I learned foreign language and it's hard

21 34
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Have you ever read a foreign language, but you cannot understand because you are not familiar with it? Many times, I was wondering on YouTube to watch random videos and when I encountered Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, and Thai language. Even if I want to read the caption, but I cannot. Also, I cannot understand what they are speaking too.

When we encountered a foreign language like Korean? I know Korean dramas are really trendy right now. From watching the K-dramas, we learned new words and I, myself, was also learning from it. The basic greetings like Annyeong or hello/hi. Is it right? Or I misunderstood the Korean translation of hi? I think there are ways of saying hi in Korean depending on who you are addressing.

How important is knowing a foreign language?

My teacher told me in History that learning a foreign language can sometimes save us or save others. Not save the lives, but save the time for looking direction, places and tours. In Manila, there are many foreigners from different countries. If you encountered one and ask you about where should he takes a bus, and you cannot speak English. Then, how could you answer him?

Ignoring a tourist like him will have the impression that Filipinos are not friendly and amiable. So, to answer the foreign, you should have known how to speak English. It is okay if you are not fluent, but you have the courage and guts to speak at least the basic. In that way, the foreigner can get a good answer from you. You don't know, he might treat you afterwards.

What languages can you speak, read or understand?

I am still young and I do not have broad interest of learning foreign language. The two languages I know of right now is Tagalog and English. I do not speak other languages except some greetings from Korean, Japanese and Spanish. When you are watching anime, then you can learn a lot of Japanese. Sometimes, I prefer not to download a video with subtitle because I can understand it.

Of course, I can speak well the my mother tongue which is Tagalog, but I cannot speak Tagalog straightly. I think there is no Filipino who can speak Tagalog so fluently without using English as a side words. I can also speak English, but not fluently. I am still loading and thinking sometimes the translation of Filipino to English words.

What challenges did you face in acquiring a new language?

Learning new language is very challenging because you have no idea how to pronounce the word and what are the constructions of their sentences. When I study Spanish because I watched the series The Money Heist, I cannot understand it unless I read the subtitle at the lower part of the video. I think learning Spanish became easy because Tagalog and Spanish have similarities.

During the learning period, I think it's important if we can chat or talk someone who speaks Spanish fluently. In that way, you can see the progress of your learning and you can apply what you understand. It will be hard, but when you give it a shot to learn and talk in the particular language you learn, then it is okay. You have a good opportunity when you go to countries who speaks Spanish.

If you were to study a new language, what would it be and why?

The new language I would want to learn is French because I would love to go to France. French is very complicated language because of their accent. It is noticeable when you are just learning to speak French because your pronunciation is not on point.

I wanted to learn a foreign language because it has some benefits in the long run. There are plenty of ways on how we can learn. YouTube offered a lot of channels that we can watch how to speak, write, and create a sentence. I think that is a wide benefits of watching YouTube. Then, you can download books online for free so that you can enhance your understanding.


Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty

You are so welcome to become my sponsor. I would love to see you there in that block. Thank you po!

I am grateful you read this!

10
$ 2.16
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @DennMarc
$ 0.05 from @tpkidkai
+ 5
Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Comments

I can speak English but I'm not a pro, I am not fluent in my mother's tongue which is Yoruba (really sad right?).

I'm currently learning french on Duolingo. I really want to learn how to speak and write in French. Do you have any YouTube channel you could recommend?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning a foreign language has benefits and apart from understanding a little about English and more of my native language which is Yoruba, I am now learning Spanish and I can speak the basic ones like how to greet, to eat, to go out etc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

spanish is a good choice because a lot of countries can speak spanish. mostly in european and some parts of american countries.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayos na ako sa English, Tagalog at Jeje di na kakayanin ng utak ko na mag add pa ng ibang version ng language kahit na sobrang importante niya. Wala pa naman akong balak lumabas ng bansa sa ngayon. Nakakagets ako ng kaunting Korean at Nihonggo pero pag ako na ang gagamit for sure wala sa context as self thought parin naman ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

napangiti po ako sa sinabi mong jeje. usong uso pa naman po ang jeje dati, noong jeje days. pero kung may balak ka po na mag out of the country, saan po?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think Japan will be the best choice for me, di ganun ka extreme ang food nila compared sa China at Thailand.

Can't go sa mga bansa na sobrang lamig kung dito palang sa Pinas, naka 2 blanket na ako pag rainy season paano nalang kung sa ibang lugar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Foreign Language isn't easy to learn and having someone that can teach you from time to time will be a good and fast improvement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, it's easy to learn if we have someone or who will accompany us in our learning process. it will be fast and correct.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa totoo lang gusto ko talaga matutong magsalita ng ibang language. Lalo yung Japanese and Korean sana. Kaso, sa tulad kong tamad at walang tyaga, ni give up ko na. May alam akonh words pero kaya konh basahin yung sa romanji lang pero kapag yong misamong nihongo na naku diko yaka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang ganda po pag-aralan ng japanese kasi sikat naman po ang anime ngayon. hindi rin magsisisi po kung matutunan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang astig talaga kapag marunong ka magspeak ng iba't ibang language, sa ngayon, I can only speaks 6 other languages asides sa English and Tagalog, bet ko kase magtravel dun kaya nag-aral ako somehow haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

anong mga languages po iyan? ang dami na po ng 6 languages. multi-lingual ka na po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chinese, Japanese , Italian , Spanish, French, Korean tapos medyo may knows din ako sa Arabic pero basics lang. Pero gusto ko talaga matutunan is yung dialect dito sa Pinas like Bisaya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako nga 6 years na dito sa middle east although nakakaintindi na ako sa kanilang salita pero mahirap pa rin at nahihiya kapag ako na ang magbigkas. Pero kapag pag aaralan naman for sure matutu tayo kasi may ibang Country just like turkey sabi ng amo ko kapag pumunta ka daw doon yung mga tao doon hindi ka papansinin kapag ibang language ang gagamitin mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

talaga po? di pala maganda pumunta ng turkey kung hindi rin tayo marunong mag turkish. mahirap pa naman mag aral ng ibang lingwahe. alam ko po nahihirapan din ang mga turkish magsalita ng english

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang Spanish din ata yung inaral ko before pero hindi ko na tinuloy kasi ang hirap. Hahaa. Wala akong makausap nanag Spanish eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hindi ko naman po naituloy ang spanish ko kuya, mahirap po kasi intindihin rin. number lang po kaya ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Para sa akin ok na siguro kung alam mo magenglish.. Ang english kasi is categorized as universal language.. Hehe.. Hirap na nga ako magenglish, ibang language pa kaya.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaya nga po. mahalaga naman marunong mag English. sapat na nga po yon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda talaga matuto sana ng mga foreign language, kaso matagal cguro bago mahasa talaga need ng patience at tiyaga talaga,. but napakacool isipin na marunong ang isang tao ng higit pa sa dalawang linguahe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo kuya, matagal tayong matututo ng mga foreign language pero masaya naman kung mahahasa po tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago