Saturday Routine

23 30
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

This morning, I had the plan to sleep and wake up really late. Unfortunately, that plan was cancelled when I received an early phone call from my dad. To be sincere, I was a bit annoyed because it was so early and today is the only day of the week I get to have a good sleep after a stressful and sleep deprived week.

Well, after I woke up, I did a quick workout then I decided to go online but it turned out that I didn't have any Internet connection. I called my service provider but I didn't get much help so I just assumed I had ran out of data. I later recharged and was able to come online but then, I didn't have the time to. Around here, Saturdays are usually reserved for thoroughly cleaning up the whole house and being the only one who's available to do that, I couldn't waste much time on my phone.

I usually do not like the idea of waiting for one day to thoroughly clean up the house (notice I keep saying thoroughly, it's different from everyday cleaning. It feels like washing the house from roof to foundation lol). I usually clean different sessions of the house on Friday so that on Saturday, I won't be overwhelmed with work and luckily I did that this week so I didn't have too much to do today but I still needed to do what had to be done.

I started with clearing out some things in the sitting room, then I swept every nook and cranny. Lifting the chairs wearing so easy to do because they weighed way more than me. I luckily didn't break the TV while cleaning that area. I later went it with a rag to dust, then I swept again, mopped with soap, disinfectant and water and did a final dusting. Before mopping, I always announced that I was about to start and I urged everyone to remain where they were till the area was dry. I usually leave a dry path while mopping for those who may still need to pass through and then I clean that area last, after which no one can pass through anymore till it's dry.

While I was at it, I had to get my younger brother to do some tasks too. He took care of the dishes. Almost everything had to be washed but just a few were dirty and he spent over an hour on it lol. I spent so much time cleaning that I didn't even remember to write for read.cash. I planned to write last night but as usual, I slept off from fatigue lol.

After everything was done, I proceeded to prepare breakfast which took me about 30 minutes. It made me remember the breakfast we usually ate at home when I was younger. Every Saturday, my would have either moi moi or akara with either pap or custard. When we are akara, we mostly go out to buy it but when we had moi moi, it was usually made at home. I liked the food but I didn't like it on Saturdays because it took too long to prepare. After working so hard and feeling hungry, we'd have to go through about 2 hrs of food preparation. The actual preparation for cooking took about 1hr while the cooking itself took another hour. I remember feeling like I was probably going to die of hunger each Saturday haha. I didn't look forward to Saturday mornings at all but the afternoons were good. We usually had nothing to do so we did whatever we wanted. As a child, I would go downstairs and play with other kids who lived in the other flats in the apartment. Now, we live alone and I don't see so many kids in this area coming together from their houses to play.

I do miss how things were before because despite how long it took to prepare the meals, everyone would join hands to help while my mum tells us stories about her parents and siblings and even about my dad. We had a lot of bonding moments during those times but it didn't change the fact that I was hungry! Haha. Now, I sometimes make the decisions about what to cook and I never choose moi moi because unlike when we were younger, I'd have to do it alone. I can't have my mum in the kitchen anymore because I'm old enough to take over while she rests and my elder ones don't live with us anymore. So, whenever I have to cook in Saturday, I usually choose something my parents like but that won't be a lot of trouble to prepare.

How are Saturdays in your home? Is it similar or entirely different?

11
$ 3.22
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Like daria like Bilqees... Two ole girls.. Though my Saturday is for cooking, eating and sleeping.. Enjoyment level.. And beside.. Are you the last bornπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ‘€πŸ‘€πŸ‘€πŸ‘€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 You and who is ole?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know yourselves naaa😏😏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lastborn for wia? Second pikin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha... Ehn eh.... How many siblings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saturday mornings are for sanitations no doubt. During childhood, mom would make sure we clean everywhere. You might even be asked to ho mop up the gates πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 Gates!! That's not impossible though lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dey there, e go shock you when they ask you to dust the fence too and remove cobwebs from barb wires Especially during holidays when no school .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 What?? This is serious oh haha. I don't like stress at all lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know you will say that na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saturday is always for house chores at my house waking up early with my siblings doing deep cleaning and washing after that I will just take my bath and just go back to sleep if there is not anything more to do, am always grouchy on Saturday, ooh, Saturday food is always late to prepare cause it after all the house chores will now start cooking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 So you can definitely relate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes oooh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Saturdays is like that when I am at home with my family, but these days we no longer have pap and akara on Saturdays because of the stress of walking all the way to the akara joint, so instead we just take bread and tea. I usually don't do anything these days, it's my siblings that clean up the whole house while the only thing I do is to wash my clothes. I did a lot of chores on Saturdays when I was a child (I am the first born), but now I have retired from them πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 As the first born, you were automatically the house help till others grew up lol. We also now take bread and tea a lot on Saturdays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The weekend is boring for me for some reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, sorry about that πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a typical Saturday for almost every home in naija. My house is likened to be the same but in a little more different way. In my house during those days, Saturdays are fixed for general farm work because that's the only day we are free from school. You need to see the frowning of faces on Saturday morning 🀣🀣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 Saturday is always for work, so annoying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Made a very nice routine. I want to make it like that, but it doesn't happen. Because I know that if you work according to the routine, all the work is very beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you have your routine, you can get used to it over time

$ 0.00
2 years ago