Spirit daughters

28 51
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

My sister and best friend Nnenna was smiling at me from the edge of the world, with the beautiful serpent around her neck. I was so happy to see her again after a long time. She said she would have loved to embrace me but she couldn't. Suddenly , the happy faces of women and men adorned in white robes appeared behind her, their hands stretched out towards me . They were all smiling at me and calling my name.

Image source

Nnenna turned to look at the people at her back and her smile Suddenly vanished. I saw the terrible fear in her eyes and she barked at me to go back home.

" Go back to mother, the time have not yet come for us to be together", Nnenna said.

" But sister I want to be with you, our people are calling me already. I haven't seen such kind faces before".

"Don't listen to them! Don't even look at them again!, Nnenna screamed in a shaky voice. I asked her why, but she told me that I wouldn't understand.

She pleaded with me to remember how her own death had caused so much sorrow to the family. " If you come with me, our family would never remain the same again, pls go back to Mom, she's waiting for you".

But i wasn't listening, I have missed my sister for a very long time and I can't afford not to see her again. But Nnenna continued to beg me to go back home. She mentioned that she took a great risk coming out to speak with someone from the land of the living and she will definitely be punished soon. She told me that she was desperately trying her best to buy me more time just because of Mom.

Before she could finish what she was saying, her immaculate gown turned red as her body became covered in blood. Her cries of agony pulled at my heart strings and I reached forward to help her .

A dark rift suddenly appear on the ground below and continued to widen the gap between me and my sister. Nnenna screamed at me to remain where I was standing.

" There's absolutely nothing you can do to help me, chioma , go back home before it's too late". Nnenna cried and blood poured out of her eyes. I became alarmed with panic seeing my beloved sister in such excruciating pain.

Nnenna repeated that she had started paying the price of disobedience for coming out to talk to me. She warned me that things could get worse for the both of us if i don't leave now. Her words stopped me in my tracks, and I took two steps backwards.

" Go back to mother, she is waiting for you. Run, go back now! " With blood in her mouth, each word she uttered shot a fresh wave of raw pain through her soul. Watching her suffer like this broke my heart into a thousand pieces.

With a heavy heart, I turned around and began to run away, screaming band crying.

I opened my eyes and saw that my room was filled with alot of people. Mum held me immediately and began to cry. I was surprised when I saw my science teacher in my bedroom. I asked what was happening and i was told that I had fainted in the school's laboratory. He explained to me that they had been trying to resuscitate me for a long time but I remained unconscious. Now, Every one was happy and praising the almighty for bringing back to life.

Mom was still holding me and I felt sorry for her. She had already buried three children . I wondered wether her life will ever remain thesame again when I finally go to join my elder sister. For indeed, I must return. I and my sister were not normal girls. We were the spirit children of the river goddess ( ogbanje) . We would finally leave the world few days before or after our 15th birthday to the spirit world were we truly belong.

Image source

Nnenna had mentioned that she was trying to buy more time for me in the mortal world, but i wasn't happy about this. Ofcourse I don't belong here and the sooner I leave this inferior world, the happier I shall be.

I looked up and I met my father's eyes. I noticed he had also been crying and I felt sorry for him too. Suddenly his eyes flickered and a look of anger and aggressive determination appeared. He left the room without saying a word to me.

As a spirit child, I have been blessed with clairvoyance. The moment dad left the room, my instinct told me that he already knew who I was and that he was prepared to do anything just to make such I don't return to my sister in the spirit world. Cold fear gripped my heart and I began to panic.

Had Nnenna revealed herself to dad too? Had she told him how to break the curse?

Oh , how could she betray me like this..... With a sick feeling of defeat in my stomach, I held the woman who brought me to this world in a tight embrace and began to sob wildly as if my whole world had suddenly come to an end.

*******************************

Very sorry I couldn't visit your artcles yesterday. I was very busy visiting with the Eid celebration. By the time I returned home, I was so tired.. I promise to go through as much articles as I can before the end of the day.

Thanks for reading. πŸ’–πŸ’–

18
$ 2.03
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
+ 15
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I am in love with your fiction stories, amazing , the way you explained it i thought it's real

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Glad you liked it summy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah I though it was a true story😱, I was stunned when I found out that they are spirit children the picture somehow creeped me out. It was a very interesting story dear I literally imagine each situation ❣️ nice to meet you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a pleasure meeting you too. Glad you enjoyed the story πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Bil, this is such a lovely story, please tell me there's a continuation, I really need to know if chioma succeeded in going back to her sister or if her dad was able to break the curse.

Happy Eid to you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She later remained with her earthly parents.... Thank you very much Ella 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The intro of this article reminded me of one popular 90s movie (nneka the pretty serpent) πŸ˜… I really enjoyed reading this, but I hope this isn't the end Sha 🌚 you always end your stories with a major cliffhanger. Happy Eid al-Fitr to you Bilqees πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, I am just getting to try my hands on fictions, I promise to complete them some day😁... Thank you very much kushy 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An amazing story well written but wow I can't help but be a little scared when I imagine people from beyond, especially because of the way you describe them so well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea. Such spirit children are quite common in the northern part of my country. Thanks to science and technology, it has been established that it's all a myth, such children are only suffering from sickle cell anaemia that's why they don't get to love longer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is beautiful.. But ermm, do you actually believe this ogbanje stuff?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ofcourse, it's real

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? I would think you're not so superstitious...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The story was good, and narrated well,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Mommy adrielle 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Bilqees, this was a wonderful and exciting story. You beautifully imagine the face of Nnenna's sister from the edge of the world, the happy faces the spirits behind her, her sister's body in blood and pain. Very beautifully inspired by your imagination my friend. And that her sister may have revealed to her dad too and about the curse, I think this story will be wonderful if you continue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for taking your time to read dear Ellen. The storyline is inspired by the disease sickle cell anaemia. Long ago before the coming of science and technology, children who died young are said to be spirits who had come to this world to torment their mother

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Another good storytelling. You are a good writer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.. no worry make big sallah come first, the sallah wey we dey slaughter ram. You go chop mutton you go tire πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll hold you up to your word when the time comes o, in case you don't know, I have good memory.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love reading paranormal stuffs,,,πŸ₯³.

The ogbanje is what I've seen in movies but yet to see the real world practice. Or let's say I've seen but was on a slight mode....New born babies crying uncontrollably at odd hours, it's said that those moments of uncontrollably cries, their partners from the other world were around.

The ones I've seen practically is the witchcraft in little children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Thank you for the idea friend. Maybe I will create a story about witchcraft in children soon 🀭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't wait to read it.🀸🀸

$ 0.00
1 year ago

15th birthday, then how old are you? Who were in the white robe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a fictitious story dear Bibi. Just my imagination working πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The word fiction popped up in my mind but when I gave that my first read. Due to the way you expressed the story made me thought that you were dreaming about your sister and soon you are gonna leave the world too.lol poor me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe.. that means the story was quite intriguing

$ 0.00
1 year ago