Movie Review:The Sandman

10 30
Avatar for Cesca_Jove
1 year ago

The Sandman is a 2022 fantasy, drama, and superhorror fiction that contains the concept of a dreaming world, time manipulation, and substance. The Sandman is an American drama-packed series, released on the 5th of August, 2022.

Dream and Rose Walker


I have been so entangled in the daily activities of life, that there is barely time for me to even give myself leisure. It's been a while since I checked out movies on Netflix, it just seemed like forever. Life for me has been a roller-coaster of challenges, depression, trials, and tribulations, and to unwind from so many burdens I either watch a movie series or go to the social media applications like Instagram, Facebook, or Tiktok to watch comic videos.

But it wasn't an option for me that very day I stormed my Netflix in search of a movie to take my petty mind away from entangled thoughts. I was quite bewildered because there were superfluous films that just didn't sit well with me. I kept scrolling till I came across this movie, new series uploaded every day...all that was just on my screen were pictorial movie covers of all types.

In my quest to find something worthwhile, I found The Sandman, and I chose it for just one purpose: it has the notion of dark magic and time manipulation and revenge. Magic elements and stuff like that always grip my interest, so I just jumped right into it. Don't get me wrong, I am not wicked or something lol...I just fancied those movies that are quite weird so if you have recommendations please drop them in the comment section.



ABOUT THE MOVIE  



An escape from the domain of The Dreaming World and the attempt to bring back that fugitive to avoid wreaking havoc on humanity was what brought about the capture of the King of Dreams "Lord Morpheus".

His captivity into a world that wasn't meant for him to stay began the destruction of his realm unknowing to him. When he was captured by Roderick Burgess (Charles Dance) using Incantations from a spell book he was handed over by his good friend "Doctor Hathaway" who also lost his child to death, they both wanted the return of their sons while Roderick Burgess wanted more "wealth, youth, immortality" he despises his other son, "Alex Burgess" (Benedick Blythe).


Spell Circle


Lord Morpheus's quest for the return of his defector was interrupted and he landed in a circle that was spelled bound by his captor. He was weakened and his items in possession; his pouch of sand, which he can use to put people to sleep or take the ability to sleep away from them forever, a magical helm that helps him travel throughout The Dreaming, and his imbued ruby with the power to blur dreams and reality were all taken and stolen from him.

Those items were stolen by Ethel Cripps (Niamh Walsh) the closest female of Roderick Burgess who was pregnant and traded them to numerous folks while her son "The confused John, Doctor Destiny" (David Thewlis) who is a grown man retained the ruby but it was altered. It's about taking revenge which likely wasn't so satisfying at last.



STORYLINE  



The movie starts by showing off the king of dreams "Lord Morpheus" (Tom Sturridge) who came into the world of reality to capture one of the escapees in his realm back to where he belongs and to avoid destruction or time lapses between the realms of the real world and dream world.


King of Dreaming


Lord Morpheus (the protagonist) uses the sand of time to travel between realms, his escapee "Corinthian" (Boyd Holbrook) was seen pleading with him to not take him back to the dream world. His master "King of Dreams" was narrating the consequences that would befall this world (Human World) if he doesn't report back to his supposed abode, during the conversation "Lord Morpheus" (King of Dreams) was seen varnishing gradually into thin air which was as a result of a strange force in play.

His escapee "The Corinthian" fled to explore the new world he found himself in. Meanwhile, in the house of "Roderick Burgess" (Charles Dance), he was preparing an uncanny gathering to summon "Death" (Kirby Howell Baptiste). His reasons were quite straightforward, he wanted Death to bring back his son from the dead and a few more requests.



MY THOUGHTS AND OPINIONS  



Witnessing your dream coming to fruition is something that feels great. You would have the power to orchestrate those dreams and put this in place or shape it in the manner in which you would desire them to happen. And I guess our dreams would be way easier that way, that was the case of "Lyta Hall" (Razane Jammal) and "Hector Hall" (Lloyd Everitt), who lost her husband before their plans to get the new house and new family then suddenly she was able to continue that dream with him in the Dreaming with the help of Rose Walker (Dream Vortex), but unfortunately, it was disrupted by the King of Dreaming because he was dead already.


Dream and Death


It's truly sad when you lose a wish or a dream to some circumstance beyond human control. That's what transpired with Roderick Burgess who wants his dead son to come back to life. If I happen to see my dead brother back to me, what would it look like?... Scary, Shocking, and Speechless. Human needs are insatiable.
He already lost him to the cold hands of Death who happens to be Dream's sister, I guess that is the main reason Dream was tongue-tied. He wouldn't want to give up his sister.

Roderick found out that Lord Morpheus was not the angel he sought; perhaps he played Doctor Hathaway in getting the Magdalene Grimoire for his selfish interest.
If it was Death he wanted to summon, why did he summon King of the Dreaming instead or was there any misinterpretation? Maybe when you watch this movie you would comprehend it better than me.



CINEMATOGRAPHY  



The first thing that gripped me to watch this movie was the graphics, the movie industry has grown and advanced so much in the field of cinematography with this effect many more will get the comfortability when watching such movies. The visual impact on me determines if I am to stay much longer watching or quit watching and move to another.


World of Dreaming


In this case, I am writing about the resolution quality of the movies. I guess it depends on how one chooses to spend his time watching a movie. This can be selected ranging from the lowest screen resolution to the highest resolution.



ACTING  



In the television series, Tom Sturridge portrays "Dream of the Endless" while Boyd Holbrook portrayed " The Corinthian" and Kyo Ra as "Rose Walker". These are the three major characters in this movie series and each of them played a different role entirely.

I have always admired the strength of Tom Sturridge's "Dream of the Endless" and his ability to know almost everything (Nigh-Omniscience) and Immortality.


Rose Walker and Lyta


Kyo Ra "Rose Walker, the Dream Vortex" his countercurrent and her ability to Telepath through people's dreams in search of her brother whom she hasn't set eyes on for quite some time.

Boyd Holbrooks's "The Corinthian" is
the escapee from the Dreaming who Lord Morpheus is hell-bent on finding. He is a collector..collecting the eyeballs of his prey which he plunges inside his hollow empty eye socket. In this way, he uses the plucked eyes to search for things he wants that his prey hid from him.



MY CONCLUSION



I must say that this movie series is an interesting and intriguing one, you can add it to the list of your selections. Although, I am not fully satisfied with how it all ends and I am anticipating the continuation of it. It is a season and it has eleven episodes. Hopefully, I get to see the Dream Vortex fight with Dream of the Endless.


Folks of the Undercroft


Now and then, I often check to see if there's an update about the episode...If I were to rate it, I would give it an 8/10.

7
$ 0.67
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @FashTioluwa
+ 2
Sponsors of Cesca_Jove
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cesca_Jove
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, nice movie review here, I will have a watch, when less busy.. Nice meeting you though

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah sure it's an interesting movie...take your time to watch them...oe perhaps add them to your list of awaiting movies.

Nice meeting you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo.. Feels like I have watch the movie already from this review. Yeah.. You should have tagged movie spoiler too in the title...😥😥😥.. anyways.. I will or might check it out.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Goan watch it...honestly it's an interesting movie...this is just a tip of the iceberg. Although I am still anticipating the second season.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🌚🌚 as your lordship please👀💯❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The review is actually nice you can get to watch stranger things!!!!! I really love this ( sand man ) movie because there is a part that deal with hell and dreamm hahaha were dream had to go to hell to get his equipment. So good so far it an interesting movie

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah...it's an interesting movie.... I can attest to that...I also have watched stranger thingw...very intriguing and filled with action.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Netflix is really trying, they produce good and accurate movies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love this kind of movie :) Maybe I need to look for it and watch it tomorrow when I have time :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should watch it, it's very interesting and intriguing. It's a drama packed series...🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago