Coinsph was sold again for USD 200M

38 56
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Early this morning, as I was browsing on Facebook to get update from my professors. There's a new news circulating about Coinsph. Coinsph was sold for USD 200M (PHP 10.2B) to former Binance, Grindr CFO. The now former owner Indonesian gaint Gojek held and owned Coinsph for about 3 years. It is said that he sell Coinsph because to focus on its hometown in Indonesia and Philippine is no longer a priority for the firm with further investment.

Based on the report, Gojek bought Coinsph for about USD 95M (PHP 4.9B) from its founder, Ron Hose. Meaning, Gojek solt Coinsph in double the price he bought it. What a businessman! For Wei Zhou, the former Chief Financial Officer of Binance and Grindr, an LGBT dating application. He is well-knowledgeable about financial systems and has vast pool of experience. So since we have new ownership of Coinsph, then do we have to expect new changes, a better changes from its former owner?

My coinsph experiences

I have been using coinsph application since April 2021 and so it's been a year. From a year of experience using it since my account was validated. There are a lot of changes in terms of design interface, gas fees and additional services. However, when I started using the application in my first month I liked it a lot. Why? Because there is a 10% cashback. The 10% cashback is the reason why many users prefer it than any financial application.

However, the 10% cashback feature has been long gone today. Many users left and some protested to add it again. Personally, the cashback is very helpful because I can save money as well. The more I spend and pay my bills like electricity and Internet. I can get back something from it. What's funny thing is I hide it to my parents so that I have money. That was my misdeed when I don't really have source of money back then.

Today, coinsph has a good user interface and design interface. I like how I see some development and changes. Especially, when they add some crypto coins as well. On the other hand, one thing I noticed is that when you want to receive in Etherium Network, you have to pay for one time fee for about PHP 1000. I am not sure if it's the same today. But that feature is not good because I hardly receive some ETH and XRP. Thankfully, they didn't do anything to BCH and BTC.

Coinsph expectations for new ownership

I had quite a high expectations for Wei Zhou, the new owner of coinsph. Since he has a broad and complex understanding how financial systems works. I am he will listen to what the users want for the application. If its granted, I wish the 10% cashback is the first one to be back so that I no longer pay our bills in Shopee pay to have cashback. Let us just hope that he will perform and manage it better than the previous one.

I expect to decrease the Coinsph fees. As you all know, there is a huge difference in price conversion. It took a lot of toll in our money. I wish that Zhou will decrease the fee in a very affordable and friendly fee. I know some of you leave the coinsph and switched to other crypto applications like Binance, Coinsbase who has lower fees.

I expect to add more crypto coins. Since there are new crypto coins added last two months ago. I wish to add USDT, Litecoin, Solana, Cardano, and others. I don't know what's good crypto to add more. Anyways, if Zhou really made it possible then it's better than ever. So what you wish to add crypto in coinsph?

I expect to add more features. Coinsph has a huge development since it's founded and we all know that. There are good features that has been removed and added new ones. So for Zhou, I hope he and his team will analyze and utilize the best feature for Filipino. Features that can be easily recognize and will compete to other platforms. Isn't good to have a different feature to others, is it?

Additional news

I read the news yesterday night about Paymaya. Paymaya is now offering crypto trading in its new update. So if you are a paymaya user, then what are you waiting for? Update your app and try to trade. I don't have any information on how much the fees are. But I saw there is no Bitcoin cash. Haha. So drop it. I hope Gcash offers and update now for crypto trading which they announced these couple of weeks. Anyway, that's for it today.

Thank you for reading!

22
$ 3.89
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 9
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Comments

There will be a good side of competition indeed. If coin. ph was solved it is either they wanted to get rid of competitors or wanted to expand more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. I think there will be an incoming surprise update so I'm looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of news this past day about crypto, including that one. Isa rin sa nagustuhan ko is yung sa Paymaya update hehe! Sana tuloy tuloy na ang crypto supremacy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Thats for sure. Sana wag muna mag implement ng taxation. Haha.. Mapapa awit tayo nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been a year now since I started using coins.ph, and I can say that there are a lot of changes that happened in that period. The cashback is one of my favorite features back then but sadly they have to remove it, I think it's because a lot of users are into cashless payments when the pandemic has started. The UI of the application is also good! There's a big difference when it comes to design, kudos to the developer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're on the same page bro. I wonder what will be the new updates since the ownership changed. New cryptos, maybe? New design, maybe? New feature, maybe?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heard a lot about coinsph and I think it's in good hands now that it has been bought by binance former CFO 😁 be expecting to see some features of binance on it soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Coinsph is regulated by central bank of the Philippines so it's really safe. However, the fees is quite high. Yup. Its in good hands now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya pala may nagbago.sa Coins nung last visit ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Sana maganda na yung susunod na update nila. Daming Filipino traders na nagsimula lang din sa coinsph tas lumipat sa binance ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coins.ph user here too Denn Marc... It's quite dissapointing seeing that cashback is gone ... hopefully for all new members, their fees will be low haha, and the rebate system returns in their next update.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm truly hoping for the rebate system to come back and the fees to lower as well. When these two happen, I know old users who left will come again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Balak ko ilipat assets ko sa coins to binance.. Bka ano mangyari jan hahs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy haha. Ganon ba yon teh kapag chinese na ang owner? Hahaha. Let's see ate kung anong mangyayari sa coinsph

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coins.ph now really changed a lot. I've been using this wallet since 2020 and I wish they will put back the cashback feature and lower the fees as well cuz they are so high. Lastly, I love itd new design and features. It looks professional.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, the new design is quite appealing and more look like a crypto trading app. However, it still lacks compare to others like Binance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be very nice if the rebates system would be back, I'll be one of the happiest if that happens lods.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am too definitely. The cashback/rebate feature is very helpful to save some penny. Let's see what will be the new updates.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coins din gamit ko pero wala akong alam about sa owner o sa mga latest na kaganapan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Actually nadadaanan ko lang sa news feed ko ate kaya ko nalalaman.. May mga groups din kasi ako related sa crypto eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the reason why I also choose coins pH to have my permanent digital wallet, they have cash back and that's very helpful for users. Buying load is essentials for us to be active everyday in this platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, unfortunately it was gone now. They replaced it for gaining points which is quite useless. You have to spend a lot just to gain enough points to redeem a voucher or stuff like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh interesting! Been a user of coins since 2019 and I find it really convenient, though crypto fees in converting is a bit high but that's what we pay for convenience so we don't have much choice actually. Anyway, I hope for the better for coins.ph, and I think paymaya is good to explore now..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you've been using coinsph for over 3 years now ate. The high fee is quite hurtful, but we have no choice but to accept it unless there's othee method like P2P in Binance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coins.ph user here din huhi..kaya pala wala na yung cashback...sana sa new owner eh mababa na ung fees nila haha..kalaki din kasi.. Tas may add din sana sa features nila gaya sa bitcoin.com na once na naghold ka ng certain coin eh may interest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward talaga ako sa mababang fees para sulit ang cashout haha. Saka maganda nga yung may interest din kapag naghohold tayo. Kahit konti atleast meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There will always a good side of competition indeed. If coin.ph was solved is either they wanted to get rid of competitors or wanted to expand more. Well Thanks for this I just knew about this one I should keep research too so I knew what will happen to my money hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Since the new owner is Chinese, it will be a good development and changes in the application. Plus, he worked for Binance too before. May dark theme na ata ang metamask noh kuys?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasayangan din ako nong tinanggal yung 10% cashback kasi doon ako nagloload dati kapag may nagpapaload sakin dito saamin. Hopefully nga ay maibalik.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay totoo yan. Sobrang hinayang talaga. Kasi madalas kasi kaming magload dati eh kaya dun ako nag loload. Tapos nung nalaman ko na tinanggal na, awit talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing this information Marc. So meron na palang owner ng coins.ph. Mag expect talaga na may mga changes na mangyayari Marc nuh. Ako wala akong coins.ph Marc tyaka yung sa Paymaya wala rin ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome ate.. Opo. May new owner na, isang Chinese fella. Maraming expectations ang mga users since nag iba na ang ownership. Ayy san ka nag cacashout ate? Binance?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagulat din ako nung nalaman ko Marc. Oo Marc pag ganun for sure may changes na mangyari. Sa partner ko Marc kasi hinintay ko pa yung valid I.D. ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh. Nagulat ako ate. Sorry haha. Akala ko naipon lang sa bitcoin wallet ang money mo. Sobrang laki na non if kung sakali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe hindi Marc nagcacash out din ako. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also start using coinsph last year, I think that was march when I discover noise Cash. During that time they have that 10% cash but as you said there's no Cash back anymore. Lately I started using binance specially when I wanted to sell my crypto as binance has a smaller fees than coinsph. Anyway I am a Paymaya user but I haven't heard that they have crypto currency there and so maybe I will check it out later. Anyway thanks for the information.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm waiting for new updates from coinsph. I'm looking forward to what they will say about regarding how they will manage the application. I do really hope it's for the better.

Try to update your paymaya application ate. You'll see the new update. Hehe. Kaso walang bch. Sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago