Should parents track their teenager's location?

19 37
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

The growth of technology seems to move up each year. The development of devices, tools, machines and gadgets are becoming more trend for companies. So, it is not impossible for us to track someone within our family using any technological devices. But for some reason, there are parents who are paranoid when their teen's left home, and the only thing possible to see them safe is location tracking.

According to TechSafety.Org, phones track your location through GPS built into your phone, WiFi connections that may reveal location, and cell phone towers that connect your phone to the network. You can turn off some location sharing, but emergency services and phone companies will be able to access your location whenever the phone is on.

There is a good and bad side of location tracking depends on the intention and objective of the one who will track the location. This is a good feature in our Android phones when we lost it because we can track where our phones are. The main reason why we should open our GPS location is because of this very reason when we lost our phone accidentally.

Do you think parents should use technology to track their teenager’s location? Why or why not?

I think parents should only use technology to track their child's location when they are missing or emergency purposes such as his presence is immediately needed. I understand the parents' worries and paranoid when their child goes out, but it should not be that way. When the child found out that he was being tracked by his parents, he will be mad.

You feel unsafe. You feel watch. And you feel untrusted because your parents are tracking you. I think when our parents are tracking us, it means they don't fully trust you. I will not agree to my parents if they have a plan to track my location when I go out with my friends or going out somewhere. It feels like you have nowhere place safe to go.

If not, are there any special circumstances when you think it would be acceptable? What are they and why?

Yes, there are circumstances when it is acceptable for me to be tracked by my parents. These circumstances are based on what I experienced so far and would need my parent's assistance to track me. The first one, when I am kidnapped. It is insane and stupid to say this, but who knows what will be happened in the future. I will appreciate my parents more if they track me fast.

The second thing, when I lost my phone and I am unaware of it. Although they are tracking my phone not me, but my phone is still part of me so I will consider it as mine. I wish it not to happen. The third thing, when I was lost and cannot find my direction. This happened when I went to Laguna alone to find my aunt's wedding reception. I was left behind back then.

What advice would you give to parents who are considering tracking their children?

Please reconsider what will your children would say and think if they found out that they are being tracked. They will be mad at you. Also, you should know that teens nowadays don't want to be felt restricted or watched because they are now fully aware of their rights. Their rights to protect their own privacy and secured it to all people even parents.

It is hard to see your children not at home, but they have to go out and discover themselves. It is a process of growth and development that even the nature has to follow. Tracking is not a choice. Trust should be put to your children and you have to do it willingly. You are the parents and you understand it better than anyone else how it feels when your parents restrict your movements.

Overall, location tracking has an advantages and disadvantages depend on the purpose. Before you track someone else., you have to be sure that person will not be offended or you have permission to do so. Tracking people has some against to privacy and security. Also, parents do not track your child unless necessary.


Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty

You are so welcome to become my sponsor. I would love to see you there in that block. Thank you po!

I am grateful you read this!

9
$ 1.68
$ 1.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @DennMarc
$ 0.02 from @carolinacardoza
+ 4
Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Comments

Now-a-days missing and kidnapping cases are on peak. Especially the kidnapping of the young girl is major issue of the society. That's why it's better to tap the location of the kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this should be done if the teenage boy or girl isn't controllable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we trust our children we will be able to go out with peace of mind, they are with their friends and in a safe place. We should not do that to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

your are already a parent and this is a great feedback from you. trust itself is enough, no need for location tracking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm actually not surprised if I will be tracked, lol, And because I will be in the stage of father age soon, yeah I agreed that parent shall have access to their child's location haha, Elon mask surely want that with his new satellite lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

really? do you want to have an access to your child location? but do not spy on the child, just check her location when its needed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know a father who keeps tracking his young single daughter not by using the device but keeps on calling her asking where she is. The father shared to us why he is doing it. He don't want his daughter to meet her boyfriend because he os afraid that his daughter will fall into teenage pregnancy. I could see the father have trust issues towards his daughter and off course the daughter doesn't like it and fall into telling lies sometimes. So, it has a negative effect towards children.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

in this case, the father must learn to trust her daughter because she is growing and developing too. her world should not be controlled by anyone else, but hers alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That should be a father should do but we cannot understand why he is so strict.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wouldn't like it if my parents track my location unnecessarily. When it is not that I'm being kidnapped. I don't like it and I wouldn't advise parents to do it to their children because it will make the child feel unsafe and insecure. I know a man who does that to my friend. He will even come to the hostel without letting her know

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, it is very awkward when your parents just appeared out of nowhere and finding you there. the child's feeling should be considered too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think parents should track their child only when they needed their child not for spying that what and where they are doing. I think a chip should be fixed in child's body in order to track in emergency.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's right. they shouldn't use it for spying their kids because it is offending.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my humble opinion, hindi pwede hahahhaah. Ayaw ko i track nu. Pero siguro may good side din naman kasi hindi natin alm ang panahon baka kidnapin pa ako hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaya nga po ate. ayaw ko din. ang oa naman po non sa mga magulang na may tracker pa sa mga anak. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy, ayoko ng ganyan na itatrack ako ng magulang ko. Haha. Awit yon. Papatayin ko talaga phone ko if ever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hindi ko rin gusto ang ganyang setup kuya, parang wala na kong secrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that might a good idea incase of emergency but for the frequently checking the location I think that a little bit out of the line.. Whether he/she is very young he/she needs privacy also..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, tracking should be done for emergency purposes only, not use for tracking kids all the time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago