What Are You Reading

16 58

What ever we take in has it's way of influencing our lives, almost like food eaten having it's way of helping our growth and bone strength, similarly what we read has it's way of shaping our mind capacities which would no doubt reflect on our activities. So I ask again what are you reading, what is the mind digesting, books we read, people we interact with, things we understudy, ideas we are made to believe, all of this our minds reads and when it becomes part of us, it definitely would take forms into actions. Knowing this we understand the need to safeguard our minds by careful selecting the things we read. What we see, what we listen to, how believe, thing appealing to us, all of this our minds read and interprets to our brains.

Picking a book or selecting a write up to read without an expectation from it or having a reason to read it to start with is often not ideal, its often luck you stumble on a writing that would transform your life. Rather than take chances its better off to be focused, know what you need, then find a book that can best support your needs, open to read an article that would enhance your ability and knowledge in that aspect of desire. When motive is in place it helps the mind to better communicate and relate to the letters of the writing, cause with each paragraph you can imagine and relate it with your life currently, your mind already applies it before the hands carries out the main actions.

If it doesn't play first in the mind then the eyes are just exercising, sometimes it means the brains is still pondering on more interesting matters, you can be reading and your mind drifts away to a world of imagination, then you notice you've just spent those few moments on a larger percent of pondering and a lower percent reading or learning. More reason why people tend to want to go for passion mostly, cause the feel it'll be easier to continue especially as they are already interested about it. However not everyone works with passion, so it has to be a concious trying to stay focused.

Separating the eyes from the mind is just mere seeing, nevertheless in sightseeing your mind is involved because you're fascinated by what you see, so if you're called upon the next week after the sightseeing, you can recap and give a break down of what you saw. But how many of the books you have read can you give a paraphrase about, just 5 minutes after you've read it, not to ask you a day later or the next week, that's almost mission impossible. There's a need to attach your mind to what you read, and just when you are trying but it just won't communicate, then its either you have no likeness for that article nor connections or you just have to call yourself to order, as there are other matters your mind is anxious about.

It doesn't matter how fast or how much time you spent with a book or article, what matters really is how best you're able to invest your mind into the book, how much you're able to assimilate is the more important thing when it comes to reading, reading is never meant for the eyes, if it were so too much of reading wouldn't be dangerous to your eyes, but it was meant for your brain, your mind, the eyes was only a channel to get it to its rightful place, same way food wasn't meant for the mouth, rather for the body growth entirely, the mouth was only a channel, it doesn't spend more than 5 seconds In the mouth, it's off to the stomach where it can be dispatched to the needed areas. Each letters of a writing too doesn't spend more than 2 seconds and its sent to the brain,where it stays, understood/interpreted then it can be acted upon.

When people say no one is dull, i thought also it was a mere motivation, until I experienced it myself, and clearly saw what makes the difference in people wasn't because some were created smarter than others, it was more of how much one can understand and grab from a particular subject matter than the other person, we can all choose to read a book, but how well I understand it determines how well I can perform In an examination. No wonder sometimes we have ties in results, both got it equally. When you don't understand yet, you can choose to keep going or yet remain there till you're satisfied and understand it fully.

You are not alone dear, many are guilty, well I too was, until I notice something, more like a trait in few outstanding personalities, and I found out they weren't just readers, they were passionate about whatever they want to do, so when they read, they read in line to what they are passionate about, that way when they learn something new and it's easier for them to follow as they have a scenario they can exhibit it upon. For example a civil engineering when reading more about steel, already has been dealing with steel so he's seeing it more clearer now.

Indeed no man is an island, but few men have been remarkable, give yourself to study and put your mind to it with a view that it would positively apply to your life. Schools subject too counts, though many don't see the need, however, with good scores brings a better certificate that would be of benefit to you in real life settings. Set your heart in the next books you're going to read. Remember this Bible quote: study to show yourself approved, a workman needs not to be ashamed when dividing the truth he's learnt. Do just look, study, put your mind to it, then you can act in accordance.

Thank you for reading, I love you guys, keep reading and building the mind capacity.

Sponsors of Brilliance
empty
empty
empty

10
$ 25.28
$ 25.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
$ 0.02 from @tpkidkai
+ 4
Sponsors of Brilliance
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Don't just look, study, put your mind to it, then act in accordance..I love this article it also shows that whatsoever your reading should be reasonable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for this beautiful response. Much love ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pick what I read, not every write up is of interest to me. I only read what I like and what interests me. Bottom line, I don't always enjoy reading.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Lol, I respect your honesty and sincerely most people are like you, but in books are knowledge, so its always advisable to read regularly, you could just google a thing or YouTube about something and by that you're already reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love reading too. Although, I'm becoming lazy but I'm not gonna let go of this hobby

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's a very lovely hobby to keep reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am reading articles and books relating to Stoicism lately, it had captured my heart and was able to grasp some of the ideas that I myself had been practicing for quite a while. I never knew the philosophy back then but as I dig deeper into the rabbit hole I am enjoying the learning so far.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hmm... can you remember the first day you pick it up to read, probably just picked it for no particular reason, but you feel deep for it, we all have our genre, that book that catches our fancy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For the topic of Stoicism, I think it was around two or three months ago.

I was listening to a podcast on Youtube from Ryan Holiday about productivity and got hooked on the message. But subconsciously I was practicing the philosophy back in my teens.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's lovely. Stoicism Is a good trait to emulate. Cause the solution never comes from displaying weakness. Infact people don't like being around people they pity, the best way of getting help is through staying strong. It's a nice book you love reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree agree, I don't speed it like I usually do with the modules that I am reading. I tend to savor each chapter and somehow apply it and reflect on what can be used on the daily struggles in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which is the best method of assimilation, skimming through doesn't help you digest its content, you've got to feed proper off each words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I read various books except bible, I really doesn't believe what's written there but I believe and have faith only to God. By the way I'm also hooked up on reading books the first book that I've finished is to kill a mocking bird and after that it followed by different books and genres.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha midnight, you don't read the bible, well not sure I can convince you but that's the only book of truth never proven wrong yet by any scholar or archeologist, rather more findings proves the book stays true. Soon though you'll fall in love with it. And yes reading books is a great habit, no knowledge is ever lost.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There was a time in my life that I took reading as something addictive, there was no bookstore or book fair that passed me by unnoticed, I would go in and buy the cheapest book I liked, read it on my way home and finish it quickly to start another one.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's a good traits, I'm very sure it has helped you a lot even till currently. No knowledge is ever wasted, it'll find applications one way or the other.

$ 0.00
1 year ago