There’s No Place like Home

2 34
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

There is certainly no place like home, periodt.

Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty

Going home always felt so exciting for students, like me, who have to live far for college. Yet, this time felt alarming and uneasy. We were going home because of a pandemic. We had to go home because of danger. I felt anxious but I tried to remain composed. Everything was too normal and I have to act normal too. It was difficult to have that energy to start being productive.

After receiving messages of our requirements, the energy is starting to build up. For the time being, I studied every day, learning things on my own. However, no matter how important it is to study, there are other things I could learn, maybe outside. I went out, then, and saw what I needed to do. During this time, nothing is more necessary than keeping our surroundings clean. It was exhausting yet fulfilling at the same time. Doing something helpful for yourself is a different level of enjoyment. Despite the situation we are all in, little moments like these reminds us life goes on and we have to go for it but with optimism.

Truly, life continues and we also have the responsibility to help it go on. My late grandmother left her plants around her house and when I saw those plants, still green and vibrant, I felt the need to make it stay that way. I regularly watered those plants this quarantine and nothing felt better than splashing life into beautiful things.

Time was all we had this long break. Yet, time is all we needed. Making the most out of it by reconnecting with family and friends is what made everything a little easier, for me. Checking up on friends I could not even talk to because of busy schedules and just casual talking with my family about random things made the current situation lighter and happier. I also tried to help out at home. I cook food and desserts with my mother and helped her in other chores. That was my everyday life – studying, reconnecting with my persons and enjoying nature.

Indeed, it is important to use our time to be productive. We felt like we need to keep moving to forget our frustrations. However, the quarantine life is taking too long. It does not feel like life anymore. It feels like obligatory existence, like a boring survival game I have to keep playing. I kept myself busy to keep my sanity. It was good at first but it gets harder everyday.

There’s no place like home. Yet why does home does not feel like home anymore? The anxiety keeps lurking on the shadows. The worries and loneliness are constantly by our sides. The comfort and tranquility I have felt in the beginning became confusion and anxiousness. Home feels like jail now. I do not know how long could I keep distracting myself. I watch, I play and I keep talking with my friends. But, it does not feel the same anymore. We miss our old lives. We long for physical interactions. We long to hear the laughter of our friends. We long for the freedom.

But, we cannot have our old lives back yet. Maybe, we cannot have it anymore again. Life would not be the same anymore. We are not the same persons as we were before too. So much has happened and we have to keep moving on. It may feel like we’re stuck in a loophole. It may feel like we’re in the end of a tunnel. But, no. We are just in the dark for a while. We’re lost and confused. What we can only is to hope for a light. We can only hope that things will get better soon.

As we wait for our lives to turn upside down again, we have to use our time to make ourselves better. We have to be better persons so when we can have our usual lives again, we can cherish ir better. However, when it gets too hard it is not wrong to take a little break. Breathe. In these trying times, I also gave myself the chance to rest. This is my new life.


Thanks for your wonderful time!

Are you new to my profile? If you do not know me yet, I am Burnok, your friendly neighbor who loves writing things like this and like that. Here are some of my articles, which you may want to read too.

4
$ 2.75
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I agree with the title you used, there is no place like home. The place where I feel the best and happiest is at home. Most of my memories are spent at home. I love my home with its sadness and joy My home is the place that protects my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There can never be anything like home. The joy, the happiness and other things,

$ 0.00
2 years ago