October Things and More

46 67
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello fellow readers and friends how is the start of your week? Yesterday I was feeling tired but was generally in a good mood. I was busy at my full-time job. I did have some slow periods and I used that time to catch up on reading some articles. I'm good now and feel rested up.

So I'm just going to talk a little bit about October. I'll talk about the American holiday Columbus Day and how it's kind of being changed to something else. I feel Halloween has to be mentioned. I'll let you in on how I celebrate it. The last thing will be recognizing a few authors for my continued "Ber" celebration.

Columbus Day

Well this holiday has been celebrated for quite some time in America. It's based on Kristopher Columbus landing in America in 1492. All the history books of the past give him credit for discovering America. I'm not going to lie to you I've always viewed this story as inaccurate for a long time. Recently it's been accepted that he was not the first here. It's not the only reason why the name of the holiday is fading away though.

Early settlers in America mistreated the Native Americans who were already here hundreds of years prior. I'm not for certain when but a new movement has been pushing for it to be renamed Indigenous PeoplesΒ Day. This day is to celebrate past, present, and futures of native peoples throughout the US. I have no problem with this because I always felt Columbus Day was a big lie anyways. Also why not celebrate them they were here first and a lot has been learned from them. It is already celebrated in over half the states. I think it just a matter of time the federal government changes the name and I think they should.

Halloween

I think everyone is familiar with Halloween so I'll tell you how I do it. I'm a little old to walk the streets and say trick or treat at someone's door 🀣 What our family does is make a big pot of chili and some bread for early dinner. Cheese over the top of chili a must along with some crackers.

Chili from the other day

We eat early because we have to be outside to greet our trick or treaters. We don't decorate our yard with all the decorations. But we will wear simple costumes and have a small fire if weather permits. We make a few candy bags for our nephews, nieces, friend's kids and close neighborhood kids. Hey they get a little more extra than the other random kids that stop by. Don't worry about the other kids because we give out full size candy bars 🀣 A lot try to be sneaky and hit us twice. It's fun seeing the kids, parents, family, and friends. Well onto some mentions now.

October "Ber" Authors

@ARTicLEE This guy can write and I appreciate his support to me. He can turn a normal day into a master piece of an article. One of the most talented writers here and can write in many different styles. Very wise and always seems to have the best advice.

@JRamona20 A lot of the times my tummy grumbles reading her posts, all the delicious looking food. She's also everywhere, I see her more than anybody else in other's comments. I could probably look at every single article I've ever published and see a comment from her. Such a nice and pleasant individual.

@Jeansapphire39 A great and amazing individual who to me is easy going. I enjoy reading her outlook on personnel activities. Wish I was more active in Noise so I could interact with her more. This alone should be enough reason to get back on track there. Truly a fighting mom!!

@GarrethGrey07 A first time mom who works hard and figures things out. I find her funny and interesting to read from. Usually has a lot on her plate but always figures things out and is ready for the next challenge. I'm amazed with your never giving up attitude and taking care of your family.

@Princessbusayo A caring and very positive person. Has a really good outlook in life. One who uses her time so wisely. She really gets the do to others what others do to you. Met her by accidently over tipping her by accident. What a good mistake I made here 😊

I must apologize I was only suppose to recognize just three authors. I just came to realize I have so many more I want to recognize and there is only two more "ber months" to go. It's very possible those last two months will contain more than three each. I ask we all congratulate these individuals. Also for those mentioned, please comment below so I can properly award you not only for your efforts but for being so special πŸ€—

Final Thoughts

October is a fun month for me. I hope to enjoy the rest of the month and hope you do as well. I can't wait for the rest of the month to unfold. I smile looking forward because I have got a feeling I will see some of you and family in interesting costumes πŸ‘» Look for my next article to be another challenge I have thought up. All I will say is the theme is helping others out.

Take care and thank you so much for your support. Love you all ❀️

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

Lead imagine was obtained from unsplash.

24
$ 1.73
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 23
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I'm a little old to walk the streets and say trick or treat at someone's door

I can't help but to laugh after reading this, I missed being in childhood where I'm going anywhere, knocking their doors and shout "Trick or treat." There's also a poem where me and my childhood friend always shouting on someone's door. "Treat of trick, smell my feet. Give me something food to eat, if you don't? I don't care. I will give you quite a scare." I'm surprised I'm still familiar with it 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha we had the same poem but it ended with something good to eat. Maybe it had your ending I can't remember. I forgot about that poem but never said that at anyone's door 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was not familiar that Halloween is in October today I got to know from your blog

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good to know you learned of this :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, thank you for considering me, and I'm speechlessπŸ˜‚. Yeah I don't know what to say because I wasn't around yesterday and this is what I am going to read right now πŸ˜‚.

Anyway we don't do Halloween party and we don't decorates, and we also don't have trick or treat. But we have all souls day. However we give Candie's to children's during Christmas Day. That's the only day where children's come to knock our door and great us Merry ChristmasπŸ˜….

$ 5.00
1 year ago

It's well deserved. I enjoy reading your articles. I like to read and learn about the author. This is what you do a lot and I appreciate it. If I for just a short moment took away some stresses I have met my objective:) God bless you, your son, and partner.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

October is indeed a good month and exciting especially to the children who enjoyed doing treat or trick. I remember when I was a kid, my neighbourhood gave something like candies to us, while we are wearing costumes. Now we are old and I missed those Halloween celebrations.

Anyways, nice to meet you here :) and belated welcome.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for stopping by. I remember those younger days running around as well. Often they ended the next morning with an upset stomach 🀣 NTMY and take care

$ 0.00
1 year ago

October is always a good month by number. Ten (10) is such a nice number.

1+0=1

1x0=0

1/0=Infinity.

I noticed you tipped me 10 cents. So, I also reciprocate with a 5+5=10 cents.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha I didn't day dream that though 🀣 Amusing way to look at though. Take care

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great choice of authors! Oh, wait. I'm there lol! Thanks for the appreciation. I appreciate you too!

Changing Columbus Day to Indigenous People Day sounds like a good idea. America was not discovered but re-discovered by Columbus. There were already early settlers there.

The practice of trick or treat has been adopted by most of those here in our country. We don't celebrate Halloween though.

$ 5.00
1 year ago

I think the name change is appropriate. Halloween is not a national holiday here either but is the customs of it are practiced by many. Well indeed you are one of the authors and many won't argue on my choice here :) I hope this kick starts a very productive month for you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks so much for that! That's an earlier Christmas present lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well deserved!! I think many won't argue my choice in you. I hope this is a good jump for you to have a great rest of the month.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

October is here and fall is going to make us work more on the delivery. I think it'd be fun halloween this year for me, as I get to work during this time. Hope you have a good week ahead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Esmee I imagine it will be busy for driver as many would be handing candy out and might not be cooking food. You have a great week as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay from now you should add me in the list I am also very loving caring etc πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha one should be noticed from others :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tbh, not know about Columbus the day before. So, while reading it builds a more interest to research it more. Hehe, Halloween day for me is a kinda scary day. lets c what is up this time in the university.

Omg, Cool dude your generosity and respect toward other authors are appreciated. Congrats to all, everyone is doing great here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. So I won't sneak around the corner and scare you with a boo than πŸ‘». Have a great day with studies. Learn and Prosper.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How was that year like? I mean when Kristopher Columbus landed in 1492? Such a long year though. Thanks for sharing the little info about Columbus Day and how you celebrate your Halloween day.

Wow! I got to be selected for the "Ber" months, with others. Congratulations to us. Thanks so much for being such a generous man here.

I'm glad I met you here through the accidental tipping too 😎😎

God bless you always.

$ 5.00
1 year ago

No mistake this time, haha. Keep being the positive you and spreading it into others :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless you πŸ™ I really do appreciate this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for the mentioned sir. My heart smiling while reading this. You gave me a motivations sir and thank you so much. Me too sir I love the foods you've shared. It always makes me hungry. 🀀 I love reading your article sir. You are truly kind person. You are one of my inspirations here in the platform, I'm sure not only me but everybody sir. God bless you always. πŸ˜‡

$ 5.00
1 year ago

Thank you and hope the motivation serves you well. Just keep being you and don't change a bit. I'm grateful to always seeing your "Sir" comment all so often. God bless you and family

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're always welcome sir. ❀️ Yes sir you deserve it. I respect you a lot that's why I'm calling you a "Sir" sir. God bless you too and to your family. πŸ™πŸ˜‡ Thank you so much for the blessing sir. πŸ₯°β€οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also appreciate grethgrey for being a mom and struggle a lot for kids and home. I inspired from such people. In my opinion you're also a kind and good person. Well still i don't have any special plans for Halloween but who see the future 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha my bad I thought @ARTicLEE is a girl and I have recently used sis for her In coments, well apologies to him, indeed he writes very well don't know him personally but when he visit my article it brought a smile on my face so now will engage with him, as holloween is concearned I think we gonna celebrate it in our department, well dear Bob don't forget my candies I will be the first one knocking your door for candies haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's ok a lot of have misidentified him, he is humble . Have a great rest of your evening

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG the Halloween is fast approaching, time flies so fast lol. Not all Filipinos have a trick and treat during Halloween. All we know is to visit our loved ones at the cemetery.

Thanks for the mentioning! Articlee is one of best writer that I've known since I've started here. A supportive person. A nice guy but a humble one.

$ 5.00
1 year ago

No problem Jean. I really appreciate your support as well. I hope you sleep well tonight and have a good day ahead when you wake up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm gonna sleep now. My eyes want to closed hahaha. Have a nice day ahead.

Thank you again and again hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

October is great month for me even, you know it very well. I hope this month will bring many good news for you and author you mentioned.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. May it be for all of us :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your take and attitude towards Christopher Columbus day. Give credit to where it is rightly due.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As where it should be!! I think it should be with the Native Americans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think so too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well i never thought you guys celeberate columbus day, i just know that he was the first one to discover America

$ 0.01
1 year ago

History has been changed as of right now they give the Vikings credit for discovering. Many other theories though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alot of celebration during Bermonths esp.the halloween and Christmas day, but I never experience having trick or treat all my life🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's ok not all cultures practice it. I'm sure there are many customs and celebrations through out the world that would be fun to partake in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've known Columbus in the history book even though I didn't live in America. He's quite famous all around the globe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed he is well known. So he wasn't the first here but he had a great impact here. It lead to many people making the trip here to start a new life on unknown soils

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No doubt this Ber month brings delightful autumn here too . About Columbus, I read also the same that he is the first person who discovered this part of land . Well some arguments around with different theories.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well there are new facts that have been accepted and the history books are being rewritten. It's just hard to imagine that so many for so long looked the other way to change history here. There are still a lot arguments who should receive credit but it's not Columbus. Yes let the "ber" months change us all for the better!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago