Do you care about being liked?

21 53
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

It's cool to be a likeable person. I mean walking into a room full of people waving and smiling up to the ear at you, whispering into the ears of those next to them about your greatness and how much of a likeable person you're, with them wanting to flock around you with attempts to engage you in a conversation one way or the other while giving you an ego boost someone who's new to the room would think you were a celebrity. All these are cool when they come with a price you can afford but what if they come at costs that aren't worth the status?

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

In our generating of social media, people do incredibly insane things just for people to like or applaud them. They don't care if they salvages their self - respect or nullifies the things they believe in, they just go ahead and do it anyway. People who suffer from a feeling of low self-esteem or self-worth are much more prone to such unworthy sacrifices so that they would feel they are better than others, seek validation from people or want people to like them. The worse thing that can happen to a person is for them to change who they are so that people will like them, they fake who they really are to gain the benefits that comes with such things and when they get drawn into this, they are pressured to maintain that false image for as long as they can. Eventually it falls off as nothing really lasts forever and their true selves whom they loathe so much that they couldn't put in the necessary work to make it better is exposed like a fresh wound whose band-aid has fallen off..

Is being liked even something I should care about?

While it is cool to be liked or loved for who you really are, expecting people to love or like you for your true self is not something I'd recommend as you still care if people like you, just that this time it is for the right reasons. Even at that people are bound to hate you as it is impossible for everyone to love you for your true self. If unfortunately you winded up in an environment that doesn't support your kind of spirit, very few people or no one will like you and then you wish they'd understand you better. You wish that at least one person understands or loves you for who you really are. This creates a feeling of loneliness that can be difficult to cope with.

The most badass and peaceful way to live life is to not care whether people like you or not while being the truest version of yourself. The less you care what others think of you, the more peaceful and happy you are, this is because you aren't doing it for them but for your beautiful self. This also makes you become fearless and stand for what you believe in fiercely without caring what other people think. You aren't ashamed of showing your weaknesses as they do not make you insecure or feel vulnerable anymore. You do whatever the hell want, when and how you want it. You know how that feels like? To put it lightly, it helps the sun rise!!

Life is too short to worry about being liked by others or not. Just appreciate those who truly like you for the real you, and not for something else. Just keep being the person you're now while working relentlessly towards a better version of yourself. That's what this world is about, sharing love to all God's creatures before returning to Him and I don't really think a person is capable of truly loving someone else if they don't love themselves and a person cannot love themselves fully if they care what other people think of them. At the end, those who're meant to be in our lives will always find their way and those who aren't meant to be, will leave even if we wish them not to.

Stay blessed guys!

Thanks for reading.

I am fully back now and thanks to all those who wished me a happy Eid, I really appreciate it. It was really enjoyable!

Yours Layly,

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

16
$ 2.49
$ 1.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
+ 16
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

We came to this world alone, we die alone and we're buried alone. Whether people like us or not won't change that, remember this!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great article, on point, my dear. I think whether one is liked or not should not matter as much as being true to who you are. So, no, I don't lead with whether someone is going to like me. I think if I lead with being liked I'll feel like I have to compromise myself to fit into a mould. Instead, I lead with this is who I am, I am going to try to be the best person I can be, I am going to try to positively impact the lives of those I interact with and everything else will fall into place. I may be liked, I may not, but I can sleep with who I am when night falls. I wasn't always that way though. I used to try to buy friendships and approval and I compromised myself a lot over the years. I am thankful for growth.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Growth is really important. You look back and be grateful for how much you've changed into a better person. We all have gone through they stage in our lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There was a time I really cared to be like that it almost destroyed my sanity when I realized that there will always be people who will dislike me no matter what I do. And I learned my lesson from that experience so now, it doesn't really matter anymore if people like me or not. I just shrug it off.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's growth. Grow through life. Life is all about growing and living to be other people's survival guide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right Doc, very true indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Deep down, all of us want someone to like us, even if it's just your family but we all crave to be likable to at least one person but where it becomes a problem is when you start caring about being liked by everyone, which isn't possible. Even if you're sugar candy and you're nice to everyone you meet, some people won't still like you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right Kushy. We don't live our lives for others, we live it for ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being likable starts from us, from within us as we really can't please all people to like or accept us. For us to feel being likable we have to focus to ourselves, the way we look, the way we dress up and our own attitude. We have to see our blind spot and be cautious with those things that we need to improve or change for ourselves and to be a better version of ourselves. Anyway I don't really care much about being liked by others, I care about how I like myself 😁. It's not being selfish, it's self-love😊.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It all starts from within us. What we believe in and stand for radiates outwardly and others act accordingly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What I've learnt in life is that not everyone has to like you, it everyone likes you, it's a problem. If no one likes you either, then something is wrong with you.

I strive for balance between the two

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. If everyone likes you you're probably fake, if everyone hates you you're probably also fake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

who does not want being liked right? especially when is that person whom you like a lot haha..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me? I don’t care if a person likes me or not the only time I can care is if that person is important to me and as such the way they perceive me would matter apart from that fact i don’t care if they like me or not I am not alive for them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice one! Those who mind don't matter, those who matter don't mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't care if people like me or not, living my life for people's validation won't give me the peace I want. Though it's good if you are liked by people but the truth is that not everyone will like you even if you live your life pleasing them, they still will criticize you.

The best is to live your own best version and do what is right. With this, you are sure of living happily and peacefully within yourself. That is the way it should be.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The people you attract is the definition of who you are. When you don't care about being liked, like-minded people will like you without you asking for it. If those people are in your life it doesn't really matter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Im not likable in person as I look strict. Haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that's not true Jane. You're a likeable person in every sense.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the type that don't care what other people think about me, so I don't mind of I'm like or not. I just pray for grace to do the right thing always. Nice article doclayla. Nice to meet you. Laylah sounds familiar, yeah I remember, it's from a series I just finished watching. (Moon knight)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right friend. That's all that's needed in this life, an ability to do the right thing. And yes you're right Layla means Night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago