There is no Truth, no Reality: Only Stories

6 71
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
3 years ago

It’s been a while since my last time traveling to the past. You know I find it hard to look for a replacement for the regulator that broke during my last jump. I did some modifications and adjustments. Fortunately, I’m back on track again.

What do you think I have here in my next time travel stories? 

Let’s talk about music but not just music, a  certain genre of music.

I’m not sure if there are problems with my calculations but the machine got me jumping between the 80s and 90s.

The machine landed somewhere in Rock City, Nottingham 1989. 

I could hear noises from the inside of loud and heavy guitar riffs, drum blast beats, and guttural vocals.

It was Morbid Angel playing live. Fans are screaming, slamming, and headbanging. Hell yeah! Metal rules!

So it was this Death Metal band’s music that was causing the chaos.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Morbid_Angel_01_2008.jpg


Morbid Angel is a death metal band formed in 1983 based in Tampa, Florida. 

What really got me interested aside from their type of music was the ideas, beliefs, and philosophical views of its lead vocalist, Trey Azaghtoth

I found a  documentary interview of him in 2003 by Nasty Habits 88.9 WERS in which he was Interviewed by Matt O'Dette of Cynicism. 

I have quoted here his philosophical views, interest, and opinion about how he thinks things differently. 

The full length of the interview was 32 minutes and 43 seconds in duration and it contains 6 thousand plus words so I just jotted down interesting things he said about reality, time and space, and stuff like that.

Most readers will definitely skip this but that’s ok. Those who have the same mind as me of course will surely have time to read. As Trey has said in his closing thoughts of the interview, these are only reference points and not trying to make people agree. 

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●


Matt: Trey, I appreciate you taking this on dude. First question for you man is how do you do it? How the hell did you do it seriously? I mean, you're an incredible guitar player and, I just...  I want to know what goes through your head?

Trey: Well it's funny that you ask. You know how I usually associate or bring along for this message, from what the band's about and speak about it so openly and you know in interviews and whatever like that about my beliefs and basically, that is the thing that allows me to do what I do. It's a lot more useful in my foundation of how I create in any musical theory or guitar scale it's basically the idea. 

“I mean we've always said this, I've always said this, is, our message is for people to think for themselves and to try to think beyond the indoctrinations and global paradigms. You know basically, like the story by Plato the allegory of the cave that's a really good example of what I'm talking about and basically, understanding that system you know, mathematics science language it's not real it's just man-made stuff and I think it's kind of useful to understand that, that stuff's not real and that really nothing is real but the potential to create all things imagined and that even reality is not really real beyond personal perception.” 

So basically it's just a big thing you know, some people say oh, you know it's all nonsense, whatever, but it's metaphysical and that's really where I come from when I create from that way of thinking, and I think that the only real freedoms that people have are the freedom to decide what things mean for them, and what to do with their life. You know the choice as to where they want to go with their life because. I believe that there's no meaning to anything other than the meaning that you give to it and this distinction. I think it is very useful in allowing people to be what I think our potential is, which is basically that we're all pure spirits and creators, and we're all the same. You know, made of the same stuff. It's just our beliefs and our decisions and our way of thinking that would make a difference.

Matt: You're just touching a little bit about... about choices and the choices that you make and I mean you, you chose the direction of playing metal as a way of speaking it's your voice it's your way of getting outside that box, and what was it about metal in the beginning or guitar and guitar playing as well, that kind of, why did you choose that dimension in order to get those feelings and get your true self out. 

Trey:  This I think at least my opinion this way of thinking like, hey, the sky's the limit you know all things are possible, let's just go with it and, you know it's like, if you're in Boston in that area then probably all the listeners or readers would understand or at least know about the Deepak Chopra, you know Wellness Center and Deepak Chopra as far as a teacher about philosophy and spirituality and that's a really great teacher. I'm... he pretty much says the same stuff that I say and I think most people will know that I study a lot of his stuff and like Tony Robbins, you know and the Kabbalah and things like that, and that's what pretty much I guess expands my mind and my thinking and kind of keeps me open to allow this rhythm of the universe to resonate through me. I find myself more the instrument, and it's not a whole bunch of thinking that goes into putting songs together. I mean sure there's some design that isn't planning but the real essence is the nothingness, just empty energy. It has no meaning, people can interpret it however they will, but I call it lava, just my little term you know I just put this feeling flow out.”

...I kind of like to be away from the thoughts of a man just kind of in my own little zone you know and then I can kind of do my little thing, which I would call I guess meditating and opening up and kind of finding those silent spaces between thoughts and allow this rhythm to resonate through me. 


I think like I said it really has a lot to do with belief, you know I fully believe that there is no meaning to anything there's no truth only stories and there's actually even no reality beyond subjective reality I don't believe an objective reality. I think it's a simulation at best. I think it's a system. I think systems are basically just there so that we can interact with each other like, I say, I talk about a cat and I don't use the word car or tree. It kind of helps the conversation move along one plus one is two that kind of helps people when they're talking about counting or whatever you know. I mean, I know it's simply dumping into such a silly saying but man these basics are like they can become prison when you think that the stuff was real because I think it kind of bonds one's ideas about what's possible. I think putting all that stuff in its right perspective is really useful. In other words like if you're gonna prove our value and have some critics say, oh, your music sucks and you know why you are doing that was cool yesterday.

...there's no truth, it's just stories. There's no reality it's all personal, there's no static reality if it really happens in the mind it's through global conditioning that we would have this simulation of a global consciousness, or a global truth so I don't know. It's just a way of thinking, maybe it's not useful for people, maybe it's too deep or silly or whatever you certainly can't measure it with science. It's beyond the realms of time and space but that's what I'm about. That's what I'm interested in and that's where the music comes from.

When I talk about what I believe and all that I'm just a point of view I'm not trying to say people should even agree with what I'm saying but actually just to inspire others to search for their own answers and things like that. In my reference point may not we even work for other people but I share my reference points. It would be teachers such as Tony Robbins Deepak Chopra the Kabbalah creative visualization. All those different topics go into what I'm talking about. So I'm not certainly trying to introduce some new belief system because it’s best. I'm just trying to inspire that, Wow! There's all this stuff out there and if people think things are kind of limited then maybe they just need to look at things differently.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇧⇧๑▬▬▬▬▬●

*Photo of Morbid Angel has licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license.

You may want to check my previous post:

Full-time Blogger: Yes You Can

Anyone Has Their Own Purpose in Writing

Possible Solution to prevent Coronavirus outspreading

A Digital Currency Controlled by Central Bank

Bitcoin Cash: Financial Stress Reliever

Aspiring Bloggers: Let's Talk About Writing


Resources:

Morbid Angel

Death Metal

Tony Robbins

Deepak Chopra

Trey Azagthoth Interview


7
$ 4.82
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I love to travel too but don't get lost due to lack of time but you are a wonderful person you can also travel..Nice to read your travel experience

$ 0.01
3 years ago

yes I travel but my physical body is at rest, only my mind travels. (hehe)

I was once lost and I would love to be lost again, you know it's like a puzzle when you are lost. Your mind will work double-time and you will be surprised by the things that you will discover when you are lost.

Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This principle has shockingly made sense to me. Indeed there could be no truth nor reality, only stories. It is because people has different perceptions of reality. We can say 'emotion' as example. Person A can definitely say Person B is 'really angry' because he judged from how he saw B's expression; the fierce gaze, and the clenched fists, what could other emotions be? Deep inside, B is just trying to hold back his laughter and pretends to be mad—he's just a good actor. With those two perspectives, we can easily tell that they each has the own version of 'reality'.

I don't know, this idea suddenly gave me goosebumps. lol

$ 0.01
3 years ago

yes and not only that, there is also different stories for every person, like for example Person A, one day he went to the office and took a Grab then the story goes... let's rewind and Person A took a public bus instead so its another story but happening on the same exact time as the first event was. This made me think somehow that multiverse is true but I have said here, there is no truth... only stories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like a Parallel universe? Sometimes I think of it, too. Whenever I am going through something really hard, I just think that maybe, just maybe, my other self in the parallel universe is having a good time. Haha.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

yes, there are studies about this but there is no proof, all but theories. But you know sometimes I tend to believe with some events that I am experiencing like in the case of Deja Vu. A feeling that it happened already as if you were there before at exactly the same place and time but in a different dimension.

$ 0.00
3 years ago