How gardening saved me

28 47
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Gardening, Life

Greetings!

Today, I was having fun watching the most awaited Korean zombie series entitled "All of us are dead". This zombie series was written by a great writer, Chun Sung-Il. I am currently at episode three and the intense, thrilling, and amazing scripts and acting skills of actors are superb.

My cousin visited us last night and she slept her as well. She visited us because she accompanied by sister in her project for school. Gosh, I miss her so much because we aren't able to get out since we're not allowed. But she left the house early in the morning because of her work.


Introduction

We see the world beautiful because of its undying beauty. The beauty of our environment comes from varieties and different species of plants, trees, mountains, skies, rivers and everything God has made. How comforting to say that the colors of these lovely sceneries make us giggle, wonder and its very therapeutic.

During the first wave of the pandemic, total lock downs and bans are implemented all over the world. The craziest part is that many people didn't believe it at first - just like me. Since I'm not a medical student or majoring in medicine I have not idea what's this virus is.

Many lives are affected and eventually died. All area of our lives are being destroyed piece by piece. One of these areas are your mental health. I would like to open up what and how did I cope to mental stress I had during those times.

My Santan flower at the backyard

The problems

It is still vividly clear to my mind what kind of daily routine I had every day. I woke up in the morning, reaching my phone and visit my social media accounts. Just scrolling up and down until my eyes hurt. Then, I will eat my breakfast meal prepared by my mother since she has no work.

During those days, EPZA or PEZA are total lockdown as well. No employees are allowed to work and most families are just waiting for the good foods sponsored by the government. Ayuda is life. Although we are given by foods, but that's not enough because it can only feed us for only 3 days.

My parents have savings, but that is not sufficient for the whole month lockdown. Everyday, my stress was adding up. You know the feeling being useless to the family and can't help them financially. Also, I'm the eldest child in the family. I know most eldest child has high sense of responsibility in the family whether you are a man or a woman.

Just flower experimenting

When coping mechanisms didn't work

My auntie has plenty of plants in her garden. She always visited it every morning to check her plants and water it as well. I saw her replanting the baby plants and transfer it to another pot. She always told me that it was fun doing gardening, and I know that. I lived in the farm for 9 years and all works in farm - I experienced it all.

As my mental stress arises, I tried to cope it on my own way. What are things I did before?

  • Watching Korean drama series

  • Yoga

  • Reading novel books

  • Playing cards

  • Sleeping

  • Talking to friends and families

Yet all these things work temporarily. Then my stress will rise again. Do you know how much headache you feel when you are so bothered from everything. I can't do anything. I can't go outside. I can't meet friends. I can't go to mall and parks. That's how my stress keeps rising.

Me, doing some replanting besides our fence. Also, my hair was long too. I cut my hair already.

When gardening works

Then one day, when I woke up in the morning. My body brought me to my aunt's garden and start watering the plants. I don't know what I am thinking that day but one thing is clear - I'm enjoying it. Weeks later when I ask my auntie if I can get some of her plants. Just the little ones. I'll try to care and grow them. That is the moment when another struggle happens. Where's my pots?

I searched for alternatives on YouTube and luckily all the the materials needed can be found at home. I made some plastic pots for my plants, and I remember I made at least 8 of them. That's how everything works together.

Eventually, my stress level was decreasing and I'm feeling it inside. My focus was turned to gardening. I was quite greedy because whenever I saw plants I didn't have in my own garden. I will ask to get one to my neighbours, aunties and my grandma's garden.

I still remember that being a plantita/plantito (gardener) was trend and hype. You can literally saw people posting and flexing their plants online. Plant sellers are also earning a lot especially in Silang, Cavite where beautiful yet cheap price. I was once ordered plants from one of the shops there and costs me around ₱1,200 ($24).

My hanging plants

Realizations

Our lives are beautiful and the same to our environment. How we appreciate the living things makes it more beautiful. Pandemic costs us lives and everything still we're standing strong.

Also, mental health is one of the major problems we should address. I read some comments before that mental health problems are just illusions and dramas made by a person. And that's very frustrating! Continue to live your life in the fullest because it's hard to live with regrets.

Appreciation

Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

All thanks to my sponsors and I know you are blessed by the Lord. Thank you avid readers, commentors, upvoters, subscribers and likers.

Also, if you haven't subscribed to me yet. You can hit the subscribe icon and that's it!

All images are owned by me. 
Blog #3
1/29/22

8
$ 3.96
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 7
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Gardening, Life

Comments

I like your "gardener" profile. Plants are the real friends of the planet earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hilig din to ng papa ko. Dati hindi ko maintindihan bakit ang hilig niya sa plants. Tas nung tumanda ako, na gets ko na. Nakaka gaan ng pakiramdam ang gardening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatanggal ng stress at nakakaenjoy din talaga lalo na kung nakikita mon unti unting lumalago sila sa garden mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Confinement prompted many people to look for alternatives to develop from home and gardening was a healthy option for everyone. I too took refuge in plants to overcome stress. I enjoy gardening. I congratulate you for taking that option in the face of confinement. Interesting content. Take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's great. I'm glad you too are doing gardening as outlet to release your stress. I love to see my garden blooming flowers blooming and the patience I acquired in the process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice. My favorite plants are captus and succulents and I do container landscaping with them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw people like that, when they are in the garden taking care for their plants and flowers it gives them ease to their sentiment. They feel better when they spent time with their usually habit especially when planting plants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I feel better everyday doing gardening stuff. Especially when you see yours plants growing well and it produces flowers and fruit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that's stress releaver and it makes ourselves to busy. That's what we are doing if we are striked by boredom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marember ko nito ay si mama, gustong gusto talaga magtanim ng bulaklak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga kuys. Maraming mga kananayan ang nagkaroon ng interest sa pagtatanim. Plantita at plantito everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you were able to find what worked for you. In these days of the pandemic, we do need a healthy coping mechanism

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the third child in our family but I'm only the one who has a sense of responsibility among our siblings. It's kinda irritating when don't cooperate with me, actually. Haha! I just write all my frustrations away and it's up to Rusty to give upvotes, so my stress level would decrease. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute! It's really hard to have the feeling of sense of responsibility because sometimes it will consume us. Yeah, I've read a lot of your rants here and that's okay. At least you can express yourself and being paid by rusty. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what you call, "Killing two birds in one stone". 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda is magtabim ka ng aloevera, yung matatababtas palaguin at ibenta mo. Mabili yun ahe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron po ako non. Haha. Madami na halaman ko hindi ko lang na attach kasi nagbaback na yung webpage. Haha. Hirap kapag Phone lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also do this before when the first lockdown strikes. Planting is my reliever those days because we all know that staying home makes us mentally tired and boredom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Gardening has been my stress reliever and it's so effective. How are you na ate Kleah?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Ito bothered sa araw2 kasi gusto na mgtrabaho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love gardening to this is not only a kind of exercise but, also a nest way to get in touch in nature, but also a hreat hobby to those who loves gardening so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I appreciated people who love gardening because they have great patience and love for the environment. Just simply having plants in your home can produce enough oxygen to breath.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't have a gardening here because the land we are living is not ours and our neighbor will be mad if they will see us planting hayss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I see. But you can have plants in the pots. You can move them freely when you guys transfer to another home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ang galing ,bihira lang saga kabataan na kagaya mo ang may interest sa pagtatanim ,good job 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naging outlet ko po kasi ang gardening to release my stress. Kaya po until now, I'm doing it pa. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanga ako sa mga kabataan na kagaya mo ,yung iba kasi lulong sa mobile game gaya ng mga kapatid ko jusko ,babad lagi sa phone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Di ako nag online games ate. More on reading talaga ako at dito sa read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago