I'll Jump!

21 89
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

On a day full of nothing but life and good vibes, all this young girl wanted to do was to end her life. The group of passers-by all stopped as they pointed at the girl on top of the escape rail, throwing stones at anyone who attempts to come for her.

People started thinking she was mad so the crowd startee dispersing. I asked an old man what was wrong but he two answered with a shrug as he scurried off.

I ran up the the wooden staired in the hope of locating her before she makes that disastrous decision in her mind. Finally I found the window she was standing on the fourth floor but as I came nearer, she motioned towards the window in an attempt to jump over. "If you dare move an inch, I swear to God I will jump", she said and the expression on her face seems like she meant every word of that. It isn't even about the swear. "You're too young the be thinking like this, you're too young to die, you're worthy, loved and valued. Ppewse don't do this

What I seemed to be a source of motivation for her to jump rather than make her rethink her decision—she let go of the side of the window she was holding and now had only one hand on one side of the window.

I couldn't stand anymore of this. God! She looked darn serious.

People who dispersed earlier started to reform again. Staring at her in scared bewilderment. She packed a handful of cement from the window and threw it at them.

"What y'all looking at!" She screamed at them. My unsure self contemplated this as an opportunity to take my leap at her, I took three steps closer and she was just few inches away from me. I could easily grab her with am outstretched hand but she suddenly turned to me, "if you take a step closer I shall jump!".

God! What kind of a life is this! I wasn't even supposed to be in that place at that very moment. My job as a firefighter just happened to include more than just fire rescue. The drama was worsening by the minute. More crowd have gathered and they were all yelling at me to grab her. I decided to risk by taking a leap although extending my arm would have been enough. She sensed my movement and from the fourth floor of the building, she jumped!

I don't know what it is, maybe it was so e sorry of Divine inspiration. I felt myself pushed towards the window and I managed to grab her hand. The weight of her body was slowly pulling me along with her. I couldn't just leave her to fall. I muttered a slemt prayer to God, "Lord give me strength, Lord give me strength." Just them my partner grabbed hold of my leg and pulled me upwards, we both fell backwards crashung upon one another.

Up to this day I still remember incident vividly. As I looked at the suicidal girl right now laughing with her friends and drinking coffee while doing so, I can't help but wonder what must have gone into her to have made that suicide attempt.

Alot of young people these days suffer from depression from various problems. A sad reality that's hitting us heavier on the face daily.

Thanks for reading.

9
$ 2.74
$ 2.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Oh gosh... I had goosebumps reading this but felt relieved that you saved her from doing such an attempt. Depression is not a light matter indeed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. It's sad it isn't taken as seriously as mental health. Some people even think you're feigning when you tell them you have depression. That's why some people never speak up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish we can all have the eyes and heart to see who is suffering then we can do our part to help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had read many news like this. Sad but its reality , mostly with people that have depression , they can't talked to anyone, or even there parents didn't know about there problem that's why they are in the stage of depression and they want to die.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's just something that's hard to put into words. It can only be felt. I pray everyone finds there help they seek.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suicide is not the proper solution of a problem, it can't reduce the problematic situation from one's life, we should to think more, our life is priceless,we need to cherish our life no matter what the situation is. I know depression can do anything but we should not allow our mind to think this types of things.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Depression is truly disastrous. One keeps returning back to the cycle no matter how he tries to leave. They really need help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

did this really happen? you must have been her savior that day and you were not those who bring out phones to slap when things are going wrong

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I see that as illogical. The best thing to do when someone is in such situations is to help..and no it isn't real.😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what he or she is facing, suicide is never an option, thank God you were able to save her and am sure she will be grateful to you till today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah suicide is never an option. When a person seeks help without finding any, they resort to suicide which is very sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is this real? 😮 You must be her life saver at that point and God also brought your partner to rescue you guys.

Whatever one is going through, I don't think suicidal attempt is the only option to opt in for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The people who commit suiccide also know that. A force just overpowers them to do so...and no it's not real 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is hard for many, not everyone can deal with this smoothly. That's why people choose the wrong way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very sad. I hope they find the help they need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Killing ourselves is never an answer. Suicide can't change can't reduce but it will add issues and problems. It is not good friend. Please refer your situation to God

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Always pray when you feel the fangs of depression sinking into you. Prayers heal the soul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmmm suicide is never the way and I feel like more young people need to know this and know that as far as there is life there is hope

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It can be very depressing at times. What we need to remind ourselves is that there's never a good enough reason for suicide.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know depression is a silent killer. But I don't support this kind of steps. Nowadays it is happening randomly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very randomly. Suicide is really on the rise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago