A break can cause you to break!

20 60
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Breaks and relaxation are deeply essential to our goals if we truly want to achieve them. They reboot us for when we get back on the grind, are an opportunity to take a step back to introspect on things we have done so far and also a time to do other things we love apart from pursuing goals continuously. All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy they say, but when is it recommended to rest? Personally I don't think there's any specific time a person can rest on because it's something relative. Some need tons of rest to function properly while others just do fine with little rest and their efficiency or level of productivity won't be affected. It's sometimes the case when little rest is achieved where there's suppose to be tons of rest and vice versa.

What prompted me to write this is that lately I haven't been very productive. Ever since the sallah break I find everything and anything difficult to do and that's because I really took it for a break which infact it isn't..... at least for me. I am a person who needs tons of rest to function properly :My body, my brain, my mind, they need rebooting on a regular basis. I decided to take a break off everything for Eid but then in fortunately I was really tired and needed the rest, the Eid break was so short that it wasn't enough for me to rest the way I should.. wait! Did I even rest during eid? The last time I checked I almost worked all night! So you see, my brain is full of fog and I am at a breaking point even as I type this and I for some unknown reason almost had an asthma attack and had to sleep with a pillow to my hip to prevent it from actually happening. My aunt said it was my restlessness and a bit of anxiety and I don't think she's far from the truth. My focus depth has decreased by a whooping 50% and I feel like my laid back self is slowly taken over.... not a very good feeling. It's like putting back on a dirty skin you've shed off a long time ago.

Hitting the reset button.

I don't know if anyone relates to what I wrote previously but I am seriously considering hitting the reset button, like getting everything back to ground zero and then build again. This means that everything will have to be entirely new if I am to keep up with my current state of mind. Sometimes all these things make me feel imprisoned or some kind of a robot who needs rules to function properly but I guess they are very important stuff since one can't just go living life haphazardly without knowing exactly what they are doing. It's an uncomfortable necessity that gets more comfortable as time goes by and more responsibilities are placed on your head.

I remember a time when something similar like this happened when I was on school. I felt like the whole world.... my whole world was crashing right before my eyes and I remember finding myself in a situation where I don't even know the next thing to do while getting distracted in the current task at hand. All I wanted to do was lie face down on my bed with a pillow placed over my head, the next thing I want to do after that is to lie face down on my bed with a pillow placed over my head.. Same with the next thing. Lack of purpose and motivation was the other of the day and useless unrealistic and senseless fantasies were the order of the mind. It took an extraordinary amount of mental strength and out of the world level of sheer willpower to be able to get out of that place, it wasn't very easy at all and even at that, I managed to escape with a failed CVS test because I couldn't study throughout that period. I wasn't depressed, it was just that I felt like a giant stone sat in the core of my being rendering me useless and ineffective, maybe that's another form or depression I done know.

Dear reader, are you able to relate with this anyway? Please if you do how did you get out of that place? If the method is a real fast one I'd be glad to hear it, because there are things that need to be done but I can't just bring myself to do them in my current state of mind.

I am sorry for my in inactivity, this is what I have been battling with in the last couple of days, honestly my phone had been the last thing on my mind.

Thanks for reading and understanding

Yours Layly,

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

23
$ 4.87
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 14
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

I can very muvh relate and I am starting to feel some of the effects too. Find it hard to grasp when reading stuffs, easily distracted and tired and lack focus too. I haven't been sleeping well for a while now and I think that is what's resonsible. What I do usually is sleep a lot to recharge and or watch sitcoms or comedy it helps me rejunate. Will probably have to take some days off here too the way I see it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good way to treat it My sleep routine is so messed up right now. Stil hasn't gotten it right. I am slowly getting back to normal though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is good to hear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you tried taking a stroll? Like a walk especially around gardens where nature can take the whole part of you. If you havenΒ΄t, I will suggest you take time sitting around nature. it might be under a tree, mere finding a spot and keep looking at the sky, sitting beside a river, trust me, nature has a way to make you active and productive and release those stress and worries.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true Princess. Actually that's more of a routine for me, to take walks. It does help alot after some sleep. Thanks Princess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a saying: "You can see the big one can be seen from afar." Indeed, it's very useful to look at the situation from the outside, as it were. А you have to get out of it for a while.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm Wise words. Your Username suits you quite well. Thanks for this, Sage. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Al so I like to start by reset. I wish to get second chance.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks my friendd..working on that one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to what you're passing through and some of us are built that way; we don't do so well with breaks! Get back your mojo depends heavily on one thing: your motivation. This also depends on the type of activity you feel you're slacking on. Take for example when I took unnecessary breaks from readcash a couple of months ago, I found out it was very hard trying to become active again but one thing brought me back to my senses: the thoughts of running out of cash, that alone motivated me to pick myself up and keep moving.

But sometimes you may not find the right motivation at that moment, just like the one ASUU is doing to me now, I can't find any motivation to pick up a book and start reading πŸ₯±

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You got that right Kushy. Seems like we're the same on this one. Longer breaks make me loose focus, the intermittent ones are way preferable. The student in me remains 10%, one more month at home and I'd turn gangster. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 gangster doctor, you're funny

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I take breaks from writing, I usually get affected because it takes me a great deal of effort before I can get back to normal. Still, breaks are needed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! Sometimes consistency keep the ideas flowing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the body and mind need rest because fatigue causes activities to not run properly due to loss of focus of the mind.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes indeed. Even with strong determination, we're still bottled up in human bodies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every one of us experiencing such setbacks, all we need to do is focus on the positive side to pull ourselves from negativity. Rest until you feel well my dear.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am doing that right now. Thanks greatly KendyπŸ’–.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey beautiful, sorry about everything you might be going through mentally.

Everything has to do with the mind, it is time you focus on things that would keep you in shape physically and mentally.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes George. Taking all the rest I can at this stage moment, thanks for your concern. πŸ’–

$ 0.00
1 year ago