Anna's rush

26 51
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

In my first two weeks at the university, most of friends had already gotten a boyfriend in the department. No need to mention that a handful of departmental guys are always on the lookout for "new arrivals" and they quickly place their orders before "we are sold out". Lol

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

I was the only one among my friends who hadn't a boyfriend yet. Not that I didn't have admirers too, but I politely turned all of them down. This was because I was determined to build a very strong academic foundation in my first year that would guarantee me graduating with a first class honors.

Ofcourse my ambition didn't stop me from socializing so long as my study time is not affected. Apart from weekends, I don't hangout on any other days and during exam period. I also make sure that my assignments and lecture notes are always intact.

Environmental conditions on campus were appalling. Apart from the fact that water is not readily available, it's also mostly contaminated from its source and if you don't get up early enough to go fetch the first drops, you'd have no choice than to take your bath with muddy water. Think about the risks involved in using such water in cooking or drinking.

Also, our hostels are mostly overcrowded as eight girls are assigned to live in a single accomodation. This makes it feels quite like hell during the summer period when there's always constant power outage. Living on the university's accomodation was so exhausting that before the end of the first semester, alot of new students were already moving out in search of more comfortable and decent accomodation outside the school.

My friends also considered and were already pulling their resources together to secure an outside accomodation. I thought that was a good idea but I told them that I wouldn't be able to go along with the plan cos dad had insisted I stay on campus. They began to laught at me.

"Come on Anna, you are no more in high school, you are a big girl now. You don't have to tell your parents about every single step you take", Kiki said.

"If I don't tell my parents, how would I be able to raise the money for my rent?", I asked stupidly.

"Well, that's why you need to have a rich man that would foot all your bills and take care of you while in school." kemi said mischievously.

"For Godsake, is it Anna who has refused mingling with the younger guys on campus that you are now telling to go roll with older men?" Lydia asked in mock surprise and the others laughed.

I didn't like how my friends were making fun of me but at thesame time I didn't want to be left behind. Suddenly, I became determined to get the money for my accomodation without asking dad or fooling around with men.

That evening, I chatted with my cousin Julius on Facebook. Julius had left the country some eight months ago to go play football in a middle division club in Europe . On two occasions, he had sent me money in hard currencies and when I converted them to the local currency, I was shocked at how huge the amount turned out to be. I informed Julius about how hard living on campus was and how most of my study mates are already planning to leave for better spaces.

I didn't tell him that the rent would be shared evenly between me and my friends because I wanted him to send enough money so that I could have something left to spend after the contribution for the rent.

The following morning, I had just finished taking breakfast and was getting ready for a class when I sighted my dad matching angrily in the hostel premises, he was heading directly to my room. Before I could open my mouth to greet, he screamed at me and started raining insults on me.

"So Anna, you have started fooling around with men and that's the reason why you have decided to start living outside the school just so that you would have more opportunity to misbehave at will, isn't it?"

Dad continued to say alot of awful things at me. By this time, alot of students had already come out of their rooms to check what was going on.

The humiliation was too much for me to bear and I cried bitterly, I wished the ground should open up and cover me. Dad couldn't even ask the reason of my decision, neither did he let me explain. He gripped my wrist and dragged me violently to where he had parked his car.

"It's better you remain at home than bring shame and disgrace to me all in the name of going to school". He said.

How could Julius have told Dad about what I planned to do when he knew how eccentric dad was. Besides, Julius is close to me enough to know that I definitely wouldn't have any other motive about getting another accomodation apart from the reasons I had told him about. I felt betrayed!

I later learnt that Julius didn't tell Daddy, he only informed mummy about my decision and asked for her counsel on wether it was right for me to live outside the school instead of returning home. And ofcourse, mom told Dad about it and dad made hasty and reckless conclusions.

The end..

Thanks for reading 💖💖

20
$ 3.87
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 16
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

The intro of this article killed me, which one is "we are sold out" again 🤣 Anyways sha, Anna's father is one of the problems I have with most parents, they always jump to conclusion even when your intentions are honest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They don know what's going on. Pikin wey wan spoil go spool even though she dey under her father's roof unless If her father would stop going the office just to be watching her for 24hrs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch! This is so pathetic, it's so sad and painful for Anna's father to have thought the worst of her, it just shows he actually had little or trust in his daughter. Bad enough, that's how most parents react and jump into conclusion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's not sensitive at all. Good parenting should be more of counselling than tyranny. Anna might layer decide to join the bad girls tomorrow, not because she wants to but just to humiliate her father the way he had humiliated her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is sad when I see parents assume the worst so quickly, especially when that is not the case.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really sad dear. It kills a child's self esteem

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our parents are too protective and always think the worse. A little Trust will help but no they are always quick to assume the worse and this do push some children into doing what they don't plan to do before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sir. This young lady after that ugly incident might later become an "hoedogwu". Not because she wants to but just as a way to teach her father a lesson.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoedogwu ? 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard it on nairaland. Na mad people full dia 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Well, that's why you need to have a rich man that would foot all your bills and take care of you while in school." kemi said mischievously.

This is the beginning of peer pressure and if care isn't taken, these friends would lead one to the grave and back out immediately.

I didn't like how my friends were making fun of me but at thesame time I didn't want to be left behind. Suddenly, I became determined to get the money for my accomodation without asking dad or fooling around with men.

This at the same time means feeling inferior and trying to mingle and flow along. My friends know me, I don't buy their idea especially if it is something that wouldn't speak well of me. I'd rather speak to my parents even though I know how strict and eccentric they might be than doing things I would regret later.

Though Anna's Dad should have taken the issue calmly rather than doing what he did. Does his action guarantees Anna would do well later even if she stays at home and not go to school?

The truth is that parents need to know how to handle matters like this than taking it in a full force.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true princess. Just like you have observed, she is bound to fall under peer pressure sooner than later. If only her dad could be a little more supportive and dependable, not even materially but in helping her strengthen her character since she is obviously a child of strong will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Poor Anna huh... Why does her Dad behave like that? lol! Nice story B.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overprotective dad's. Sorry to say dear, they don't last long most times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trust daddies na! Even me, if I were your older brother, I would assumed the same and come for rescue.

But anyways, girl wey go spoil go still spoil irrespective of the accommodation 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, your last statement is particularly true. Very true. I might write a story about that line in my next article . Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were in the place of Anna, I would never ever ever talk to Julius ever again..absolutely not.. That person will be cut off from my life.. And I'm so triggered about the dad too, who the heck shouts like that without doing basic inquiry... ughhh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some fathers for you... Getting them to trust their daughters could be among the most impossible things in the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My parents was also unequally skeptical of the whole thing when I told her that I wanted to be off campus. At the end of the day, her trust for my ability to know what's right and do it won

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good dear. Nothing makes me happier when I come to realize that my parents trust me not no disappoint then anywhere I find myself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Bilqees, what a good topic you raised. Environmental conditions on campus of any university is the same. And the poor students who have to endure these difficult conditions. And under such conditions, they never can build a strong academic foundation for themselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Most of the money allocated for improving hostel facilities are siphoned by the authorities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anna's rush, it was the topic that got me clicking, it looks malicious in a way "annas rush" sound like something that has to do with the anus, but it turned out to be a very interesting story, the fact is that, if Anna had stated with her friends in a private hostel, there is 70% chance of her engaging in those deeds her friends do in other to find many... Once a rotten apple is placed in between good ones, it will affect the good ones too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, that's what happened to her Just as I mentioned in my last story, this is just 4% of a main story

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the beginning, I thought it was your story in the university. Or is it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No o 😟

$ 0.00
1 year ago