Hog Raising Business: Is It Profitable?

32 59
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Pigs, Business

While my original plan was to buy a piglet and raise it to become a mother pig or sow, I have decided to sell the first piglet that I bought before, which my mother raised after I realized that it will take longer for it to become profitable than if I compare it with the second plan, which is to buy piglets then sell it after 3 months of growing them, or the so-called fattening method.

Some of you probably already know that I'm trying to start up a Hog-Raising Business. I have been sharing about my journey when I started it, and since another step has been made again, I'll share it here with you to document every move that I make.

So last January, I bought a piglet that my mother sold me after she needed money for something else. I bought that piglet for 3,500 pesos ($70) using my extra Bitcoin Cash earnings. Prior to that, I gave my mother 2,000 pesos ($40) as an addition to her money, which was intended to buy that piglet. So in total, I spent 5,500 pesos ($110) on buying that piglet alone. Then I also bought 1 sack of Starter Feeds worth 1,750 pesos ($35) and another sack of Grower feeds, which is worth 1,750 pesos ($35) as well. Overall, I spent 9,000 pesos ($180) on buying the piglet and for the feeds.

I told my mother about my plan of raising it to become a mother pig or sow, and she will do the work for me while I'll handle the financial expenses, and she agreed with my plan. However, after watching a lot of informative videos about what method is more profitable, doing some computations on my own, and considering the time that will be spent on each method, I have come to the conclusion that it's more profitable if I'll just do the fattening method.

So I informed my mother about my new plan of just selling the pig already, for me to have additional funds to buy more piglets again. At first, I thought she will protest since we were firm with our plans of raising it to become a sow. But after discussing it with her, she still agreed with me. Well, I'm the boss. Charot! πŸ˜‚

I thought the pig will only be sold for 15,000 pesos or less since I have no idea about the prices of pigs. But when my mother gave an estimate for the price, my jaw dropped, which made me motivated to pursue and continue with this kind of business.

So after 3 months of growing the pig, plus another month since my mother bought it, or from December 24, 2021, to April 24, 2022, we were able to sell it for 20,000 pesos ($400).

And here's the breakdown for the expenses and if there's a profit gained.

Expenses Breakdown:

My Expenses:

Piglet- 3,500 pesos ($70) + 2,000 pesos ($40) for my mama's capital

Feeds- 3,500 pesos ($70)

Total= 9,000 pesos ($180)

My mama's Expenses:

Feeds- 3,100 pesos ($62)

Total Expenses= 12,100 pesos ($242)

Profit= 7,900 pesos ($158)

And here's the breakdown of the money:

My Capital- 11,500 pesos ($230), which includes the expenses for the pig (5,500 pesos), the feeds (3,500), and labor (2,500 pesos- money that I gave to my mother while she was growing the pig).

To my mama- 6,100 pesos ($122), where 3,100 pesos is for her expenses for the feeds and 3,000 pesos for her compensation for raising the pig.

To my papa- 1,000 pesos ($20), for the Giant Taro that was fed to the pig.

Extra/ My profit- 1,400 pesos ($28)

According to this computation, I only have 1,400 pesos ($28) profit, since I was able to sell the pig for 20,000 pesos ($400). The profit is not that much if you were to consider the time spent but it's still better than nothing, and I'm claiming that it will be more profitable next time since I'm growing more piglets at the same time already.

So is Hog-Raising Business profitable?

For me, it still is, especially if you have a bigger capital to buy more pigs and grow them all at once. Even if I only had 1,400 pesos left as my profit for this, it will serve as proof that there are still more profits to be earned. Plus, I will also get to help my parents to have extra income since we're all in this together.

Anyway, I still have big plans for this Hog-Raising Business that I'm putting up, and I'm claiming that it will materialize in the future. Cheers!

19
$ 4.21
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 7
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Pigs, Business

Comments

Profitable naman talaga kahit anong farm animal lalo at madaming purposes, basta pagalingan and pautakan lang din talaga.

Wag kang makakalimot kapag kilala ka nang swine grower ah. Hihi~

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Maganda din sana mag-alaga ng baka eh. Hahaha! Sana maging multi-million business eh. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din sana at nang magamit naman mga napag-aralan ko sa Animal Science pero aigooo, walang space skaa madaming kapitbahay. Baka ipa-barangay lang kami. 😸

$ 0.00
2 years ago

atleast natry mo din mag business ng ganito sis sa una talga need mag take ng risk at atleast diba may ilang libo din na kita.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Haha! Tiyaga lang din talaga. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good that you have already made your decision to what you really wanted for your hog raising business. Mas maganda na yung mag focus ka sa flatteners since having a sow is also dagdag pa sa gastusin lalo na kapag hindi pa naglalandi.

If ever naman na you are planning to get back to the piglet production, bili ka na lang ng Mama sow or ng gilt na malapit na mag landi para hindi ka na magastusan sa pagpapalaki. Good luck sa business mo! πŸ’–πŸŒΈ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Ang gastos kasi mag-alaga ng gagawing inahin since 8-12 months bago siya pwedeng magbuntis. And yes, mas maganda nga ung bibili nalang ng inahin or gilt kesa magpalaki talaga from piglet to sow. So fattening muna para makapag-ipon ng mas malaking capital. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ilang lig un 20k beh, isa lang? Grabe ang laki ng npagbentahan ha.. Sabagay mahal ang baboy ngyon..

I agree, profitable pa din ang hog raising business, lalo na kung madami kang pig na inaalagaan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Isa lang po. Ang mahal nga eh. Akala ko nasa 15K lang un. Haha! Totoo po. Dapat madami talaga para mas malaki ang kita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hala, ang laki nga talaga, dati nasa 10k lang eh..imagine if my 10 piglets ka, although gagastos ka ng malaki din sa feeds pero ang laki din ng balik sayo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks namn congrats to your business eonnie, its really nice to make money morebthan you expected to, good luck and hoping for good outcome for your businessπŸ™Œ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Thanks. Hoping for that too. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great job my friend. As it is first time so this profit is really good. Soon it will be more bigger dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oink oink profit coming! So now she is also a businesswoman,nice. Congrats and more pigs to you for the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just a small-time business tho. Hoping it will grow big. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more you have pigs, then the more you will gain profit. That was actually a good business. But the space and cage is the problem here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. You really need a good space for the piglets to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live in Romania, in the village. Raising pigs and animals here is always a profitable business. During the Christmas holidays, we use a lot of pork. During this period, the money I invested is taken out and a substantial profit is made. Now I have 4 pigs growing! I was pleased to meet you Eirolfeam2

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. Prices increase as well during holidays so it's really profitable. That's good to know. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Business is mainly about profit, and by the look of things, you're definitely making good profits. And to add to that you actually love your business, so I see bigger profits ahead.πŸ˜… Congratulations on your business.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, business is about profits. If not, then it's a charity. πŸ˜‚ I hope so. Thanks. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also thinking about to open a business. But Seems like it would be profitable if i run through a hogg project

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, if it's allowed for you, you can also start one. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, if it's allowed for you, you can also start one. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's allowed.. But is it prohibited in korea?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda pala takbo ng business mo Langga. I'm really happy Langga. Ganyan pala nuh. Huhu kung pwede lang mag alaga ng baboy sa lugar namin, inanuhan ko na sana mama ko kaso bawal sa barangay namin kaya no choice. Happy for you langga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nagi-start pa nga lang po eh. Haha! Sana maayos nga ang takbo at umayon sakin ang tadhana. πŸ˜‚ Pero sayang naman po. Strik pala brgy niyo. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping na maganda takbo. Malaki kutob ko na maganda yung takbo ng business mo Langga. Oo Langga sobrang napaka strict.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Business seems interesting I am also thinking to copy you lol but I will do business with goat not with pig

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Goats are nice too. They can eat grass so it's not expensive to raise them. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, 0k then done I will buy them using BCH

$ 0.00
2 years ago