Three Things a Writer Should Avoid

17 38
Avatar for CoinBitShac
1 year ago

As an aspiring writer I always remind myself to stay calm and focus. Though my writing skills is not enough but Im trying to improve it and I believe that as long as you have the heart to be better, one day you will not realized how good you are. As an aspiring writers we have things that we should avoid it is the reason why some writers cannot write and doubt their capabilities. You have the skills all you need to do is to improved it and you cannot do it in one day it takes a process.

If you already convince yourself to write. Here are the words or thoughts that you should avoid.

Excuses

A tail of our hundred reasons, if you have the will to write go on and chase it. Don't use the word "but" to hinder your will.

"I want to write but Im not fluent in english."

"I want to write but I think no one will read it"

"I want to write and published an article but their are lots of good writers here."

"I want to write but I do not have a formal degree in writing and my bio is so lame."

Let's counter all your "but" an excuse. When you are writing a piece its not important if you don't have degree, you're not fluent in english? No one will read it? Their are many good writers out their and you will be out shadow?

Well honestly speaking the most powerful tool in writing is not about degree. Its about our experience, most of the good articles is based on personal experience of a person and mostly they are one of the best sellers. Start writing based on your experience, you are good in cooking? Then you can write an article about the different recipes that you cooked. You are good in using musical instruments? You can make a journal about it. You are good in farming? You can write different tips on how to do a good farming. Theirs a lot of ways to be a writer and your experience is enough to be your motivation. You are still doubtful?

"I want to write but I don't have time Im busy with my work."

Another excuse? We have 24 hours everyday, if you really want to write you just need to find your motivation some writers write in a subway, in a coffee shop, in a canteen even in a restroom. You just need to manage your time wisely. If you have the motivation and limits on your time you can continue and those but excuses will fade away.

Regrets

How can you deal with your regrets? Another block that will hinder your will to write.

"Im too old now, do I have the credibility to be a writer?"

"I should have write the things that I thought last week, now its gone."

"If I attended the different webinars/seminars about writing in the past then maybe I have some courage to be a writer."

Your regrets will make you demotivated, instead of pushing you towards your goal. Your regrets will push you backwards and will be stuck on it. Don't live with your regrets and do nothing because of you will continue to live with your regrets nothing will happened. Just remember as long as you are still alive you have the power to be want you want and continue to strive.

Worries

The most destructive habit, you are worrying for nothing. If you doubt yourself and overthink on different possibilities you will be forever stuck on those "what if" of your life.

"What if I cannot write a good piece and no one will like it."

"What if some people will laugh about my piece."

"What if people will judge about my writing skills."

Don't be stuck on your what if, you will never know the results unless you try. Its better to try and fail, be rejected than to failed and rejected without trying on it. Let's forget those what if's and fuel our determination to inspire other people by sharing our experience through writing. Find your happiness through writing. Forget those excuses, regrets and worries in life. If you do that, "Im so proud of you, you did it."

_CoinBitShac_2022

8
$ 4.51
$ 4.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
$ 0.01 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of CoinBitShac
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoinBitShac
1 year ago

Comments

Staying calm and focus does not only apply to writing but to other areas of our life as well. This is a very good suggestion. Additionally, if we want to write and express, we need to follow what's on our mind. But if we want to write and attract readers to read our contents, we need to know what the readers want and write for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What you have said is all about the formal writing. In this platform, every thing is Okey, here. Most of us are not writers (love to write) , we are earners here.

See the most earning, articles here, I bet after reading you will be saying ," is this deserve this reward?".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As always you don't beat around the bush, but I don't want to say anything. Its not about the issue whether they deserve it or not, we just need to stay still to ensure a good harmony among users. Maybe they are not good in some ways but I know they are learning slowly to be better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't get me wrong. I have said that on the basis of my believe that in writing we don't have any rules unless it is a formal writing.

And I feel , sorry about the emphasising my comment towards deserving. My point was just to hold stronger that everything is fair here, though I am awared about the three points that you have raised here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know your point. And I admire your personality how you express your opinion, you have the courage to voice out your opinion. Maybe if some people will randomly read your comments and articles they will misunderstood your intention. Sometimes you appeared as a critic or too straightforward but if they internalized the things that you write its very different which is in a good way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a writer my biggest mistake is I postponed writing and lazy enough to start writing earlier I badly want to change my both habits

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good we should change for the better, I know you just need some motivation for you to keep writing. Don't delay your desire to write treat it like a necessity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I quite agree to you opinions for they are facts. There shouldn't be excuse in term of doing anything. Because when we procrastinate, we only drag ourselves backwards while other are busy doing the lifting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's absolutely true, courage should start in ourselves if we are always doubtful nothing will happen, just be want you want without making excuses to avoid regrets at the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My biggest "but" was that writing was not my thing - like at all. I used to dread all the essays I had to write at school. I had no idea what to write. I'm not a native English speaker and while preparing for the language exam, I got to write a lot since it's an important part of it. Guess what... the teacher was giving me lots of structures that I should incorporate into my texts, and it wasn't that bad after all. It was like assembling a puzzle. I was struggling with imagination when I had to write "free topics" but I was quite okay with expressing my views and thoughts. And then I started liking it, and here I am, writing articles in my free time, hoping that it can be my side hustle. Also, my imagination got lively, though, I doubt I will go into creative writing.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I can now predict how good you are in the future, this is just a part of your improvement. Just practice more and more. If you're lost of ideas try rest and find an inspiration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I first started, the excuse of "but" dealt with me several times. At a time I gave up but I got to pick up the courage to start. And when I started, I saw the welcome and I was amazed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We just need to learn to fight our excuses and reasons. If we learn to avoid those things we can be whatever we want to be. You just need to believe in yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like one part where you said we should write based on our experience. A writer can just write how he spent his day. I'm sure some people are interested in how the writer spent his day. Everyone can be a writer but it depends on your determination

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it as long as we are inspired, motivated and most importantly determined to continue we can unlock through time our hidden talents and potential.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You made some wise points.

$ 0.00
1 year ago