My girlfriend overheard my family criticizing her.

4 139
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

February 1, 2022

Welcome back to another edition of Storytime! I'm going to tell you about another surprising and heartbreaking true story in today's blog. It was terribly sad, and no one deserves to be humiliated in this manner. 

Disclaimer: I do not claim to be the author of this story; rather, I am summarizing a narrative that describes the events of the story. 

This is a true experience written by a 35-year-old MALE who wishes to remain nameless.


My Family Criticizing my Girlfriend

I went to my parents' house for dinner last week. A couple times a month, we get together as a family. It's been a family tradition for years. My partner typically joins you for these dinners, but she had to cancel due to work commitments. I got up halfway through dinner to use the restroom, and my girlfriend texted me that she was outside. She came over to hang out after getting off work early. She would have walked in normally, but she required assistance bringing in some gifts.

My twin brothers and sisters' birthdays are coming up next week, and my girlfriend had prepared gifts for them. My family had no idea that my Girlfriend was there at this moment. We entered the house and proceeded to the kitchen, where we overheard my family chatting. 

My sister expressed her relief that my girlfriend was gone because she couldn't take having a family night ruined by my girlfriend's annoying. My other sister agreed that my girlfriend is obnoxious and nasty. My father said that they should be kind to her, and my mother responded, "She was sweet and all, but I can't believe "familysucksthrowaway" like her obesity." He's capable of so much more."

My family, including my father, agreed, and my sister added that I was dating less since I'm still on the healing from my previous relationship, which ended five years ago. I was taken aback. My family has always been supportive of my girlfriend, and I've never heard them criticize her. To be honest, I never heard my family say anything negative about anyone.

My girlfriend approached the kitchen and placed the gifts around the counter. She was crying and muttered something about "Happy Birthday" before leaving the house. My family was taken aback and ashamed. I didn't wait for a response when I asked my family what the heck was wrong with them. I chased after my girl, who was crying in her car. 

She is normally tough, yet she values family above all else. Aside from an alcoholic father with whom she has no contact, she has no family. My family served as a surrogate family for her, and it was something she had always desired. When my family accepted her and invited her to family gatherings, she was pleased.

I'm not sure what they mean when they say she's annoying. What makes matters worse is that I had planned to propose to her in the coming months. 

My gf hasn't said anything about it since then, and she hasn't spoken to me about it. She's always desired a family and is baffled as to why my family dislikes her or what she's done wrong. I don't want to lose her over this; I'd rather she be with me than with my family. This is where we are now. I'm not sure if I want them in my life at all. They've all come to me with feeble apologies filled with reasons. When I asked if my mother had apologized to my girlfriend, she said I could pass on the apology.

So, what do I do now? 

I don't want to leave my family, but my girlfriend is more important to me right now. I want her to know that I'm completely beside her and that she won't feel guilty if I have to cut my family out.


Closing Thought

I'm glad the author is a keeper because she has already lost her family and now she has to go through it again. It's unfortunate that they didn't even apologize, and even if they did, the bond has already been severed, and she will never be true to herself in their presence. I know what it's like to have a toxic family because I've been there. 

Cutting off toxic family members is good for your mental health, and I just wanted to let you know that it's okay to do so.

Lead Image (edited by yours truly)

Date: February 1, 2022 
Author: Corpsekunno 
Title : My girlfriend overheard my family criticizing her.
Article no.: 92

Sponsors/Supporters

Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty

I'd want to express my heartfelt gratitude to my sponsors, readers, comments, up-voters, fellow authors, and any of my online mates who never tired of reading my nonsense and continue to support me. You're one of the reasons I keep coming back to this platform and continuing to write. Thank you very much.😘♥️

---

Author’s Note

Hey! Corpsekkuno here! 

2 days ago was my 9th Monthly Celebration for being here in read.cash. I am really happy to be here. Thank you for being with me through thick and thin, I really do appreciate it. ❤️

If you enjoyed this article, please consider subscribing and leave a comment of what you think about the story I've shared on the description box below, because I have a lot of exciting things to share with you in the near future. 

Thank you so much for reading this; I appreciate it and hope you enjoy and have a nice day!

Previously:

4
$ 0.71
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

Comments

Ow, wow. Passing on the apology makes them so much worse. I mean I'm sure the girl has been good to them she even brought them presents. If I were that girl, I would walk away from that family and break up with the guy. I deserve better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a true story and I feel ashamed for what family muttered about their son's girlfriend, even me can't stand those words and I will cry if they will downgrade me like that even if I show them kindness and put an effort to make them like me. Sometimes our family can be toxic to the point that we need to choose if we will stay or leave them. I hope that the girl still accept the man cause I can feel how much the guy love the woman.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's is a painful story,if I was the girl I would feel the same way,actually I can relate to this.I have experienced being criticized by people in the side of my husbands family.But I just ignore them what's important to me that I am loved by my husband.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sad for her. It's really painful that the family of her boyfriend uttered some foul words to her. It's the problem if there will a toxicity of the family. It makes you sad. It makes you stress.

I was amazed of her boyfriend too because no matter what happens her boyfriend always beside at her. It's really hard on her part about the situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago