"Infant money"

29 36
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Hello everyone. I hope so far, it's been a splendid 2022 for we all. Moments ago when I was returning from a nearby grocery store to get some necessities, I saw a young man who I was very familiar as hell also lives in the neighborhood. He was actually on a phone call and bitterly complaining to a friend how rough the new year had been for him financially. This was quite amusing to me, cause I have known this guy for a long time and i can say that he has been broke for as far back as January 2010, so why put all the blame on January 2022? Lol.... Actually, he is an irresponsible gambler, so I had just a slight sympathy for him.

Meet my humble and magnanimous sponsors

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Now back to my strange topic " infant money" . In the northern part of Nigeria where I live. When a child is born, as expected, family members, friends neighbors, acquaintances and well- wishers will troop to the house to see the new born and also congratulate the mom. And as the tradition demands, every visitor will definitely gift some money to the mother and the child before leaving. No amount of money is considered too big or too small. In the local language, this is popularly referred to as kudin barka. (Infant money).

Earlier in the morning, when mom was about to go out, she informed me that her customer's wife had just put to birth, and she was on her way to pay them a visit. Then she mentioned the name of the customer. I was quite surprised as I remembered that told me that particular this man's wife put to birth three months ago.

Mom saw my confusion and quickly clarified the situation by reminding me that this man had two wives and one of them had also given birth to a child three months after the other wife gave birth. Actually from what I heard that morning, the two wives have been engaged in a peculiar childbearing competition for a long time now. Every year for the past nine years, their husband welcomes at least a child from any of his two wives. The man was obviously rich in both wealth and children.

Whenever one of the two wives gives birth , she would boast of how much she made in "infant money" from the money given to her by her husband's business associates, friends amd other family members. The other woman on hearing this will take it as a challenge and get pregnant almost immediately so that she can make more money through infant money. Let's say the first woman that gave birth made 50,000 naira ($120), the second woman would plan to make atleast 70,ooo naira through the collection of "infant money" too.

Honestly speaking, I find this utterly ridiculous. Indiscriminate childbearing has now become another investment and a source of revenue to some people. Or maybe its because these women are full time housewives and out mental sloth, they decided to turn themselves to babymaking factories . I really don't think an educated or working class lady would depend on indiscriminate and thoughtless childbearing as a source of income.

I later came to realise that this bizarre practice was very common in my region of the country among idle and uneducated housewives in a polygagamous home .

I later heard of another woman whose co-wife had given birth to a set of twin and generated quite alot of "infant money". This woman was not quite happy as she wished she were the one that had gave birth to twins. So, she became pregnant in two quick succession in less than three years. She almost lost her life during the second birth due to complications as there was no adequate spacing between the two births. The doctor told her after the operation that she wouldn't be able to have more children as her womb had been damaged. On hearing this, the woman began to wail, and kept crying for a long time even though her baby survived and was healthy . This was a woman that already had five children fa. No need to mention that the reason for her sadness was that she wouldnt be able to get any more infant money in the future. Sh even accused the other woman of usng witchcraft to destroy her womb.

Giving birth to children indiscriminately because of short term pecuniary benefits is nothing but plain crazy! Such kind of shallowness and ignorance is totally on another level. And of course, most people actually dont see the problem here because "children are gifts from God".

While playing such a bizarre game of numbers with innocent young lives, what if something terrible happens tomorrow?

What would be the fate of the children if something happens and the financial situation of the family becomes seriously affected. What if the father suddenly dies from an accident, attack or illnesses. Who would take care of all his numerous kids in this treacherous world? It wouldn't surprise me if this same women place a tray of oranges or groundnuts on on top of the heads of their little children, then send them into the street to go hawk and look for money for them since their husband is no more. No wonder child abuse and child labor is so prevalent in developing countries, all thanks to irresponsible parents .

******************************

To all my sponsors, upvoters, commenters and subscribers... Thank you all so much.

Yours lovely,

πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

Bilqees.

10
$ 3.34
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Talon
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
+ 9
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Ughhh.. trust me when I tell you, some people on this Earth are stil living in 1500s or even backwards.. they will never grow, never develop, never end up being anything important.. and then, they complain about the world being harsh on them.. I'm sad and frustrated this is actually happening like that of those harem times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its very unfortunate really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do it sounds like they are motivating the population to grow when the rest of the world is trying to eradicate overpopulation..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Blame it on illiteracy and ignorancr dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ seriously, are they giving birth for the infant money? Its crazy though. I just hope the husband is able to care for the children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could totally relate to your story bro. I have seen someone in real life who has almost a dozen kids. They got assistance from the government and the kids got free education, wow. I like your last statement that some are just irresponsible parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm that's true also, they can afford to give birth to many number of kids because the government would not allow the kids suffer.... BTW i am not a bro, ma'am. Thanks ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, this seems like crazy, because the blessing of God is giving children. But if we take it as business, it will not happen. Usually no one wants to talk about such things. It was nice to see it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

its really saddening. Thats one of the dangers of illiteracy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is ridiculous I swear. I have never heard of this kind of competition just to receive gifts,,, short time gifts for that matter. This is lack of education or lack of deep thoughts. Nawah! Mah! Organize a seminar for them 🀸πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seminar ke? Wetin concern me. My own be say if any almajiri come my house come beg. I go knock am for head because him money no share him " infant money" with me πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudin barka! Wow Allah ya kyiaye. This is ridiculous , you've actually state it clear. The must practice must be among the uneducated full house wife.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its quite pathetic amd it makes no sense at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't, the rate those northerner do give birth it quite alarming. I do pity those children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This an insane practice, and I'm sure they don't have the capacity to take of the large number of children they are bringing into the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't have the capacity oo. Even mental capacity they don't even have!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really finding this hard to believe. This is his down right crazy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There difference in the mentality between the northern and southern folks is really huge! Believe me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just crazy, they are just taking advantage of God's blessings. There are people out there that are just looking for a child, but they are using childbearing as an avenue to raise money, it's stupidity sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is even small sef.. There are more crazier stories about these folks up here. My own b say any almajiri wey come beg for my house, I got give an serious knock for head because I no follow him mama chop him infant money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of the infant money? You already said the reason behind it though. Because, I believe an educated person wouldn't do all that. Even if, it will be 1 out of 1000

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its very pathetic though. This one is even small sef. Ignorance and illiteracy could be a mental disease too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually serious than I thought πŸ˜‚. Because of the infant money? You already said the reason behind it though. Because,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems you can speak Hausa. Although your name suggests that you are Yoruba Muslim. Say from Kwara state πŸ€”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Edo Muslim☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting. Auchi then. I am from Edo state too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea.I already knew that, From your username 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fascinating, I never knew that the name gives me away

$ 0.00
2 years ago