An incident in my community last night

16 36
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Hello friends,

Funny things happen to everyone right? It may be you looking for your phone when you are holding it, or jumping high up after seeing a long thing that seemed to be a snake only for you to discover that it was one useless belt. Well, I or should I say we (I and my family) experienced ours today.

It happened just some few hours ago. I was busy chatting on WhatsApp in the sitting room and my mom was sitting opposite where I was. She had already slept off while her phone was still playing the video she was streaming online and my sister was in her room watching film. I was actually trying to reason with someone on WhatsApp on a particular topic when my sister suddenly ran out of her room with clear horror on her face which is implying that something is definitely wrong. I was not bothers at first cos she can be like that sometimes, so I just continued my chatting.

Then she said in a horrific yet low tone that ' it's like our community is being attacked'. I first looked at her with a ' I'm not falling for that trick' look, but she was really serious. She said she heard some people down our street shouting and screaming from her window. So I decided to play along with her and followed her to her room. On getting there, I went straight to the window and listened for any strange noise. Lo and behold, she was telling the truth. I could hear some people shouting and crying. Some were even calling the blood of Jesus for help while some were just screaming.

My heart started racing really hard because looking at the happenings all around Nigeria and especially the city I currently live in, we were all thinking it's either fulani herdmen or worst still unknown gunmen. My sister went to wake up my mom and relate what was happening to her. She stood up and was already shaking. We followed the safety procedures given to us to carry out in case of an attack. We put off the lights, drew the curtains, stayed clear of the windows and remained low on the ground. But after some minutes I realised that the sound was still coming from the same place and same voices or should I say an almost repetition of the previous words. Though I heard some names which were truly the names of some of our neighbors, I discover that there were now more names being mentioned.

I then told my mom to call our zone chairman whose home was just a stone throw From ours to help confirm what was going on since his house was much more closer to the supposed site of incident than ours. My mom dialed his number and to our amazement, when he picked his call he said he was already was sleeping! I was shocked. How can there be an attack nearby your house with so much cries and shouts and you are sleeping? I thought for a while that if only we can get a peep out of the window and possibly go outside to see what was happening, only then can we confirm whether or not we were truly under attack. Well, I couldn't ask my mom to do any of the above cos she had to visit the toilet twice or three times within 10 mins when she saw the way my sister was crying and desperately praying to God like a barren woman threatened to be thrown out of the house if she doesn't conceive. I couldn't even look at my sister talkless of ask her to go do the peeping or to go outside, she will either faint on the spot or swear for me till she faints. Either way, fainting must be involved.πŸ˜‚

So, I summed up courage to act like a brave warrior ready to lay his life down for his friends, but I know in the depth of my heart that I wasn't really prepared to die. Come on I'm still young and I haven't done anything for the Kingdom of God nor have I built any house or bought any Benz 😁 Anyways Sha, I looked out through the window and all I see was just trees moving to and fro, dancing to the movement of the wind, also some houses with their lights on with nobody in sight. Then I looked a bit further, and saw some people actually crying and in pain carrying a guy, trying to put him in a car.

Our chairman called again only to tell us that we need not worry cos the sounds we heard is from the fifth house from our house and it was because a guy got drunk and did the unthinkable in his drunk state; he decided to show NEPA who is the boss by trying to remove the cut-out from the meter! Well, in the process of doing that, the big head got shocked and fell down thereby leading to all the drama and noises we've been hearing. After hearing this, I was so furious at first but later started laughing as I recount all we have been through some minutes ago and also seeing my sister still sobbing quietly under the bed, earnestly begging God to spare her lifeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Well, it's been a stressful night. So I rose up, dust myself then move towards my mom and started comforting her to relieve her of her distress and shock. I then took her to her room and left my sister to herself as she quietly crawled out and dust herself. Few minutes later, we were gisting and laughing hard as we made jest of my sister who was supposed to act as the mama of the house and protect us but rather left the protecting to Mr. Thin air and crawled under the bed. It was then we remembered we had switched off all the bulbs and our phones. Thank God none of us had posted the false alarm on our social media.

Though the incident was indeed funny and I still can't stop laughing as I Writer's it now, I'm actually grateful to God that it was what we thought it was. If not, who knows what could have happened? And believe me, I haven't built my house, I get design wey dey my mind wey I wan build, so I say No to death now. But who knows what God has in stock for everyone?

Thanks for reading this article. I also wanna use this medium to thanks @FashTioluwa and kushyzee for the head up on plagiarism on readcash. Thanks buddies. You have shown to be indeed helpful and supportive.

6
$ 0.62
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hayst I was so serious whike reading happenings are playing on my mind and HAHA i just laugh right now, just hope that this will never happen in real life. May the God protects us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thanks for reading my articles Janleo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very much welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmmmmmm suspense filled. On a norms with the look of things in Nigeria, one has to be suspicious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo πŸ˜‚ at first I was afraid that it truly was an attack but after reading what truly happened, I just ended up laughing. I won't blame you and your sister for thinking it was an attack sha, with the way things are happening in Nigeria these days, it's normal to think that way

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nor be lie. The shout and screaming was just too much. But I thank God sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God it wasn't a serious incident. But it funny o🀣🀣🀣🀣. Well with what is happening in the country now you have to be very careful. I pray for God protection for you and your family members.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen, thanks Jeta that was so kind o you😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is just a case of nobody wa die, but everybody wa go heaven. πŸ˜‚. Danika nr need to fear, u nr be man.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omo nor be lie o, abi you don ready to die?πŸ₯΄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't stop laughing at this 🀣🀣. I'm just imagining the scenario, the laying down on floor and the fears🀣. Things like this happens and it usually occurs at an odd hour or situation

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha if it were to be my mom, you both wouldn't have gone un punish, but it is true, considering the happenings in our country now, everyone is so scared that the least gunshot heard is an approval to run and hide..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My dear nor be small thing. May God protect us all in Jesus name

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo.... I can't stop laughing, what an interesting story, if I was the one too, I wouldnt ask my sister to check what's up.. Yo have funny and scary neighbors if you ask me. Also you're welcome man

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I have them πŸ˜‚ Thanks a lot for the advice bro. I literally went to read more on I and found it to be a big crime

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah.. I followed you up too..more love from my side

$ 0.00
1 year ago