Do you know what LOVE is?

26 49
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Love

In my 22 years of existence, I can somehow testify that I have experienced and felt different kinds of Love already.

Even before I was brought into this world, two people already loved and cared for me. Those were my parents. Parental love is something unconditional that even if we fail them so many times in life and turn our backs on them, they will still accept and guide us wholeheartedly because we are proof of their love.

When I was still a baby, although I didn't understand that much yet, I know that my parents had sacrificed a lot too. They had sleepless nights and early mornings just taking good care of me. They bought me milk and fed me, gave me clothes, and clothed me. They were there when I was still trying to learn how to crawl, walk, count, and talk. They became my first teachers at home.

As a kid, I thought love is when your parents give you the things you need and want. They will buy you toys, beautiful clothes, and your favorite food. And they won't side with anyone if you fight with your siblings. Those simple gestures are what I thought love is all about.

As a sibling, I think our siblings are born to annoy us in this world. My brother and I used to quarrel a lot back when we were still kids. However, whenever someone tries to harm or bully me at school, he will always be there to defend me. I knew that was love. I thought love is defending you in public, even if you are always being scolded by your parents when you are quarreling at home.

Growing up, I had a lot of friends. They were by my side whenever I need them. They supported me and cheered for me. They constantly ask me if I am okay. I knew they loved me. Because I thought love is something that you get from having friends who actually care for you. And now that I only have a few good friends, I know that they're true because no matter how many misunderstandings we already had, they still chose to be friends with me so they are a keeper.

When I got in High School, all of my friends were already having boyfriends and girlfriends. Back then, I thought love is something that you get from the opposite sex. I thought love was more than enough to get into a relationship, even if it means disobeying your parents.

When I turned 18, I began to think and fantasize about the idea of love in relationships. I thought love is when you give someone your time and affection. I thought love is about giving gifts to your significant other. I thought love is getting to talk to someone every day, every night about almost anything in life. I thought love is when you make efforts to surprise that special someone on their birthdays or special occasions just to make them feel loved.

Those were what I thought love is.

Now that I got a little older, I realized that love comes in different forms, shapes, and ages. Love is a feeling that we get from different people in our lives- may it be from our parents, siblings, special someone, and friends. Love is something that we give and get. They say that love is blind, but love actually sees even the deepest corner of our hearts.

There is a lot of definition that we can form about what love is. But there are no exact words to define it. But I want to share the best definition of love.

"Love is patient and kind; Love is not jealous or boastful; it is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices in the right. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends." - 1 Corinthians 13:48

And out of all the Love we could get from anyone, nothing compares to Agape Love or the unconditional love that we receive from God. Even if we are undeserving of His love because we are nothing but sinners, He still pours us His overflowing love and forgives our shortcomings.

Do you know what Love is? Spread love!

14
$ 9.54
$ 9.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Love

Comments

Love can come in many ways but what I loved the most if giving love to ourselves..because in the end ..ourself is our only trully companion when life hits us with everything it got.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. So true din yan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marami talagang definitions of love but for me, love becomes true and pure when you feel safe when you are with them or around that person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. True din iyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This bible verse has given an illustration that love will never end like God's love for us humans. because of his sacrifice on the cross atone for the sins of mankind. that's true love

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's Agape love. Ehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes that's right Agape. I began to think, maybe you are a minister of God at church or a Sunday school teacher for children. your understanding of the bible can give me the impression to think there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis, there are many forms of love that we may experience while we're growing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True that! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sis. Love comes in any forms. Since high school, I always believe that "Love is a foundation from which all goodness flow". Happy Heart's day sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's a nice quote po. Happy Valentine's Day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is everything, spread love even it not valentines anyways Happy valentines day madam naka date mo na po ba si Mr Hong hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Busy pa siya eh. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many kinds of love and those love broughy different types of joys in our heart.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love goes a long way than just some random words. Love in my own definition is doing things for others even when you're a bit out of your comfort zone, doing good things you never thought you would do. Love is vast

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In other words, love is sacrifice. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me love is when someone gives you respect and take care of you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, love is respect too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. Love has many form not just for couples

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

It's for all. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said naman eh... Happy Vday beh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy Valentine's Day po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat beh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is not a word that should me define, but a feelings to be express.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago