The Myth about Eczema.

20 62
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

We had a friends' hangout this morning at one of my friend's house. I usually bone these slowly becoming more frequent visit invitations due to me being closeted for God knows how long. I naturally don't like social events that much but it has grown much more worse or should I say better?? Anyways, I decided to follow my friend who literally dragged me out of the house today to go and meet with the other friends (duh!! She didn't really have to do that anyways, I would have gone on my own I am not expecting today to be a busy day for me.).

We arrived there just before 9:00am but it looked like is was afternoon already there, nothing to do with the weather, just the activities that were going on: friends playing chess, others gossiping about other friends, while some others were arguing. I joined the arguing group of course as I instantly felt in the mood. I must have missed out of the main argument because they seemed to have just concluded an argument just before I stepped in. Just then, Cecelia, a friend in the arguing circle commented on the face of another friend there, who isn't really part of our friends circle but a friend to Cecelia ", you've got some terrible looking eczema on your face, don't you seek treatment for it? " to which the girl whose face is being commented on replied that she's tried all the lotions and ointments she knew but still to no avail. One other friend made an ignorant comment about how it is due to prolonged lack of hygiene and because she didn't nip it on the bud, she will have to live with it. While that comment made me a bit annoyed, I didn't say a word, I was already getting bored as a matter of fact and just wanted to go home, besides I know for a fact that a lot of people out there think that people with eczema do not observe hygiene or are dirty people which is a very misleading myth and sometimes, people with eczema try to hide it, except it appears in places they can't hide it, like their face.

What causes eczema?

Eczema(atopic dermatits) is more of trigger than the actual rashes we see on the face of the bearer, the eczema is what is triggered to produce the rash—like patterns on the skin, so this means that eczema has nothing to do with bacterial o fungal infections, it is something tush a person has and can get triggered due to genetic factors, environmental factors or factors due to body defence mechanisms i.e the immune system. It's more of an allergy than an infection.

Tenor. Gif

The cream that makes it go away, that's if it works for you doesn't kill off any bacteria or fungi, there are creams or ointments that make the rash go away but doesn't affect the eczema in anyway, these sort of creams are usually short term. The long term ones act as inhibitors that protect the skin from rash outbreak due to eczema. Note that the eczema is still there, not just the rash.

For the last time, eczema has nothing to do with poor hygiene, you shouldn't be ashamed if you have it.

Thanks for reading guys. Special thanks to @Tomi-Ajax for the sponsorship.

Thanks for reading guys,

Yours Layly,

❤️❤️❤️❤️

16
$ 2.42
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @flapiz
+ 14
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

Hmmm I didn't know that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No you know 😜😜😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahaha yeah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the second article I'm reading today about eczema. This was really educative.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh really? I am glad you found it helpful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw. That's an honest but unnecessary comment. Some have to consider other people's feelings before giving unsolicited advice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. Sometimes you feel like choking some people for the things they say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's typical of Nigerians to always attribute skin conditions which they are ignorant of to poor hygiene, I wonder who even come up with that myth. I didn't know a lot of things you mentioned here about eczema, at least I have learnt new things from this. Thanks for the educational article doctor Layla 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true Sir. Nigerians and false news in all areas. I am glad you found it helpful😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

School us Doc, we are your students. 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this info. For someone like me, I used to think about those that have it that they don't take their bath 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 Now you know that's not true. It's just a skin allergy, a reaction to triggers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this! I am a long term sufferer of eczema and it annoys me when people treat me like I'm contagious when I have flare up. No. I am not dirty and I love hygiene. I am just allergic to the change of seasons and also to stress. I get my flareups most when I am stressed. And thank God for the invention of hydrocortisone I don't end up looking like a mangy dog.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hydrocortisone really helps. I too have had my share of eczema triggers. My skin is allergic to the water supply in my school, have to look for another water source outside school to take my bath.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes it is because the water is too hard. You may need water softeners.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup it is not about hygiene.. It's more like a skin disease and anyone could have it... but proper medication and probably a certain soap could alleviate the rashes and itchiness.perhaps it will be cured with consistent medication and proper hygiene of course

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed! I used to use this medicated soap called S. T back then, cheap but also very effective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The myth growing up was that eczema is caused by dirty skin. So whenever we see someone with it, the only thing that comes to mind is poor hygiene. But I knew better with time. Greetings from a newbie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We gain more knowledge as we grow, as long as we are willing to learn 😊. Welcome onboard Betduce, just followed you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago