Labor Day

16 34
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

An American holiday that many see as the end of the summer and the begining of the school year. This year we will celebrate it on 5 September. A lot of Americans consider it Labor Day weekend. The leading Monday is when the Holiday is observered. A lot of us use that day to recover from the celebrating we did on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. The actual holiday celebrates the achievements of the American workers. It has been a national holiday since 1894 and his celebrated on the first Monday of September.

Unemployed workers heading to Washington to parade on the first observation of Labor Day. September 3, 1894 photo credits to www.usatoday.com

This year the holiday weekend coincides with the opening weekend of college football. I believe this is the case every year but I'm not sure that is a fact. Usually not the best weekend of games though because s lot of the big universities play cupcake games against smaller schools. I'm actually watching some today.

Grilling/Smoking

Yes this happens a lot of the time. Actually there are plenty neighbors today just doing that. Hamburgers, hot dogs, steaks, and many other items are grilled. Things that accompany those grilled foods are several different salads, chips, and of course many choices of drinks.

Something that has grown over the past few years is people using smokers. It has been done over the years but more and more people are doing it now. Those who smoke do with assortment of meats, beans, fish, Mac & Cheese, baked beans, and several other things. Oh American barbecue a must try if you haven't had.

Beef ribs 😋 photo obtained from www abc.net.au

Camping

Most definitely you want to book your camp site well in advance if you want to this. You may get lucky if you pitch a tent but if you have a camper or RV those spots fill up several weeks before. Usually this is a whole weekend affair. Grilled, smoked, and picnic style foods are on the menu while camping. If you camp near a body of water you will most likely partake in some fishing. Camping can be a great family adventure for some bonding time.

Parties

Oh ya, some invite friends over to eat or drink. Usually a mid afternoon affair to get full than drink into the darkness. This is common for those who live in cities and for the younger college aged students. Don't get me wrong middle aged people partake as well and not all college aged kids do this. Also not only city people.

Final Thoughts

I have done all these events over the Labor Day weekend. From my childhood days of going to the cabin with my father and having my best friend tag along. Camping in an RV alongside the river or pitching a tent and living primitively. Family and friends coming over for barbecues and grill outs. I even for a few years when I was in my twenties had friends over to drink. I have done most of these as a father as well so my son has some good memories as well. For some this is also the end of such activities until next Summer. Fall is a day or so away and winter will be here shortly.

Today I sit here reflecting on those memories because of a rare occurrence. That is I'm not doing any of the things I mentioned above that are associated with the Labor Day weekend. I almost always do something over this weetend. As many of you know, I'm recovering from major eye surgery so I guess I will just relax and celebrate why this holiday was created for, being an American Worker.

Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate you all who follow me. I hope you all have great weekends where your at. Take care friends!!

Leading imagine from www.calenderz.com

9
$ 0.91
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.06 from @pajeroz
+ 9
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Looks like your weekend was pretty good. I only got Sunday as a holiday. I was working on delivery shift on Saturday. Enjoy the new week :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I'm very sure it will be a very interesting day. I hope you enjoy yourself, dear. Have a wonderful time tomorrow

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for stopping by. I'll probably just try to relax and rest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are your time ahead to our time or was it our time was ahead of your time? Just curious. Anyway I really have noticed that American people love's grill foods, I have witnessed it when I work in Hong Kong as there are lots of white people there. Grilled foods are really delicious.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm minus 6 hours from GMT. It's Sunday Morning here. Yes grilled foods are definitely a favorite here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

On labor day, we should also remind all the sacrifices of all labourer in the development of America. No doubt, labourer are backbone for any nation. Happy Labor day to you. Being Military man, you can better understand their feelings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes having military service I think of all holiday differently. I see them for what they represent first. Thank you, friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The labor day is as well clashing with my school matriculation day. It's September 5th too, Tomorrow. As you are enjoying your labor with fresh fishes, I will be here too, having my fun, but not with fresh fishes lol. Happy Sunday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for stopping by again:-) I hope you enjoy your day today and as well as tomorrow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Labor Day :) May you enjoy the holiday with your loved ones,and a time for you to rest and be better. I really love the barbecue! It's my favorite .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Lynlyn. BBQ one of my favorites as well. Do you have a Labor day in PH? I was thinking maybe it was in May.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah,you're right. It's May 1 :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those beef ribs are just in time. It's nearing lunchtime here and now I know what I will have for lunch lol!

Happy Labor Day! Enjoy your long weekend :) Here in our country, May 1 is Labor Day :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The barbecues are my favorite sir. The meat barbecue is the best and I really missed it. I love camping sir but I didn't experience it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for reading. Nothing beats a good BBQ!!. Maybe someday you enjoy some camping.l

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir. Barbecue is super satisfying that's why it makes me satisfied a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago