Being a transgender, how does it feel?

23 74
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

This isn't the normal time I write an article but hey... It's Friday and with very minimum work plus alot of things going on in my mind, there couldn't be a better time.

Seeing is believing they say, but as a person who's slowly losing trust in her eyes, this saying is growing stale on me. No.. I am neither blind nor do I have eye defects, but sometimes from the spooky, scary, tabooic things my eyes have seen, I sometimes wonder if they aren't playing tricks on me for real. I had even written an article about an experience :https://read.cash/@DocLayla/were-they-real-or-are-were-my-eyes-playing-tricks-on-me-599dc4e5

I have always heard about the term "transgender" and what it entails. Did I once think it to be a hoax? Yes. But as I got more exposed to information and news, I grew to believe they exist. My experience today further confirmed this belief :

Some time after getting the Friday snacks ready for my nieces, I went out to buy some toiletries and recharge card from a nearby kiosk. On arrival, I saw this girl who guides over the store, sprawled on a chair with a black gown on, legs wide spread(she wasn't wearing any underwear), sleeping undisturbed. Her short black dress had ridden over her legs and there it was :

The male sex organs were so prominent!

The partially erect male genital with testicles were there alright, there's no denying that fact. Stupid thoughts started flooding into my brain "but wait.... She has breasts and long hair doesn't she..? " Dumbfounded Layla stood there watching for some time , then later summoned courage to leave the store and she really didn't know whether to cry at that moment. She didn't wake her up from her sleep. What the hell have her eyes just seen?

I got home finally and after recovering from what seemed to be a shock, curious me searched for a lecture note where I wrote some details about that case in class. We treated the topic in my sophomore year of medschool so I just wanted to refresh my memory. Without boring you with much details, transgenders are formed by one of these :

  • In cases where men have external female genitalia (vagina and vulva), you might be thinking that lack the male hormone testosterone. Actually that's not true as most transgender male have testes which are the gonads triggered by testosterone. The male tract is also present as a result of the Mullerian Inhibiting Substance(MIS) whose function is the forming of the tract. However the formation of the penis and scrotum isn't the responsibility of testosterone but the function of another variant known as Dihydroxytestosterone(DHT).

Now if something happens before birth and the testosterone refuses to convert into DHT, despite the male child having structures like the seminal vesicle, epididymis and so on, he ends up being born without a penis but a vulva,clitoris and labias, making him a male transgender.

  • For the females however, unlike the male, no substance is required to promote the development of the external genitalia. It happens automatically. So how are female transgenders formed then?

In the cases of females, when they are at the embryonic stage, they might have excess androgens(which converts testosterone into DHT), since DHT is responsible for the formation of the penis and scrotum the girl child will end up having a penis and scrotum when she's born, hence she becomes a female transgender. Even with the breasts and all.

It is worth noting that the above listed are only how transgender births are influenced phenotypically.

There can also be genetic influences where there's a deletion of the Y-chromosome in males making them female when born. Same goes for the XX-chromosome.

Lol,this isn't a medical class so why did I bring this up? Well for two reasons: to share some knowledge and for all of us to realize that these people didn't create themselves that way. They didn't bargain for it. They were simply created that way by God almighty and it doesn't make them less human, or bad, or displaced.

In society, these people are mocked, ostracised and jeered at. Most of them hide their identity because they are scared of what others will say. Some parents who don't accept the will of God abandon such kids when they give birth to them. They face a displacement of identity, they don't know whether to call themselves male or female. When you say you are female, your genitals prove you wrong. So who do you marry? A man or a woman?

When you say you're male, your genitals prove you wrong. So who do you marry? A man or woman?

Keeping marriage aside, these people find it difficult to associate with others because of their condition. The insecurity is overwhelming. How does it feel to be a woman trapped in a male's body or a man trapped in a female's body?

These people, without us contributing to it, are already facing personal identity problems of their own. How about showing some love, compassion and acceptance? Is that too much to ask for?

Is it their fault they are the way they are?.. Or are you mocking a creation of God's?

These people need us, they need our acceptance, they need us to help them come out of the caves they have lived in for so long. They don't have to live in that cave all their lives. They need us to show them how beautiful, strong, and normal they are..... Just they way they are. In fact we should see them as one of God's miracles and learn to appreciate them.

If you know any trans where you live, be kind to THEM.

As for the girl I saw today, I won't reveal anything to her. I thank God she didn't know I saw what I saw. Only God knows how she must have felt. I will just be extra-friendly to her than I used to be.

TRANS-LIFE MATTER.

Thanks for reading this piece.

Special thanks to all my sponsors, up voters, commenters and viewers. You're all part of the inspiration.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤❤

All images from Unsplash. Com

14
$ 1.93
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

I regularly wonder before why certain individuals end up being what they are until I met my own personal nephew, who simply end up feeling the manner in which he manages with practically no impact or thereabouts. We should regard others for what their identity is. No judgment fundamental, no hate, just love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No hate..just love. It's a free world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to be happy and content with what we got by birth. But sometimes there are a lots of people who do not want to love with their natural gender identity and they go for a surgery or other process just to change their gender, It the toughest desicion, so we need to accept them. We should not judge other people, in my opinion they can do what they want, but sometimes we also need to compromise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We aren't any better than anyone. Judging them wouldn't stop them from doing whatever they wanna do. It's an entirely free world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't meet trans in personal Doc but I do respect them. If being a Trans is what makes them happy then it's totally okay, as long as they didn't harm others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Ma'am. Apart from those who do surgeries there are those who don't get to choose. They are created that way and nature defies all, no matter how hard we try to avoid the reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came from a Christian country, and because of this I always hear how they majorly react against when they hear mentions of trans and any related to LGBTQIA+ community. But personally, I think there's nothing wrong with that, simply because these people are merely coming out what they feel and know their true selves are. They shouldn't even have to fight for their place in the society because for me their existence are just simply normal as how 'straight' males and females do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's correct. No one has to fight for a space they deserve. We cannot hide our identity forever. Nature is not to be defied.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often wonder before why some people turn out to be what they are until I met my very own nephew, who just happen to feel the way he does without any influence or so. Let's respect others for who they are... no judgement necessary :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. We're all human and nature has different ways of getting to us. It mostly isn't our fault to see things the way we do when nature plays a very big role.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Acceptance is what we need at times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't really pay attention to that but I really feel for them, who will end up marrying them? Cos I don't think anyone will want to associate with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never really paid much attention to it, but these people lives are already hard as it is

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my friend. We can make it alot more easier for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really see no reason in being transgender... It's just like saying God isn't good enough at what he's doing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am talking of the natural ones. There're those who are born like that without modification. That's the point I am making

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually thought that this wasn't true and me not meeting any person with such made it more unbelievable but your testimony is enough to believe.

They didn't make themselves and we mustn't detest them for this reason and it is a shame on their parents to let special kids like this suffer. I feel emotional really about this and I don't think that people should them like a demon, they are human like us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The girl whose secret got exposed to me today is a very nice girl. For you to know that they aren't any different from us. If I am to tell some people (which of course I wouldn't) they'd say I am lying because their mentality sees these people as bad. They are very much real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to hear that there’s a surgery for transgender. Please is it true? I really want you to enlighten me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes there's Surgery for that although it isn't that common. They can only grafts and modifications and like other complex surgeries, the success rate is low. Some women inject testosterone into their body to make them look like men but their anatomy is still there. Some cross-dressers still have their genitals intact but only do what they do for the show. They may take injections to help them grow breasts in the case of males.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first I thought all transgenders did some surgery and transplant and stuffs like that. But I got to realize that some are actually born that way.

You are truly a Doc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. The natural ones are more than the unnatural ones. Most of them hide their true identity that's why we hardly recognise them. I am still a Medical student BTW. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. You must be A brilliant student, because you seem to talk with authority like a Doctor already

$ 0.00
2 years ago