Ate Grandma

12 27
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

A warm greetings to you fams. So sorry I haven't been able to comment on you articles and post. If you remember in my previous posts, I made mention of my grandmother's final burial ceremony which took place today. We have been tirelessly preparing for the ceremony and made sure to put everything in place so as to have an unforgettable and successful event. I have been helping my mom put Everything to place since about 4 days ago. We would been up and doing very early in the morning and retire to bed very late at only to wake up early the next day. It was really tiring, time consuming, energy draining and account draining.

We did the final burial ceremony and reception last week Friday and I really want to thank God almighty for the success of the event. Last week Friday was really a tiring day for me because of the various activities I was engaged in. I had woken up very early in the morning around 5:30am and I started doing some house chores like washing the dishes, sweeping the surroundings and general maintenance of the house. This is to ensure that when we come we will not be bothered about house cleaning because we would have been very tired.

There's these expression in yoruba language used when ones old parents or an older relatives dies. The expression goes does " oti pa iya yii je" meaning 'yiu have eaten this old woman' πŸ˜‚. This were the words my friends said to me and my mom so we all laughed and shared some pleasantries.

Back to my journey on Friday by 7am, I was already done with the house chores, had taken my bath, and had dressed up. I had to wait for some of my neighbors to be ready so we can go together because I was the one to take them to the venue. We all left my neighborhood by 7:30am and chattered a cab to take us to my home town to meet my mom. We stopped on the road to pick up some of my friends. On getting to my home town we went straight to where my mom was preparing the food and drinks to be shared for those that would come to the event. I started helping my mom to run some errands and carry some items from her base to the event site, it was really tiring and my mom was not in the right state of mind because she was already high on "the party" πŸ˜‚ she couldn't not even stay in one place for a moment and was constantly shouting at a person or another to carry this and bring that. I too got my own share of the shout and insults from her. I didn't even get angry cos I understand that she's just trying to make the party a successful one. I and my friends went to the reception venue and started arranging the chairs and tables under the trampoline shade. We also offloaded the drinks into a drum, filled it with ice and water to ensure it coldness through the party. We did all other preparations and made sure it was perfect before anybody arrived at the venue. Just as I finished working, two of my school friends called me to direct them to the venue. I was so happy to see them.

Every other invited guests from my mum's side and from her sisters and brothers side started arriving at the party. It was a blast. When we were called by the MC to the dance floor, people sprayed us with a lot of money. My mom told me she collected almost $140!

But I was angered by the behaviors of some of our guests. They were people from our neighborhood and I was displeased by their gluttonous attitude to the uttermost. They have already collected drinks and foods and I can see it right in front of them, but they kept on yelling at me that they haven't been given anything! I was shocked. Like I am not blind dude, I can see the drink and food in front of you! At first I was giving them attention so I can maintain the relationship between us and so I won't offend anybody mostly because we are neighbors. But when I saw that they were not going to stop demanding for what was not right, I just ignore them and paid no attention to them anymore. Some People can be really annoying.

All in all the event well, and it kind of bring our family together again. I got to see and greet my uncles and aunts that I haven't seen in a while. We talked, laughed and danced together. It was really nice seeing those faces again. I was also able to see my cousins again. Those boys have turned men. One of them had even grown taller than me 🀭

On getting home, all my body was aching me. I had overworked myself, it's not that I really have a choice, no one would do it. So I'm using this opportunity to thank all my friends and well wishes and also to thank @BCH_LOVER for her support by renewing the sponsorship. Thanks a lot sis. May we never have have any course to cry over our loved ones

Thanks for reading my articles. I appreciate itβ™₯️β™₯️

7
$ 6.11
$ 6.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

See Danika o, omo Yoruba dey form cute boy πŸ˜‚ Burial ceremony of a relative can be very stressful, I remember how my grandmother's own went several years ago. Thank God you guys are done with the event and it was successful. May her soul rest in peace

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen o So I can not form cute boy in peace abi😏 I thank God hat chapter is close now sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That day for sure was tiring but still it went good πŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it was.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See Tosin for read.cash. Hehehe. Congratulations on the successful burial.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ everywhere soft. Thanks jare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing, may I just ask if I am right that your have a practice of having a party for the burial ceremony? or maybe I am just mixed up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, we do have parties after the burial ceremonies of an older relative. It's more of a reception

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mama re ile o,ile lo lo tarata.........thank God for the burial success

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks jare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Danny coco...it's so nice to have you back. I'm glad your grandma's burial was successful..you all look so fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes o. Thanks for the compliment😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago