How Greedy Can You Be?

29 70
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Greed, Money, Trading, Crypto

It's so easy to claim that we are not greedy people. We just have to say it, no need to prove it, and it is up to others to believe it or not.

However, when we analyze ourselves, when we think and assess up to the deepest corners of our heart and mind, and examine our actions, we would end up questioning and doubting if we are really not greedy people.

According to a popular dictionary (Merriam Webster Dictionary),

Greed is a selfish and excessive desire for more of something (such as money) than is needed.

Being selfish makes us greedy. Wanting to have more and more of what we already have and need even makes us more greedy. But there is no one but ourselves who can tell how much do we exactly need because, sometimes, "too much" for others is "just enough" for us.

Perhaps, it's because of different social statuses and lifestyles, or beliefs that one ends up being a greedy person. It also depends on the goals we want to achieve and the dreams we want to come true.

I remember, in one of the financial books I have read before, specifically the book of Chinkee Tan's "For Richer, for Poorer: Why the rich get richer and the poor get poorer", Chinkee says there that it is not just the rich people who are sometimes being greedy, but also the poor people because both of them think that they don't have enough yet in life.

Being in the crypto-verse has opened my eyes to a wide range of opportunities on how to make more money through cryptocurrencies.

There is read.cash and other blogging platforms where you can earn BCH and other cryptos just by writing articles. There is noise.cash and other social media platforms where you can make money through your content. And there is also Decentralized Finance where you can earn passive income just by farming and staking your coins. Lastly, there is crypto trading, the most crucial of them all when it comes to being greedy, where you can make more money out of your capital or lose it all in just a snap.

I have been trading for some time now and there is a basic rule of "Buying Low and Selling High" to make the most profit out of this activity. Trading is really simple and you can make more money from it if you already know how it works. But trading can also uncover the dark reality of how greedy we can be.

"I should have sold all of it when the price was still high and now the price is starting to dump."

"I should have waited a little longer before buying because the price is now dumping."

"I should have bought the coin when it was still low and now I can't buy it anymore because it's pumping."

"I should have just held my cryptos than selling them too early."

"I'm already 10x profit but I'll hold for now because it might pump more."

Do these lines ring a bell? If you have been in the crypto-verse for quite some time now and also crypto trading on the side, you probably have heard or read these words somewhere else. Perhaps, you were also the one who have said these lines.

I have also said these lines so many times already, especially when the possible profit was too much and out of my imagination. Regret would eat me alive whenever I see the coin I've held for so long starting to pump after selling it. I also regret not selling my bags when they reached their all-time highs because that would have been life-changing money.

However, when I think about it, it's greed that's talking and controlling my thoughts. I regret it because it would have given me more profit but wanting more leads to being greedy.

It's hard to control your greed when you are trading because we want and need more money to fulfill our other goals in life. However, it's not healthy so I have been trying to practice "not looking back" on the coins I have held, sold, and bought, and just keep heading forward and keep looking for more opportunities that will generate more profits.

I have said it before and I will say it again, there's nothing wrong with wanting to have more in life as long as you are happy and contented with the things you currently have. It's not being greedy if all you want is just to have a better life. But control your greed in trading so everything will go in your favor. Lols! (I don't know how to end this and if this is a sensible ending. 🀣)

Thanks for reading!

16
$ 8.00
$ 7.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Greed, Money, Trading, Crypto

Comments

Sameeee. Honestly, may mga times talaga na feeling ko is ang selfish ko. Not most of the time, pero nangyayari talaga. Like kapag nanghihingi ng foods sila sibs pero ayaw kong bigyan kasi gutom ako or ano, kahit na alam ko na possible na nagugutom din sila that time. Another thing na gusto kong iimprove pa sa sarili ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti nalang talaga din wala akong kapatid na kaagaw sa pagkain. Kung hindi, may world war 3 lagi. Hahahaha! 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay jusme, si sis pa naman 'yung tipo na di ka titigilan. πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈπŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa man din nababasa sa title pa lang while having coffee and sandwich and 3 tea cakes in front of ne while at work, made me question myself, am I being too greedy? I guess I am hahaha. But I know this greed you talking about does not pertain to food lol Ako yata ang laging napagiiwanan ng katakawan sa crypto kasi more on loss ako palagi. 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grabe po. Ang dami nyan. Pero pakabusog lang. Sabi nga, kumain hanggat may makain. Hahaha! 🀣 Same po. Tapos ngayon, duguan na naman ang market. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too much is not good for us. Although I can't deny the fact that there are times that I want more than what I have right now. I am too ambitious to the point that I am hurting myself sometimes because most of the time I fail.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here. Being ambitious also makes us greedy but there's nothing wrong with wanting what we think we deserve. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm i think we all can be greedy especially when it comes to our needs. I found myself here hehe but the most important is that we should always put an appreciation to everything we got. We need to stay positive and keep moving

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with that. Let's learn to be appreciative and contented.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah let's be ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tend to think that the term "greed" gets too much of a bad name. Not all greed is good. But MOST greed IS good. It is not selfish to want to advance one's financial status in life or to want to be successful, which the latter part often provides for more money. It is also not selfish to want to retain the wealth you achieve and expect others to find similar paths to attain their own riches, nor is it selfish to not feel sorry for someone who has not figured that out and does not have the same means as you do.

I DO agree that poor people can be just as greedy as rich people can. But there is something about money MANY people DO NOT UNDERSTAND about the rich.

It's often times not about the money for them.

Yep. That's a fact. Think about it this way. A guy like Jeff Bezos, being the richest man in the world does not stop working. In fact, he works harder. For him it is not about the money. It's about the risks, and the challenges, and about the personal satisfaction of being in business, starting new ventures, and achieving more success. The money is simply an after-product of that.

Not to disparage poor people, but many of them lack drive. It's part of the reason they are poor. Consider Jeff Bezos again. Does he have to work? No. Not hardly. He could have stopped at his first couple of million and said screw it, I'm done. But regardless of his means he just keeps going. And MOST rich people do that.

They keep working. Because again, it's not about the money.

Take a poor person who wins the lottery. What is their FIRST desire? To stop working. Poor and rich are really not financial situations. They are mindsets, and those mindsets determine whether or not someone will be rich or poor. The poor see money as a means to an end whereas the rich see money as something that just happens as a result of the efforts they make to achieve their far-reaching goals to succeed.

Another difference between the rich and the poor is how they view things. For them nothing is too complicated to learn. They make every effort to learn how to do things. They never say things are impossible. They never believe the 'system' is rigged against them. AND they view rich people as an example of what is possible, not view them as evil, greedy people who don't care about anything but money.

Again, for the rich, it's not about the money. MANY people cannot wrap their head around that idea, and a lot of times it is to their own detriment.

Interestingly enough, MANY poor people who become rich through things like sports, music, or acting tend to have one common trait.

They lack generosity and become EXTREMELY greedy, UNLIKE most business people. Athletes, movie stars, and musicians who get rich tend to live very lavish lives, and do everything they can to keep as much money as possible, while businessmen are extremely philanthropic, create jobs, and even create products and services that make everyone's life easier and better and more enjoyable.

Just my two cents.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow. This should've been an article. Lols! But I agree with everything you said. And it also summarizes the book I read about For Richer For Poorer. It is indeed a mindset. Poor people tend to have limiting beliefs about money while the rich have a growth mindset.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I should probably look that book up. Sounds like a good read.

As for my comments, sometimes they can become a bit wordy. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di maiiwasan ang pagiging greedy since tayong lahat ay may pangangailangan. Ang importante matuto lang tayo mag-appreciate ng mga bagay-bagay at magiging kontento.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree po. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe tinamaan yata ako don sa buy low sell high na yan hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buy high sell low po nangyayari minsan. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Niahahaha madalas oo wrong timing ako hahaha 30k+ aqo nong bumili eh waaahhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no perfect entry and exit so whatever profit we should have in trading should always be appreciated

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah because profit is profit no matter the amount. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagine myself with this Langga even I didn't enter in the world of trading. I think all of us feel that way. We feel greedy when it comes of trading since the only thoughts in our mind is we need some money for our needs.

The reason also we loss since we feel greed. We make sure that we make a right decision but indeed fail. I know it happens a lot. Always remember everything happens for a purpose and stay positive whatever what the result.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree po. We tend to be greedy because of our needs. But control lang para di mapasobra. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga dapat we learn on how to balance it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ko sa mga line Kasi relate hahaha

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Daming relate po jaan. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the profit goes 10x I will defo sell a share and invest in something new

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I should apply this. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I am greedy. Haha. I am doing trading right now and sometimes even if I can see the profit already, I just cant stop until its all gone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, same case here. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago