Insomnia: Types, Causes, Diagnosis, Symptoms, Treatment.

11 59

Insomnia is a sleep disorder in which a person has trouble falling asleep. The condition may be short term or long term. 
Short term insomnia is also known as acute insomnia and it may last for a night to a few weeks. 
Long term Insomnia is also known as Chronic Insomnia and it may last from a few weeks to months or even years. 

TYPES OF INSOMNIA

We have two types of Insomnia, Primary Insomnia and Secondary Insomnia. 
PRIMARY INSOMNIA is a type of Insomnia that occurs without a connection to any underlying health condition/problem. 
SECONDARY INSOMNIA is a type of Insomnia that occurs because of an underlying health conditions, pain, medication, or intake of alcohol. The underlying health conditions include Asthma, depression, arthritis, or Cancer. 

CAUSES OF INSOMNIA

  • Stress: Some persons find it difficult to sleep after an event that must have stressed them mentally, such as the loss of a job, divorce. 

  • Pregnancy: The raging hormones in the body of pregnant women, makes it difficult for them to fall asleep. E

  • Environmental factors such as light, noise and temperature: Some persons find it difficult to fall asleep if the temperature is high, or if there's noise in the surrounding environment. 

  • Insomnia can also run in a family; it can be inherited and passed on from parents to offspring. 

  • Mental health issues like depression or anxiety may result in Insomnia. 

SYMPTOMS OF INSOMNIA

  • Problem with Concentration

  • Fatigue

  • Sleepiness during the day. 

  • Difficulty falling asleep and Difficulty returning to sleep.


RISK FACTORS OF INSOMNIA

Insomnia occurs more often in females than in males. It also affects older people more than younger ones. 

INSOMNIA DIAGNOSIS

There's no particular test for the diagnosis of Insomnia. The doctor may just do a physical exam asking about your medical and sleep history. They might also ask you to keep track of your sleep patterns. They may also test for underlying health conditions that may negatively impact sleep, such as thyroid problems or iron deficiency Anemia (low iron levels). 

COMPLICATIONS

Progressively, lack of sleep can negatively affect the physical and mental health of the individual. It can also contribute to diabetes, mood disorders, weight gain and obesity. 


TREATMENT

Acute insomnia may not need treatment, although if it persists, the doctor may prescribe sleeping pills, so as to prevent drowsiness during the day. 


EXPERIENCES

A lot of persons over the world have experienced Insomnia at both Chronic and acute stages and I would be Sharing some experiences from emedicineHealth

Laurie Age range 65 -70

I've struggled with insomnia for 15 years. Finally I found a good functional medicine doctor who food-tested me and found I'm highly sensitive to eggs and dairy. She has me taking Tilia Tomentosa, Ficus Carica, Nux vomica 6C pellets, and Sulphur 6c, 3 times a day, and Orchex capsules at night, for sleep. If I eat eggs or dairy, I won't sleep. Get checked. I now sleep 6 hours a night, from only 3 hours on a good night, previously. I also do Qigong daily and meditate. I hope this helps you if you try it.

Joshua Age range 35-44

Insomnia can be very difficult to deal with. I prefer not to take any kind of drugs if I can. So a good alternative I've found for me is soothing sounds. Anything nature like, for instance rain sounds. It does the job for me occasionally. 


Leslie Age range 25-34

I'm 27 years old. I had insomnia for 15 years. I switch medication every 2 years or so. I can't fall asleep. I can't nap. My brain just won't take a break. I don't really drink coffee. The only time I have been able to sleep without medication was during my pregnancies (2). I can go 24 hours without sleep. I can be very tired and still not sleep. I have tried to stop taking medication because I hate messing with my body but it's terrible. I have tried TBC and it doesn't work. I'm miserable. 

CONCLUSION

From the above experiences it is quite obvious that Insomnia can really have a negative effect on the lives of the persons suffering from it. Some are subjected to loads of medication just to be able to sleep. Some are responsive to treatments while some aren't despite taking loads of medication to control the situation. So for us that can sleep without medications or have no problem falling asleep, we indeed have a priceless treasure at our disposal. 

9
$ 0.61
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Big-E
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
+ 6
Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Thank you for this priceless article. I have really learnt a lot from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am facing this problem a lot. I want to come out from this problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think you should see a doctor, if the problem persists. So sorry Bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had a period when I couldn't sleep at night. I was advised to drink warm milk in the evening, before going to bed. You know, it helped me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!! So happy to hear this Bro. Hope you are fine now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At a time I my life I was scared because I thought I got this insomnia. I was finding it hard to sleep at night and I suffered it most because most of the times my phone battery is always drained. But I came to understand that the reason I was battling with sleep at night was because I sleep all through the day time...I WAS NOT GOING TO SCHOOL OR WORKING THEN. But when it got balanced, omo you need to see how I'm begging for time to sleep🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂That was just a mere response by your body to sleeping in the afternoon. Please don't overwork yourself and always rest at night. School stress is overly tiring at times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God i have never any problem like that but yes young people specially are really suffering from it and due to COVID i guess it worsen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it actually did, especially for Those infected by COVID-19.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo! People with insomnia are really trying, like... All these! I've never had the tendency to face this before. That's why when one is stressed, one should pause and take naps.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Obviously, working while being stressed is a very bad attitude. We should always listen to our body, so that we would when the need to rest arises. Some of the people that suffer from insomnia were not born with it, they developed it over time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago