Do You Like Being Praised?

26 51
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Some of the active users here who have been reading some of my articles have probably noticed that I often write about some of my accomplishments in life, whether it's about Academics or in the crypto world.

Some have probably also assumed that by publishing these kinds of articles, I am someone who thinks highly of herself and someone who loves to brag about her achievements.

Well, I couldn't blame you because that's how I try to appear and build my image in the crypto or virtual world. I'm trying to be someone who every time she sets a goal, she makes sure to achieve it. Someone who makes a plan so that everything will go in her favor. Someone who will post and share almost every bit of her plans and victories.

And in every goal that I set, every time I accomplish it, other people who get to know and read about it will give me compliments and praise me for doing a job well done. Others would even fake their words and say congratulations even if they don't feel like it or don't mean every word they say because they think that it's exactly what I am looking for whenever I share them online. They think that through their empty words, they are feeding my ego.

To be honest, I really like receiving compliments, especially when I feel that it's genuine ones and when I feel like I deserve them because I exerted so much effort to achieve whatever I accomplished. I feel like, through their compliments, all of my efforts were validated. But sometimes, I don't appreciate them at all and even think that even if it's genuine, the words spoken were just fake and empty.

I may look like I'm being proud of myself, but I'm actually drowning in the thought that I'm never good enough.

If in the virtual world, others assume and see me as someone who thinks highly of her abilities, in the real world, I'm actually just someone who thinks that I am not good enough. I am someone who lacks self-confidence because of my so many insecurities.

In school, I would only recite in class when my name was called by the teacher and I wouldn't dare to raise my hand to answer the question, even if I'm sure about it, because I feel like I would only end up being a laughingstock if I got it wrong. I also used to have stage fright, where my knees would tremble and my voice would flutter every time I deliver a presentation.

My High School teacher used to tell me that I'm a jack of all trades, master of none, and I felt like it was an insult and not a compliment. I may be good at a lot of things, but I never excelled in them.

I may be good at writing, but never be good enough to have the courage to join writing competitions and win a place in them.

I may be good with numbers, but I was never good enough to win a place in the division's contests that I joined back in High School.

I may think that I'm intelligent, but I was never intelligent enough to at least try to pursue my dream college course or excel in my chosen degree program.

I may have a lot of goals and dreams, but sometimes, I think that I am not good enough to be able to achieve all of them because I am becoming incompetent as days pass by who would only settle for mediocrity and not excellence.

Sometimes, I would compare myself to others and end up thinking that I'm such a loser for not having achievements in life, for lacking the skills needed, for not being creative enough, beautiful enough, and talented enough.

Maybe, the reason why I often write about my achievements is that I'm looking for validation that I am good enough and I can do and be more than I think I am. Maybe, it's my way of looking for others to believe in my abilities, because I don't even believe in mine. Maybe, that's how I get to boost my confidence that is already lacking.

Receiving compliments and being praised have a huge impact on one's thinking. Sometimes, it makes them feel valued and validated. For others who are already secure of their abilities and themselves, compliments are just mere words, but for those with an inferiority complex, appreciations mean a lot.

12
$ 6.01
$ 5.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Khing14
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

The important thing is not in what others think or say, is to praise ourselves and congratulate ourselves for the work well done, if you notice that you are growing and improving then you are on the right path, how to know if you are good if you do not test yourself, if you do not participate in the writing contest you will never know if you can win it, how about giving us a surprise by taking the first place. I have followed you and you write very well, this is from someone who writes excellent (it is also my turn to praise myself). I like your work.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. I agree with that. Yes, we should also learn to uplift ourselves if we're doing good. Ehe! Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like being praised if it is come with thier heart, but kung hindi haha, ayaw kunang ganun baka may halong insecurities. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Ung may halong bitterness at sarcasm. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

if we are praised by people because of a sincere good deed done it is the best judgment of people. but if we do something to attract the praise and attention of others it is a selfish way that exists within. the person who likes to be praised is the character of a respectful person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I agree with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko dn na inaappreciate ako. I remember nag ojt ako I never thought na kinaya ko lahat limang section na ma encode lahat ng ratings nila in just couple of hours. Tapos nung sinubmit ko sa CT ko shock sya kc ang dali dw.. Kaya d ko alam na mai compliment ba dun or na appreciate nya. Kaya Highly recommended tlga ung praisal effect lalo na sa mga bata.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo po yan. Nakaka-boost talaga ng self-confidence yan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takot ako sa compliment haha basta e kinakabahan ako na parang gusto kong tumakbo. Paano ba kasi mag react haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Mag-thank you ganun or ibalik nalang ung compliment. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that you're goal driven and that you're able to admit the impact of a simple well-done or you did good. Just keep trying,,, and you'll achieve all your goals with time...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks. I hope so. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis natataranta kapag may nagcocompliment sa akin..hahaha... hindi ko kasi alam kung pano magrereact...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Ibig sabihin po nun humble kayo. Char. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhhahaha..ganun ba yun? yung natetense kapag nacocommend or nakakareceive ng compliments?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gusto ko yung kino compliment ako ng mas matataas pa sakin or ng prof ko, kasi it helps me boost my self confidence, pero when it comes sa mga ibang tao, medyo hindi ko bet kasi di naman natin alam yung timpla ng utak ng ibang tao eh. Yung iba kinompliment ka nga pero di naman sincere lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Ung alam niya talaga lahat ng efforts mo sa isang bagay tapos kinompliment ka, nakakaboost ng confidence un. Pero may mga tao nga din na nagcocompliment pero may halong bitterness or sarcastic. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman ate, ayaw ko ng iniinsulto ako or pinupuri ako. Ewan ko ba, minsan depende sa mood. Yes po, the praise we are oftentimes receiving might be plastic or genuine hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas ayoko naman na iniinsulto ako. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like being praised because I don't even know if it's for real or just an insult 😅.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang compliment na may kasamang sarcasm. Hahaha! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun na nga 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I like to receive praise because I really make an effort in everything I do, I consider that the one who praises something is a gentle person, not everyone has that quality. I'm not saying that I get too much praise, but I like to be recognized and that encourages me to do more good things, I don't know if I make myself clear. hehehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I get you and I agree with that too. When people recognize your efforts, it gives you the motivation to keep doing what you're doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seryoso? Diba na eexcel ka sa school?

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Eme eme lang po. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago