Meet the artist behind Breadlytoast

5 96

So guys we really seem to be dragging alot of new artists off Opensea to WAX so the community is doing something right I have to say his work is really cool and the man has a massive imagination . Please have a read see what he has to say ,

Hey man

Hello! How is the day treating you thus far?

Not to bad you ?

So far so good. Just made some coffee, the day is just beginning

Nice I am up nearly 7 hours

Not bad, I look forward to being in that part of the day. Rumor has it that we will be getting a nice snow storm in a few hours, I am a fan of snow .

Yea we have the warning as well I suppose we should start at the start how did you discover NFTs ?

I discovered them kind of by accident. In 2018 I made a Metamask and purchased some CryptoKitties to see firsthand what that was all about. Ultimately I was frustrated and confused by the whole thing and didn't understand the concept behind gas fees or the blockchain in general. I stepped aside from that after less than a week and forgot about it until this past year. People had been telling me for a long while that I should try my hand at NFTs. I had heard the buzz of Punks, but that just sounded like another CryptoKitties to me so I assumed that was all there really was to NFTs. I didn't realize there were so many great artists & animators within the community It was ultimately a Podcast on the Duncan Trussell Family Hour featuring Popwonder that fully sparked my interest. It made me realize that this was something that I was capable of getting involved with and that the community was full or artists .

I am guessing you started on Opensea ?

For better or worse, yes. After doing some initial research it seemed like that was a better place than any to dive in. Turns out that wasn't necessarily the case, but it motivated me to pick up the pencil again and start creating after a bit of a hiatus. Though I made some initial mistakes with Minting, pricing, etc. on Opensea - I feel those are mistakes that had to be made somewhere. I didn't yet have a community to ask; I had just created a twitter account & did not know where to turn for advice aside from asking google .

And what was the idea behind the project ?

The first project I actually scrapped all together -- that one was titled 'Oil & Ink.' It was high res photos of oil paintings I had created fused with surreal ink patterns and drawn-over digitally. I had that Collection up for a few weeks before pulling the plug - that was really where I made most of my initial mistakes with minting and all that. I then released the BreadlyToast Collection. The idea behind it was that it would be a series of short looping animations - between 24 & 90 frames each. I was really just doing it for myself; it was fun to create new surrealist-style animations and see them come to life. I still plan to release longer animations on that collection in the future though they take a while to create .

Did it take long to start for them to sell ?

Oh yes, I sold one after about 3 months and that is the only one I have sold thus far haha. That's what happens when no one knows who you are I suppose. I will likely burn most of them in the end .

So what made you join the WAX blockchain ?

What really got me curious was Bohnart's Boneheads collection. I had been eyeing them for a while, for months I saw him promoting the WAX series - so I purchased WAX & sat on it for about 3 months. A few weeks ago I finally caved & managed to snag the 30/30 of Head 080. I made the announcement on Twitter that I was now a Wax-man and the community welcomed me with open arms. Mr Bohn generously sent me a handful of NFTs by WAX artists to start my collection

Have you launched on WAX yet ?

I launched 2 weeks ago with a collection called breadcritter ~ it is a series of 4-frame looping animations of different critters. I've always been a sucker for drawing creatures so very happy to be doing this & putting it out there on WAX .

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/collection/breadcritter

Ah this the only NFT you dropped on WAX so far ?

This 'Blue Dog' was the first in the series, so far there are 4 others I have dropped as part of this breadcritter collection. I plan to drop 1 or 2 new animations every Saturday. It's a nice achievable self-motivating goal that keeps me animating most nights of the week!

Ah how has the community reacted to your project ?

So far it has been an overwhelmingly positive response. After having nearly zero sales on Opensea I was shocked that my first 2 WAX NFT's were sold out in the first 48 hours. I assumed it would take weeks/months for people to scoop any up. I had no idea people other than myself would enjoy these little beasts, but I am happy that they do!

How do you create your NFTs ?

I enjoy using the Adobe suite; for these I primarily use Photoshop. I draw doodles of creatures in my sketchbook throughout the week and then upload the ones I like to my computer. Once in photoshop I draw 3 frames of movement for the creature, and then 4 frames of movement for the background and I loop it. This is what gives them that stand-in-place jiggly vibe

How long does each NFT take to create ?

About 6 hours per NFT, maybe a little more depending on if I overthink it. The upcoming release for Saturday I really got stuck in my head over. Had a difficult time deciding on the background so it was more like 10-12 hours .

Any sneak peaks ?

Not sure of a title yet ~ I have a nice view of ratlife from my apartment and encounter rats on a daily basis on the subway, so this one hits home pretty well.

That's class are you going to animate it ?

Thank you. oh yes but of course!

That will drop on Saturday .

It will, along with one other that I am working on .

As your new I am guessing no collabs done yet but who would you like to work with?

I am rather fresh to the space, so no collabs have happened yet. I am open to it! There are so many amazing artists on WAX, I am really just starting to scrape the surface of all the talent on here. @bohnart1 & @nippynip2 come to mind as people I would be extremely happy to work with -- though there are lots of others as well

Is your Opensea project dead ?

That is a good question. It is not dead though I am currently much less invested in it. I plan to have WAX be my main focus from here on out & will release things on Opensea periodically but significantly less often. I am actually very excited to start incorporating audio into the Opensea project. I am secretly an audio engineer & have amassed a large collection of self recorded/produced sound-snippets that I look forward to using in future Opensea Releases. I also have a 1/1 collection in the works that I am very pleased with which will drop in the coming months on Opensea ~ called 'BreadlyToast's Puddle Party.' Or something like that, the title is a work in progress hah. Basically really detailed and trippy animations of things turning into puddles and then morphing back into themselves in a looped gif. The first 3 drops for that will be a loaf of bread, a shoe, & a wizard .

What has been your favorite NFT to create ?

I would have to say 'Happy Grub.' it was the first animated NFT I released & I am very happy with it; it currently lives on Opensea. My favorite on WAX is 'Blue Dog'.

What has been the most exciting part of doing your project ?

The most exciting part is that I am constantly creating new material. I can draw something in my sketchpad and then 2 days later it will be wriggling around before my eyes. I have never attempted that kind of artistic turnaround before, I love it. It is also very exciting that a handful of people really seem to enjoy these breadcritters! I wasn't too sure if they would resonate with anybody. It has felt really refreshing setting up personal parameters for this project & sticking to it as well; keeping everything consistent and in the same style .

What has been the hardest part ?

The most challenging part has been keeping things simple & stepping off when an NFT is done. I tend to overcomplicate projects/animations very quickly so limiting myself to 4 frames for each critter has been difficult

What your family think of your project ?

My wife thinks the project is great ~ she is happy that I have this community and enjoys seeing my creative process! She doesn't entirely understand the world of NFTs but she is happy that it brings me joy. I have a son but he is quite new to the world, too young to speak or to know anything about what I do. I imagine they are both grateful that I am not stinking up the place with oil paints every night .

Have you got anyone into collecting NFTs ?

I have a good friend who I am trying to bring in to this space. He's a comicbook-style artist with interesting ideas & would really enjoy NFTs if he gave it a shot. He will be onboard soon .

What you like to do to unwind ?

I really like being in nature so I will occasionally drive out of the city to a secluded woods & spend time hiking with the family. Noodling on guitar or mixing old audio projects is also a great way to unwind. For a quick pre-slumber unwinding I enjoy watching the rats in the alley. There is something mesmerizing about them when they are scurrying about .

Tell us something random about you ?

I put my candy in the freezer so it is cold when I eat it. I also eat ice-cream with a fork.

Where the best place to keep up with the project ?

https://twitter.com/Breadlytoast

Where can we buy your NFTs ?

You can keep up with Breadcritter drops on https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/collection/breadcritter

Any chance of a competition for the readers ?

Sounds great! let's do it I have a Wrinkle Dweller we can give away

So before we finish up is there anything you want to say or add ?

I want to sincerely thank you for reaching out to chat. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me & not openly judging when I said I like to watch rats in the alley to unwind . I am very grateful for all the amazing people I have met so far in this space & am excited to keep the breadcritter train rolling! Even if at times weird or grotesque, these critters are made with love. I put my all into these little beasts, may they bring you some form of happiness. Thank you so much Crackers!

Thank you for your time and I think people coming into NFT world will enjoy your work . Its always a pleasure to chat to an artist .

This is very true! That means alot, thank you for the support .

Anytime .

So guys check out his and work and follow him on twitter and to be in with a chance to win his NFT check out the link below .

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1495915223491956742?s=20&t=3Ncs32SfXlf7dVnp1K8oRA

10
$ 17.96
$ 17.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 12
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

To be honest, I love NFTs especially those with abstract tones. I really wish to one day create my own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why dont you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really know how to go about it and then I don't have the funds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you mean you can collect some nfts for free and wax is quite low at the mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please explain more

$ 0.00
2 years ago