They Are Not Just Pet Animals

10 28
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I was about to start writing for today's post but then I was interrupted again by my buddy here who is too cute to get annoyed with.

He always does this to me whenever he wants food. He would jump on top of my table and sit or lay so that there he then would make sound like he is starving. He would not leave until I gave him food.

He did it twice when I was on a zoom meeting with my boss. You know he jumped in and then started demanding meow asking for food. So I had to pause and pour cat food quickly on his plate. My boss just laughs afterwards.

Anyway speaking of my cat since my attention was diverted to him, I drop down my topic for today and write about him instead.

His name is Kitkit and he just turned one year old this month. Of course he is tender and adorable just like most of the cats. He doesn’t go out because we don’t want to. He just stays inside the house ever since he was a kitten. He also uses the toilet whenever he poops and pee.

Last month he was ill and suffered from the flu. I have been petting cats since I was a kid and this is the first time that my cat got the flu. He never goes out so it is impossible that he gets the virus outside.

This happened when my wife was sneezing and then she hugged Kitkit and kissed him like she used to do. The next day Kitkit was sneezing. I was suspecting that he was infected by my wife although she doesn’t seem to believe it when I tell her.

The following day his condition worsened. Clear water was flowing out of his nose and he kept on sneezing. I thought human flu cannot infect domestic animals. I Google it and it was true that our pet can acquire human flu just like what has happened to my cat.

On the third day he was really in bad shape. He doesn’t eat cat food but drinks a lot of water. He always wanted his nose up and the breath thru his mouth. He got a clogged nose and then fell asleep in a sitting position.

I was worried about him because we can’t bring him to the vet as we don’t have a vet clinic near our place. So I just did research on the internet about a home cure for domestic animals, particularly the flu with cats.

There is a lot of information on how to care for a sick pet on the internet and one home remedy is by steaming aside from giving those meds for pets.  So what I did was to steam him at least two times a day because he was resistant when I was trying to give him medication. I also tried to feed him by guessing what kind of food he wanted to eat. I was thankful that he ate sardine instead when he felt he could no longer stand the starvation.

He was sick for almost three weeks. Now he is in good shape again and back to his usual way of messing around.

Some people don’t like petting cats and prefer dogs. For some reason, there are also people who don’t like petting animals at all.

There is a positive effect of having pet animals in our home. Unless you have allergies with them for sure you wouldn’t like having one.

Pet animals are my stress reliever. You know it just feels good when your pet animals seem to sympathize with you whenever you are completely drained. They can feel it too and even if they can’t talk you can feel their compassion.

I hope you have learned something from this post especially if you are not an animal lover.

We have to understand that animals have feelings because they have a heart too. Remember that pet animals can see the unseen, I mean they can foretell danger so that it can warn us and save us from any unfortunate event.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

7
$ 7.66
$ 7.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Kryptlook
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 5
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Pets are the best company always there for your gray days and to make you laugh with their silliness. You are right when you say that animals have feelings too because it is easy to notice when they feel bad or comfort you when you are sad. I have a very special dog named "Chiqui" (Is something like Tiny on English). I like to see her jumping for joy when she arrives and even though I have plans that will take me away from her I want her to be ok always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes, i agree with you on that.

i hope you have good reasons of planning to be separated from Chiqui. but for sure you will gonna miss her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad he's doing well. I lost some of my cats in a house fire and I'm still grieving them. They're way more than just animals!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

he is good playful again. i am thank ful.

that's sad, i had two cats who were attacked and killed by our own dog, my kids cried alot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our pets give us comfort and a company that we cannot get from anybody. It is just right to consider their feelings because they're not like us humans that can complain if we feel any pain. But, animals will endure it and express how they feel in the best way they can so their human will notice them. I feel sad every time I leave my pets at home. As much as I wanted to be with them 24/7 It can't be because of the nature of my work. Sometimes, it's better to hang out with pets than be with people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

pet animals are really loyal especially dogs that even if the owners hurt them they will never leave and just as you said you will never hear them complain.

true, happinees with pets are priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, my tatay don't like cats so we didn't have one as far as I remember. We have 3 dogs, 5 ducks, 2 rabbits, and many chickens here. Rabbits are mine and the rest was own by my father. Do our stress can be transfer to our pets? Hmm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i also have dog at home and she even likes eating cat food too. 😁

i had ducks back in the province but that was long time ago.

my rabbit died two years ago. it was poisoned.

i dont think pets can acquire stress from the owner but for sure they can feel it to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love cats so much and yes they are not just animals they are family. I miss my cat Kaja he was gone for 2 days now and I hope he will still comeback. He is only 3 months old and I'm really sad that he might be dead already 😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, that's sad. i hope it is okay wherever it might be. but there is a possibility that it might not comeback because it is too young. maybe it is safe somewhere else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago