The best place for free reading books is in bookstores

30 53
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Books in bookstores are the best place to read since we can read them for free without someone bugging us. What I love about free reading books is you can scan the entire book, skim through chapters, and have a good impression of the book if ever you would like to buy it. For someone like me who’s very picky about buying books because I really don’t buy a book without me getting anything from it. A romance book is not really my type.

If there is a time for me to stay in the mall, then the first place I always go to is the bookstores. I would always check if the mall has bookstores, aside from the National Bookstore, of course. It is the best time for me to stand straight, listen to Spotify music with minimal sound, and scan the entire book from front to back. I do not know if you’d like to do this as well, but for me, it’s a way to calm my mood and even boost my mood at that time. I just love reading the newest and latest books, specifically, self-improvement books.

Two days ago, we had a huge vacation in our schedule, and the first thing on my mind is to visit the nearest mall. In fact, I mentioned in my last article that Robinson's mall is near to our university, and I don’t mention that SM is near to us as well. Yes, depending on what gate you want to exit, then if it’s in the main gate, you can be directed to SM. On the other hand, if you exit the second gate which is much bigger than the main gate (I don’t know why), you’ll be directed to Robinson’s mall. What a nice university, isn’t it?

For the record, both malls are good for me. However, in my opinion, and preference, I would love to stay in Robinson’s since it has more floors than SM. There is a huge marble on the second floor which allows the shoppers, visitors, or any persons inside the mall to stay. That is actually my favorite place because the huge marble is cold, aesthetically designed, and can cater to around 8-10 people. Mostly, people who gathered in the area are enjoying the free Wi-Fi since it’s very fast. Actually, I can download lots of movies if I want to but I don’t need to do that.

Going back to the bookstores, I never had an experience wherein I was warned or received a warning sign from the staff. I think what they don’t like is when someone will eat inside while reading because you know, it might spill in the book you are reading then you will run since you don’t have money. That is why I’m thinking about why they don’t allow food or drinks inside. However, some bookstores don’t allow readers to take photos and videos. But for me, I always did that whenever I saw good phrases, lines, or quotes.

A photo from Shopee

Oh, I just remembered that when I was in senior high school, I was in National Bookstores in SM Bacoor. I was just reading a new novel from John Green. I was standing for around 15 minutes I guess when someone approached me out of nowhere. She was a middle-aged woman, she asked me if I’m going to buy the books I was reading and I told her that I’m not. I was about to hand it to her when she said, “No, I’m a fan of John Green, I would love to buy it for you.” I was shocked and confused at the same time. I told her it was okay. But she did buy it anyway. Until now, I never forget her face, but unfortunately, I didn’t know her name. I was overwhelmed with gratitude at the time.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for sponsorship.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thanks for reading. I'll see you next time!

8
$ 2.28
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

I love self improvement books too and I prefer reading from my phone than buying books from the bookstores. Sometimes, there wouldn't be cash to get what you want but you can always download free version online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's actually a good thing but I already exposed myself to screen so much because of coding and stuff. So I always buy a physical book rather than downloading online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I could have someone like that buy me a book too lol! That's sweet of her to do that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true. Until now, the book is perfectly covered in my little bookshelf. When I finished the book, I always make sure that I properly covered it. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waaah! You're so lucky! I had to go twice sa milk tea house so I can read that book. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to finish it kasi I transferred to Cavite na. I haven't encountered a bookstore na they don't allow you to take photos or read the books. But I don't read din naman sa bookstore, synopsis lang then search ko sa goodreads ang mga reviews, then if it's okay, add sa To-Read list.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah. Awiee, ganyan din ako.. Kung anong magandang reviews sa Good Read. Yun na din babasahin ko. Ahah. Pero may mga fav authors naman na ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No doubts magaling na writer kasi mahilig din magbasa ng books. Nakaka inspire ka naman Marc. Same kayo ng close friend ko san pumunta talagang mahilig siya sa books.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi naman po magaling ate. Hahaha. Garbii naman po. Masaya kasi mag basa. It feels like you're diving into another whole world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka humble mo talaga Marc. Basta for me super galing ka. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean sana all pwede magbasa ng books sa bookstoreeee! sa booksale ko lang iyan nagagawa haha, tambay ako sa pandayan and national bookstore may mga book na naka seal and sa iba naman may sign na bawal tumambay at magbasa haha so ayon sa library and coffee shop mas masarap magbasa ng book pero pinaka fave ko pa rin sa bed ko. ang bait naman nung nang libre sayo, sana magkita din kami :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May mga open seal din kasi don Car, so ayurn nakakabasa din ako. Madalas nasa likod ng mga shelf ang open books eh ahahha. Malay mo naman diba, may mag gift sayo ng book. Uwu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to spend all my free time in university library to read books for free

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh! That's so awesome. But library books are good to read. But too much info about them causes me to have headache. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Swerte Muna man same kayo ng kinahiligan na books. Tsaka Ang galing mo buti naka ugalian Muna magbasa Ako Kasi inaantok Lalo na kapag d ko type and binabasa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahaha. Nakakaantok kapag di mo bet yung genre at book na binabasa mo. Pero kapag interested ka sa book, aba, baka wala pang three days, tapos mo na sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama, ganyan din Ako Lalo na kapag dko type Ang story mga ilang minuto lang tulog agad hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe she saw that you are really into that books you are reading kaya nibuy nya for you. Ang awesome naman nya no, UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uwu, baka nga po ate. Suki kasi noon sa National Bookstore at Booksale. Hahaha. Baka nakikita nyako frequently tas hindi ako nabili wahhaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are no generous book stores like that here where you can read 5minutes and not bothered by the staff, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? That's sad. We're free to do that here. It's kind of help for students also for referencing and sourcing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako nagbabasa rin ng libro pero binibili ko sa lazada. Mas prefer ko magbasa kapag gabi saka kapag walang ginagawa haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy, sa umaga ako nag babasa kiddo. At least 30 mins is enough na for me. Mga 1-2 chapters din yon depende sa haba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas prefer ko magbasa ng online books kase wala ako pera hahaha, pero parang gusto ko magvisit sa mga mall specially sa mga places na pwede magbasa kase merong peace of mind doon, meron doon banda sa BGC eh di ko na matandaan kung saan yung lugar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako, for sure, maraming bookstores dyan. Manila yan eh. San kaba? Taguig diba? May mga public library din dyan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bait naman nun,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yasss. A rare encounter lang po ate. Haha. Di naman na po naulit. Charr.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we are opposite, I would love to stay in SM rather in Robinsons. Sometimes naiinitan ako doon.

Remember those times, I would read, just skimming pages of romance books at the national book store. wala pambili eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nyii. Mas malakas ang aircon actually ng Robinsons dito samin kaysa sa SM. Haha. Nag bbaon pa ko ng sweater minsan whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko bigla noon, masaya magbasa, kahit sa national book store 🤭. Napaka generous din naman nila kc hinahayaan lalo na mga students kahit hindi. Study well, pang blogging din yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, yes po ate. Very accommodating sila lalo na sa mga students na naghahanap ng mga references at sources.

$ 0.00
1 year ago