What about motion sickness

18 31
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Travelling by road could be the most uncomfortable situation for some people. I have a friend who would always cringe at the thought of travelling for hours.

"I wish I could just buy a plane", she had said after vomiting for the third time when we briefly stopped at a fuel station. She vomited so hard that I became afraid that she would bring out her intestines. Even the smell of petrol could make some one who was already suffering from motion sickness more sick .

Motion sickness occurs during a trip when one's brain becomes interrupted by conflicting information from the sense organs and the body. This is how it occurs:

  • The eyes sends the impulses of movement to the brain when it sees the relative movement of trees at the side of the road.

  • The inner ear,the part of the ear that is responsible for balancing detects movements in the background and sends this impulses to the Brain too.

  • But the body muscles and joints does not show any movements and again, this information is relayed to the Brain.

Now, the brain is quite confused about the contradictory information of motion that are been sent . And this mental stress would also stress the body too resulting to what is termed as motion sickness. Hence, some one under motion stress would experience headaches, dizziness, nausea, fatigue and vomiting.

These symptoms always occurs in people who have weak adrenal gland. The adrenal glands are found on top each of the kidneys and they secrete important chemical Messengers called cortisols. Now cortisols are responsible for adapting the body to various stressful conditions like fear, inflammation and even motion sickness.

Someone whose adrenal glands are not very active or whose adrenaline receptors are resistance would suffer from motion sickness. This is more common to women and children but it could happen in men too when your adrenal gland are unable to adapt your body system to the gravitational stress of a vehicle moving for long periods. Hence you are unable to withhold puking in addition to dizziness and nausea. It could become worse when you are reading or pressing your phone, since you are still overburdening your brain with information especially in a crammed up vehicle.

Motion sickness could be prevented by not eating anything prior to the journey since one is likely to vomit. Although you could drink alot of water from time to time while on the journey so as the hydrate your brain and body. To cure nausea, one could take a ginger drink or peppermint. You could also chew gum while on the journey.

It's also advisable that one who is pronee to motion to turn off the car's air conditioning system. sitting close the car windows is recommended, here one could always get a good supply of fresh air which is a lot better than an AC.

*****************************

Thanks for reading 😁💝

9
$ 1.41
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @youngdim12
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 7
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

I once experienced this motion sickeness and it got me wondering...

I noticed that I wasn't sitting comfortable on the bus due to multitudes in the boss... I think that was what caused it. I was glad to hold myself till when I highlighted before vomiting, it would have been so embarrassing had it been it happened on the bus. God thank you 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe... Next time go with polythene bag in order to avoid stories that touch 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never experienced this, the only discomfort I experience while traveling long distance is aching joints due to sitting for long.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must be a tall person .. anyway that's a message that you should hustle hard so you could buy an helicopter which is more convenient 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I'm tall! Yes oh, helicopter and private jet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I'm okay on a road transportation, I'm in kano currently hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, that's interesting. I also travelled too since the strike kept lingering

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you are at home now, I thought here is your permanent place if resident

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah.. travelled to Kaduna

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could remember far back when I took a trip to my village and left my pills, I threw up a thousand times through the whole journey... my body system dont take that much stress lol... I feel I wont do well in a plane either

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You would.m, trust me you will.. maybe it's a sign that you should work harder in acquiring ba private jet 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This used to be a problem of mine especially when I was younger. I found out that sleeping and chewing on something like a gum perhaps will help with that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true . As we grow older, we tend to outgrow the conditions while in others, it simply gets worse

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor...I'm glad I don't usually have this sickness when traveling by bus or on land generally. Since I'm yet to fly or move very fast on water, I don't know if I'll be air or sea sick just yet but I'm really hoping not😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you ain't falling sick on land, you wouldn't be sick on air 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Conjusted bus brings out this in me, lol. I still have to try this on ship. So far I don't have any problem in other vehicles but I don't have high hopes for boats or ship. I just road one once but nothing happened, still.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, it's mostly occur in public transport... Trying chewing a gum whenever you are in one again, it helps alot 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago