Happy Memories of the 1200 Building

5 33
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

These are some notable memories I had when I had classes in the 1200 building before the 14th. This will only center around my freshman and half of my sophomore year because those were the only years I had classes there until the tragedy. So recap, in freshman year, I had four classes there, geography, liberal arts math, learning strategies (basically an IEP Study hall)  and reading. Also freshman year, my school at the time didn't have study hall established until the year after so learning strategies was basically my study hall. And the in sophomore year I had 2 classes there, world history and teaching assisting. So these stories happened in either those classes or just whenever I'd be there.

Image From Google

1. So if you don't know, the building has three floors and the students have to climb three flights of stairs unless they physically can't, then there's an elevator. But anyways, so as I was climbing up the third floor one day in freshman year, I noticed that a bird was chilling there. It somehow flew inside. It didn't go inside the actual hall but it was chilling over the stairs.

2. Do you always have those rowdy kids that would occasionally fight outside of school? Well some of them were in my freshman reading class. I don't remember why the fight started but I guess two kids were arguing about a seat or something, then they immediately started getting physical. It literally got to the point where where one of them took the other, lifted him and then slammed him onto the floor. I remember a kid I was talking to turned over to my desk and make a joke while the fight was happening. I can't remember the joke but it was snarky idk. So it turned out that the kid who was slammed onto the floor broke his arm and he left the school. There was a sub that day and when my actual reading teacher came back the next day, she was pretty disappointed. I swear the sub didn't even do anything to stop the fight, he just stood there, letting it happen. Only after the kid slammed, security came in and took them. Both out. That should've happened much earlier.

3. This also happened in freshman year, it was spirit week and one day we got to wear costumes so I dressed up as Rainbow Dash. (Yes I'm a pegasister, shut up) anyways, so it was learning strategies and there was one kid who would talk to me occasionally. (He left the school halfway into the year.) So I was sitting getting some work done while the kid got up and moved to my left to talk to a teacher aid there with an assignment, he had his back facing me and then suddenly... He farted in my direction. Ya... Weird day... I ended up being sick that day so thankfully I wasn't even there for too long.

4. Now we get into sophomore year. So it was world history as the lunch bell just rang and then my "cough" monthly blood decided that now would be a good time to let loose and I usually can't predict whenever it happens so I'm never really prepared. But this time I really wasn't I was too scared to move so I was sitting at my desk trying not to move so more blood wouldn't come out. The teacher was a male so I couldn't get help from him so I had to text my bestfriend the situation. I eventually caved in and slowly walked out of the classroom, legs tight together. I think I ended up leaving blood on the chair so whoever sat there next I felt bad for. I think I went home that day so that's a plus.

5. At the beginning of teaching assisting, we had to work on an all about me power point where it basically would talk about who we are etc. So the class would get an idea of who we all were and stuff. When it was my turn, the things projecting the power point had a remote so I could go to the next page but as I was trying to, I accidentally dropped the remote. I instantly felt guilty and was worried I broke the speaker so I constantly was like "sorry!  sorry!  sorry! " Mt bestfriend was in hysterics and she would occasionally still bring it up today.

6. So in teaching assisting, we had a project where we make a poster board for any teacher in the school. It had to fit with the subject of what that teacher taught and what wad being taught there at the time. While my bestfriend got to work on one for my biology teacher at the time I didn't know who my teacher was but all I knew was they were probably an English Teacher and their class was reading Odysseus  at the time. So we basically make a map of where Odysseus sailed in the story and it would go in order and whenever the story would get to the next area the boat we also made would be moved to that place. The day my partners and I were done, we had to hang the poster up and I finally would get to know who this poster was gonna be for. Turns out it was for my teaching assisting teacher. Apparently she's also an English teacher. I was slightly disappointed but at least it looked pretty good in the end.

7. My teaching assisting teacher would assign us movies about teaching and we'd have to answer
questions throughout the movie and at one point we were watching "lean on me" and we were at near the end of the movie when the light bulb in the projector suddenly popped and broke so we couldn't properly finish the movie and I still to this day don't know how it ended.

Image From Google

8. It was christmas 2017,and my teaching assisting teacher decided to throw a christmas party for us and we got to bring food and drinks. And stuff. So I brought some cookies  my mom made and my classmates and my bestfriends loved them, one kid even asked for the recipe for the chocolate chip cookies. We even got to do karaoke. My best friend dared me to sing "all star" from shrek and.. You had those moments where you're laughing so hard at a moment where it looks like you're drunk to other people? Yah, that was me. I was pretty embarassed after that. But then one of the classmates played "all I want for christmas is you" and I just casually sang along to the opening of the song in my desk when suddenly that same kid who had a microphone, pointed it to me as I was singing and I knew this was my moment of redemption so I basically sang the last notes the best I could and I can't remember how my class reacted. I at first thought they liked it but looking back they probably didn't idk lol.

Honestly my teaching assisting teacher is one of my favorite teachers I've ever had in high school. She was laid back but still a responsible person. She's very relatable too. She was very supportive whenever I was down, which was a lot in sophomore year because I was a freaking baby. I occasionally still visit her class and I hope to get another class with her again next year. I hope other students love her just as much as I do because she honestly deserve it.

And that was it, it's sad that the building is gone but it didn't take away the great memories I had there. Now the freshman building is replaced with portables and I have already made some more memories there and hope to make new ones.


Lead Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/KxCJXXGsv9I

My Previous Article:

Do you deal with Anxiety and Depression

Writing my future: Questions

The one who is in school

My Rock

Depression and Anxiety


Thank you to all my beloved Sponsors and to all who Upvoted my Article.

God bless You aLL🥰🥰

7
$ 0.22
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 1
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

Relate ako dyan nung practice teaching namin. I also have my favorite cooperating teacher. She's so kind and other teachers as well are very welcoming. Tho the building is not there, when we passed by it, we smile because of the previous memories.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Marami talaga tayong memories na hindi makakalimutan kapag High school ano? Lalo na mga bonding nyo ng mga kaklase mo na hanggang ala ala nalang at hindi na ulit magagawa. Minsan lang kasi tayo maging studyante eh ako nama'y namimiss ko ang amoy ng upuan kapag ako'y inaantok haysss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True maree minsan lang tayo maging studyante isa yan sa part ng buhay natin na pinaka masayang alaala .😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama tama 💚 nakakaingit nga mga nag aaral ngayon eh hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga maree pero parang boring ngayon haha walang gala kasi wala pang F2F ei 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago