lang yung kaya ko and of course kung ano yung gusto ko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Kasi buhay mo naman yan tapos audience lang sila kaya let's choose what makes us happy. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing my batchmates back then getting their jobs makes me worried about my dreams also. I was once pressured too. But it's okay dear, I am sure that you can ace yours soon. Don't be too hard on yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I hope so. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po hindi pa man graduating this year pero pressured na po mag work hahhahha. Anyway makakahanap din po kayo ng work nyo nyan as soon as possible, magaling naman po kayo kaya I believe makakakita din po kayo ng work nyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pero ayoko din kasi magwork pa eh. Hahaha! Sana nga para di na ako tambay. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy ganun po, sabagay para makapag pahinga po muna at makapag isip isip. May work naman kayo etong read eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh eonnie adulting is really hitting you now hirap pa namn mag hanap ngayon ng trabaho anyways good luck po

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Kaya tambay muna ako sa crypto world. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Third year college and I’m afraid to be on the same place you’re in right now. But i believe things will get clearer soon. I think it’s time to break some norms and follow what you want to do in your life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. We have to live for ourselves so just follow what makes you happy. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako nga mag 3rd year pa lang pressured na din ihh...

Lagi mo iupdate ang jobstreet mo pati linked in. Mostly doon ka talaga makakakuha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo. Maghahanap nga ako ng clients sa LinkedIn. Sana may mahanap. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano nga ulit course mo bhie??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Business Ad.- Marketing. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhhh magka dept pala din tayo Hr hereeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have experience when I finished college and got a bachelor's degree there was a lot of pressure because of the encouragement of family and other people because their expectation of a graduate was success so if I didn't get a job I would be bullied so I kept trying it took a long time for the process. just to remind you not to give up and keep trying because there are times when you will fail. stay consistent and don't give up, that's all my friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mong stressin sarili mo sis. Makakahanap ka din soon. Darating din ang time na magkaroon ka rin ng trabaho. Nauna lang ng konti ang ibang kaklase mo. We have our own time 'ika nga. May pinagkikitaan ka din naman sa ngayon. So, wag masyadong ipressure sarili mo. Tatanda ka ng wala sa oras nyan.hihi joke lang😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True din. Hahaha! Kaya nga namumuti na din buhok ko eh. 🀧🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been in this situation too but as you think deeply life is not a race to chase. I've realized that truly life is short and it should need to enjoy every moment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I agree po. We just need to enjoy life because we don't even know when it will end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well if you have bigger dreams and goals then write them down, you will definitely need side hustles if you are going for the big as only work in jobs won't help you much in achieving dreams. I hope you are getting me as jobs are enough for basic needs and survival but ask yourself if that's what you want for now or you want to go for something bigger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Yes, I get your point. Ehe! I guess I'll just have a lot of side hustles intended for every goal that I want to achieve. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the plight of every youth. With every stage of life, we just want to get out of it and rest, forgetting that when we finish one stage, we have to move to another. Anyways, I'm sure you'll get an online job soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. Every time a chapter closes, another chapter begins. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't feel pressure because there is a time where God will be given you a perfect time for everything. Just enjoy your life becuase if You have already work you will feel also that its better to be a student vice versa-...enjoy have a full blast to your life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. Ehe! I'll just enjoy every single day of my life. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the same way lately,pressured too much pressured .But as for you,you are about to finished your studies,at the right time you can have a job.We have our own time frame,you classmates maybe have already in their timezones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I agree with that. We have our own timelines to follow so no need to be pressured. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes even if we say so,that no pressure,but still we are having a struggle on that,just take it easy,and do what you can ,which is best for you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago