A message to my fellow students.

15 51
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

I write not from a place of a fellow student who shares similar feelings to other students pertaining the calling off of the 8 months' strike. A lot of us are unprepared be it academically, financially, mentally, emotionally or otherwise, there are even some of us who aren't prepared at all but still, there's no option for us than to resume.

Despite having wanted the strike to be called off, I felt a little uneasy when I learnt it had finally been called off because I was stuck in the middle of some activities and abandoning them to resume school would ruin a lot of things. To be honest, I was a bit saddened not by the calling off of the strike, but by this fact. It would be extraordinarily difficult to continue with these activities of mine while being in school.

Despite all those plans I have and the things I have done during the strike, I realize that worrying about them doesn't make any difference at all. I would still have to resume no matter what, even if I extend my resumption date, I would still resume in the end.

No matter how unprepared you think you are, it is going to be alright in the end. Just think of that one thing you're supposed to do when school resumes(which is study) and do that until the end of the session. I remember that I lost two course mates within the span of the 8 months strike, some of you also so I bet. They too had plans that they hadn't fulfilled yet before they were taken away, they never knew they were going to die before schools decide to resume. They also probably thought of what and what they where going to do when school resumes so no matter your unpreparedness in whatever aspect, see this as a mercy from God. The fact that you didn't die, the fact that you're still alive to take some, steps towards achieving your goals.

When you finally resume, do not forget to take things easy. There are some of us who the first thing that's on their minds when school resumes is to oppress other students with either money, clothes, beauty or whatever, they are there to show off and this can create thoughts in a person's head. Refuse to be oppressed, you're not them and they are not you.

Get yourself in order first before even thinking of doing anything, for orderliness makes your brain less crowdy and helps you make better decisions. Make a to-do list of the things you have got to prioritize. If you're among those who are to start exams when school resumes, I suggest you start revising now. I believe some schools will organize their own revisions but starting to do so yourself is, a very good idea.

If you're amongst those struggling financially, everything is going to be fine. I know it's hard to be in school with little financial support but we just have to make good use of the resources you have. Everything has time and this too shall pass. It always does..

All in all, let's all take our studies seriously. There are some of us who have started learning a skill already. If you feel like it would be a hindrance for now, lay it off for a while, for no one knows what side of their personality these lecturers will show us. Let's all be careful with them so that we part ways with them without hate.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤️❤️❤️

13
$ 0.51
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

God will help us, we will make it...sorry for the lost of your coursemate we have to be greatful that we are alive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was hoping the strike would be called off by next year sha, I was planning on finishing an online course I'm currently taking before December, but now I have to put it on pause.

I am also not ready but if ASUU was to wait for us to be ready before calling off the strike, we will never be ready. As they have called it off now, the least we can do is to just buckle up and continue with the struggle. Wahala for anybody that thinks they can oppress me with their money, especially those yahoo boys 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right. There's never a right time. Oppressors will come and oppress, Las Las we're all in it together 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too I'm feeling the rush and pressure already and it's just annoying. I just wish they will go back to strike and call it off next year but I know that's impossible. God will help us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is not at all impossible oo. If things aren't resolved with tne completely there might embark on the strike again sometime next year. Their full demands haven't been met.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this word of encouragement, I really do appreciate it. I am also down with this suspended strike cos it came impromptu but nothing can be done. We have no choice than to face it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is. We just have to face it. I am glad it uplifted you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Studies are really important weapon in this competitive world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True that. We've got to keep our academic lives active.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope a lot of people realise and do not forget the reason they chose to resume. As you have said a lot of people want to resume because they want to impress others which does not really make sense. I pray God helps us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right. God will help us all amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading at first may seem difficult when we eventually resume. God will help us sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aside from this situation, I learned that there is a massive flood there.. How is it now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. The flood didn't affect us much but from those who live in areas who were greatly affected, it's subsided. Thanks Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago