See Something, Say Something

7 22
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: 11th of March, 2022 

Goodday everyone! Don't you just love Fridays? Well, I do! Yesterday, I complained about the electricity issue and how it affected my work. Luckily, I was able to charge with my dad's powerbank and work on my phone. It was hard, I tell ya but I managed to make do. It is for this reason that I am not able to comment on a lot of articles as I would have loved but I still try.

Last night, my dad informed me that the repairs had been made and I was excited but we still didn't have any electricity. After asking around, we found out that the electricity of the whole estate had gone out. We slept in the discomfort of heat and darkness and we had to heat the food in the fridge to avoid spoilage. Power outages are normal and frequent and even more disappointing. Normally, power should have been restored by now but it hasn't. Now, the powerbank is dead, laptop is dead, phone will be dead in a few minutes and I have a video meeting in an hour. The whole situation is making me anxious but I'm still hopeful and I'm trying to keep calm.

While my plight may seem irritating, there are people out there who have had it worse. The people in Ukraine are more bothered about surving each day than to care about their jobs and whatnot. There are also people who have suffered the experience of trafficking everywhere around the world and this is my topic of discussion today.

Trafficking of any form is a common occurrence in many countries and in most cases, it does not involve an abduction of some sort. These things happen even in homes and sometimes, people do not realised that they are being trafficked. It may sound surprising but it is true especially for those who were trafficked as kids. They are groomed to believe that it is not bad and is what they should do. They are taught that if they do something, they will get something and with time, they will not know how to function outside of the arrangement they have become used to.

Some people dropped some advice to be able to help or spot a child trafficking situation and I will list some of them.

  1. If you go to a motel/hotel and see a child, say hi to them and their reaction may just tell you if they are in danger or not. Sadly, this is easier to do if you are a lady. While it is not foolproof, you may just stumble on the truth. The child might be visibly shaking, they may expose an injury in an attempt to wave, they may burst into tears or even straight up ask you for help.

  1. As a tattoo artist, if a guy keeps bringing girls (either one at a time or in groups) to your shop to get the same tattoo, that is a red flag. Some of these s*x trafficking pimps brand the girls they have working under them with a tattoo in other to mark them as their own.

  1. If you find someone with missing shoes, accessories, identification with eyes darting around, it could be a sign that they are in danger and have just escaped a difficult situation. What you can do is to call the police or any governmental or non-governmental bodies that you know can help.

  1. If a child calls you a familial title like mum, dad, uncle, aunty etc in public, there is a chance that it is a call for help and they are in danger. By playing along, you may be saving a life and deterring whatever creep they have encountered from approaching or giving them an opportunity to actually ask for help and tell you of their situation. This is not only applicable to children.

  1. If you find a group of people where only one person talks and the rest look scared, dizzy or possibly drugged, overly covered possibly with shawls, large sunglasses, face caps etc., watch the body language of the rest of the group. Do they shiver or cringe or fold their arms like they're retreating into themselves? Are they trying to speak to you through their eyes? Do they keep looking around? Are they breathing heavily or do their breath hitch occasionally? etc. These could be a sign that they are in a dangerous situation or that something wrong is going on. This situation can be observed by attendants of any kind either receptionists, waiters, food servers etc.

Note that these signs are not foolproof and you should also be careful so as not to put yourself in any danger. You don't have to take matters into your hands but you can call the appropriate authorities, give detailed information about what you know down to the colour of clothes, smell of perfume, possible height description (eg, their head could touch the door frame). Saying something might help save a life.

9
$ 1.28
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Daria I can understand you a lot since I have lived half my life with power outages! I can only say that something positive comes out of these difficult situations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will take note of all these. But I am quite skeptical when it comes to talking to strangers. I remember a time a child (street beggar) held my hand as I was walking past. I had skin reaction for days and had to buy a triple action cream to get rid of it. Since then, I always avoid them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Damn, that must have been a disturbing experience. We always have to be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, light and internet were repetitive themes for me in my posts last year. The problem was terrible, now it has improved by 60%. There are many warning signs in people and sometimes there are none. We just have to be alert on the street.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The light and Internet is quite frustrating, I'm glad yours have improved

Yes, we have to be alert and apply safety measures in our dealings with strangers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First off all, it seems you and your family reside in a top city. You guys depends on public light, wow! For here, we enjoy it anytime the give us.🤣.

One thing about those signs you mentioned is that, if care is not taken, I'll lead to personal trouble just the way we see in America movies. Actor would go and save a little child in the temple of gangsters and ends up buying the case. Just like you said, we get to be careful. Life no be Hollywood

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, the area is kind of new and people are still building houses so light is usually very steady here.

Yeah, one needs to be extra careful. You don't even need to do anything physical if you know an appropriate body to report the situation to

$ 0.00
2 years ago