Social Psychology: Is your impression keeps updating?

7 33
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

The value I kept in myself that was taught by my parents are to safeguard your impressions and judgements to others. It is not about looking to a person because on how he wears or how he moves his body. Then physical judge him and marked in your head that this person is something like that. We cannot avoid to make impressions because it is part of us that we have to be an observant to environment we are in.

As I was writing this article, I was sitting at the side of my garden. Then people are walking and passing by. I didn't knew them. I was thinking if all these people who walked by, what are they thinking right now? Some of them are walking holding their phones and with smile on their faces. I can make an impression that these people are happy to whomever they are exchanging messages with. While, others are just walking by straightforward without even making a face to their environment.

Adventure to PITX

It happened in the early morning before my graduation day. Since I was studying at one of the branches of my school in Bacoor, Cavite. The administration decided to held the graduation at Pasay City. All the branches including in Pampanga, Laguna, Cavite, Makati, NCR and Bulacan goes there. My mother and I wasn't familiar on how to go to PITX since that time, it was newly operating.

We decided to ride an air conditioned bus which the destination sign board was going to PITX. I sat comfortably and felt a bit nervous because this is it. This is my graduation day. The long wait is over and finally new achievement is unlocked. Fast forward, we get off the bus then I carefully observed the place. There are numerous buses, sign boards, cashiers, stores and jeepneys as well. I don't know if it's jeepney or cab. We asked to guard where we can ride going to Pasay. I really forgot the exact place but I remember it is in Pasay.

We took the cab outside PITX. Yes, I remember we took the destination going to Baclaran first. One thing I didn't forget taking that cab is because of young girls with us. These young girls are wearing revealing clothes with high stockings and boots. Their cleavage is very evident to the point in just a matter of time that can be seen their beast. During that time I had an impression that these young girls are raised with liberal family. If I can only show you how they dressed that day, then you will understand the whole image.

We met again at graduation place

Students and parents are undeniably happy because their son or daughter will finally march and ended their senior highs school life. I was with my classmates and taking photos right here and there. Many photographers are offering us to take a photo and pay 150 php. However, we are not sure if these people are trustworthy because they might run after payment. We just ignored them, but still very persistent and poke our parents.

Since this is an important event in our lives. Our parents grabbed the offer and we took some shots. We proceed for payments and they told us that we can have the photo after three days. It will be sent to our school and will claim there. That was quite suspicious because I didn't know they are acquainted to our school. Meanwhile, we were hungry and found a vendor selling dirty ice cream. We bought one for ourselves and I was shocked when I saw the young girls I met in cab beside with me buying ice cream too.

They were wearing toga as well. They looked innocent and charming. What's more shocking is that they offer to pay for my ice cream. It's quite a dilemma because I thought these young girls are just party goers and heavy drunkers. But I refuse their offer because I believe they have a hidden agenda. Can you imagine we didn't knew each other until we met at cab and ice cream vendor. They said that I looked kind and they wanted to treat me. I replied thank you but no. I can pay. They nod and left with their ice cream.

Should we trust our first impression?

To set an example, I illustrated the experiences I had with young girls I met during graduation day. At first, my impression to those girls are liberal, party goers, and heavy drunkers. Then the second encounter I had was when we met at ice cream vendor. My impression is that they looked kind, innocent and charming girls. What impression should I trust? Do you think my first impression is sufficient enough to avoid them since the first impression I had with them is bad?

Based on social psychology, our first impressions to a certain individual will remain. It will be our pattern to how we will make a decision and choice regarding to our interaction with that particular individual. Our impressions are forming and keeps updating later on. When someone did a bad thing, it has a negative impression to ours. On the other hand, when someone did a good thing, it has a postive impression towards us.

Now, whatever comes next, it is not our final impression. But it has huge factor to our future decision whether we avoid the person or continue interacting. Behaviors that are perceived as being less frequent are also the ones that people tend to weigh more heavily. Meaning, as much as possible do good things to people wether it is family or stranger. Remember impression may not last and final, but surely affects how people will treat you next.

Thank you for reading!

14
$ 5.33
$ 5.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Khairro
+ 6
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Comments

Sometimes our first impression is not that accurate. Malalaman lang natin ang totoo nilang character as a person if nakilala natin sila ng mas malalim. When I was first year high school, I thought that one of my classmates is masungit but as I know her deeper super bait and jolly. It just takes time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan kasi nagkakataon lang na ganon ang ginawa nila that time kaya yun ang nag mark sa isip natin about that person. Oo nga eh, pag unanag pasukan then hindi mo kakilala lahat. Kung ano ano pumapasok sa utak natin haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Normally first impression leaves a mark in our minds and so we cannot forgot the impression that we had made to a stranger. But sometimes our first impression was a mistake judgement that as the time goes by we slowly correct our wrong impression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. It means that our impressions keep updating to get an accurate information to particular individual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad to say our graduation just end up in virtual. My mother wasn't even experience real graduation is. It is so sad that rallies, campaigns and any gatherings related with politics or election is allowed but the graduation wasn't. I don't know how the government do that. Its not even fair for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally get it. Since pandemic happened, all of school related ceremonies are cut off. But now that political campaign started, all the bans suddenly lifted up. Can you imagine how many people are going to grand rally every city? Thankfully, it seems graduation this year will be happen physically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it sounds like they intentionally do that for political purposes. Money can change the life of people and also there State of mind. Money can change the disposition of a person. So sad I wasn't even experience a real scenario of graduation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago