A writing prompt with $250 as a cash prize 

33 75
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

In this platform, if you ever had a writer's block the first thing you are always looking for is to find a writing prompt. We cannot deny that a writing prompt saved us so many times. I am not a fan of writing prompt and I rarely use it, but I have fun reading other's blogs about writing it. Like, their answers are totally different and it is a way for me to know them better. Most of the time, a writing prompt is either personal or optimistic questions that become a way for readers to know the author well. 

As I was finding an idea of what to write today since there is no current event in my life. I have to find a good source of information and inspiration to fill in some blanks in my mind. I kept searching for a good topic, but there was no good topic at all. Some of them are already done or someone made an article about it and I don't want to repeat it over. I felt like cheating in writing or whatever you call it. Then, I found this particular site which surprised me greatly. Like, the site is full of prompts and one thing made me happy too. 

The site's name is reedsy prompts so in its name, you can tell that it is full of writing prompts, right? There is a new event on the site which is about a writing contest with $250 on the line. Meaning, if you ever win in this event, you can get the money and you have an instant $250 in your wallet. So are you curious what kind of genre it is? Hmm. I am sure you are excited and interested in this because I am too. 

So the main topic of this event is about Machine Learning. I am well familiar with this because I am a computer science student. I have learned this since I was in 2nd year, but coding this is very much complex. I do not wish to have a machine learning project in school because I do know if I can finish, no, if I can ever start it. Just read the whole description and brief summary about machine learning in the photo. 

In this topic, you have five major scenes abou what will happen in the story. The first scene is about a character who is convinced their computer is conscious. The second scene is a story where an algorithm plays an important role. The third scene is about a character who has access to a powerful new technology before anyone else. The fourth scene is about a character, human or robot, who no longer wishes to obey instructions. And the last scene is a story that either starts or ends with someone (or something) saying, “Please, don't do it.” 

After you pick a scene, then you can now think and type your title. This is a very hard thing to do because the topic is about machine learning. I found it difficult writing about technology because there's no fun or excitement about it. You can just select up to 3 categories so choose wisely. I think you have to create a story first before selecting the right categories for your story. The story must contain at least 1000 to 3000 words. Meaning, it is quite long and you must keep up the twists and turns of the story or else. They might find it boring to read. 

You can use the header 1, 2, bold, italic, underline, strike through and subheading. Is that subheading, wait? I think I am wrong with that. Subscript, isn't it? These are the only tools available. There is no need to create a cover or photo for your story. The most important thing is that your piece is well-crafted. Just make sure you are confident in your ability to write and produce a good story because it reflects. 

You have two choices for submitting your story: either publish to a profile which is free or submit to a contest which you need to pay $5. When I read this part, I immediately hesitated to create and submit my story because $5 is a huge amount of money for me already, especially today that bitcoin cash is very low. But, compare your $5 to the cash prize which is $250. It's quite big, right? I still have second thoughts about it. 

At last, the contest had only 19 hrs left before it closed. Meaning, in that span of time, you have to submit your piece. There are 167 entries and 113 stories as of now. I guess to win in this competition is very tight. The judges will find it very difficult to grade and give points to all the stories. If you are interested in this kind of event. Why don't you give it a shot? I know some of you have been writing short stories and writing prompts for so long already. This $250 might be destined to be yours. 

ReedsyPrompts


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

21
$ 3.93
$ 3.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 10
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

The $250.00 is tempting pero pass muna ako now. I know about AI but integrating it to make a story would be the hard part. Sarap sumali sa mga ganito, ang probs lang walang time, ni di nga ako makakuha ng consistency sa writing dito sa read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So truee ate. May alam naman ako sa topic kaso yung story mismo ang mahirap. Hindi ko forte ang sci-fi genre haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa Reddit badi madaming mga prompts. Minsan don ako nagkakalkal eh. Sali ka sa mga subreddit channels. Kung nabasa mo yung ginawa kong kwento last time na 'I told you not to look outside.', don kinuha yon.

Anyway, naalala ko tuloy yung binalita last time about sa google engineer na tinanggal daw sa trabaho kasi parang nagprogress na daw yung AI na dinedevelop nya. Kumbaga parang nagkaroon na ng sariling consciousness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy wala me reddit at hindi pa ko nakaka vivisit don ulit hahaha. Pero dl ako later papi.

Oo nabalitaan ko din yan. Pano nya kaya nasabi na may consciousness na ang robot? Hmm. Too much thinking about this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakalibang magtambay sa reddit hhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought it is free haha. I like the "Please, don't do it" type of twist.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap non gawan ng story bro. Haha. Short ako sa imagination these days. Charr!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dramatic naman 'yung genre hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pass ako dyan Denn at dumudugo ilong at sabog ang kakarampot kung utak hahaha. Keri mo talaga denn kya ambunan mo n lng ako hahaha. Xena at naging bz ako lately ksi graduation ni eldest today

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahha. Nako teh, di ko to mawiwin.. Wala akong nabuong magandang concept eh. Hahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Subscript, isn't it?

Yes it's subscript.

This looks interesting until I got to the part about paying $5, this is actually a very smart business. There are 167 entries and it may likely get to 200 entries later on, now multiply that 200 by $5 and you get $1000, remove the cash prize of $250 and the organisers are left with $750 😎 it looks like they are the real winners 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. I thought about it too when I saw that. Such a good business but you know the cash prize is very alluring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really interesting, but at the same time it looks so challenging. I really like reading prompt, but I haven't write any one yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good opportunity and I'm giving it a thought to join but I'm considering my chance of winning. With this kind of amount at stake, they'll be strick in Scoring or selecting the winner 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kuya @Meitanteikudo kunin mo na to haha. Ang galing niya kaya magsulat in any niche, skl. Anyway, di ko kaya yung ganyang topic haha ansakit sa ulo hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy oo nga po si kuya Kudo magaling sa ganyan. Ilang beses na rin ako nakabasa ng mga pieces nya. Sayang ang $250 haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's quite huge but we need to pay for that amount....it's huge already cause $5 can't easily get. ...for me I have my second thought about also that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right now, earning $5 is two article already unlike before hmm. But if ever to win, it's worth a shot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

19 hours.. Patapus na to..sayang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Pero kayang kaya mo po yan. Mga within a hour, makakagawa ka na po ng piece mo po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di bagay sakin to since I'm not too familiar with this so called Machines hehe. Pang would you rather lang ako haha. Pero since may price I'm sure maaakit mga writer..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahah. Sorry bro, natawa ako sa pang would you rather lang. Wuy, mahirap din mag isip ng hindi kaparehas sa iba ah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tinignan ko po kuya ang mismong site at masyado pong mahirap ang mga prompt nila. mahirap po ang prompt kaya malaki ang prize.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo couz. Masyadong mahirap yan eh. Need mo talaga ng malawak na pag iisip at Creativity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy ilang taon na 'yang pinsan mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

16 ngayon turning 17 haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay bata pa din pala good for him that he's exposed in the community:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay parang ang hirap man aguyy. Saka parang diko keri ung mga topic na pagpipilian hmmm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy nako ate, kering keri mo yan. Haha..konting inspiration lang at makakagawa kana in one go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wews. Good luck with your entry, Marc; I really hope you win this one. I know you have what it takes to win. Fighting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jusko po! Hahaha. Nako ate ang hirap nyan. Nakaka pressure po. Hahaha. Pero why not diba po?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So thoughtful of you to share but it is so challenging as the time frame is too short. I just hope our prompts gurus will take up the opportunity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I am late to see this. I think the original time frame is within 3 days or something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago